Force drive to be single side

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

Lyverbe
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Force drive to be single side

Postby Lyverbe » Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:30 pm

I need to test something with a single-sided drive, but Steem is emulating double-sided. Is there an emulator that would allow me to emulate a system with a single-sided drive? or perhaps use SteemDebug to toggle some bit that would make the Atari believe it has a single-sided drive installed?
The Ultimate Captive Guide: http://captive.atari.org

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11354
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby Mug UK » Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:37 pm

Is the image a single-sided disk (i.e. 400K or thereabouts)?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

Lyverbe
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby Lyverbe » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:14 pm

Hmm... sort of. I think. Could be :)

On my UCG site, the second disk of Captive has always been a mystery. The game never requires it, yet there's data on it.

It was brought to my attention that the game "F29 Retaliator" also had 2 disks with the second disk being used ONLY if the system's drive could only support single-sided disks. The second disk was only a copy of the second side of the first disk. When the second side was need to be read, the system asked to insert the second disk instead of reading it from the first disk.

I want to see if this is what the second disk of Captive is for. To test it out, I would need some emulator to think its drive only support single-side.

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby bullis1 » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:32 pm

Lyverbe wrote:...
I want to see if this is what the second disk of Captive is for. To test it out, I would need some emulator to think its drive only support single-side.


Also, you could post the images here and someone could test it on a real single-sided drive.
Member of the Atari Legend team

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11354
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby Mug UK » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:46 pm

OK so make (if you can) a PASTI image of the first side of the disk on both disks of your originals - force PASTI to only read 1 side and you'll then have (in theory) two single-sided disks.

Rob Northern did develop the 'side 2' format disks (if I remember) where cover disks for magazines would have more data on there for the (majority) of readers.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby ijor » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:53 pm

Lyverbe wrote:On my UCG site, the second disk of Captive has always been a mystery. The game never requires it, yet there's data on it.
...
I want to see if this is what the second disk of Captive is for. To test it out, I would need some emulator to think its drive only support single-side.


Yes, the second disk is used only on systems with single sided drives.

Steem doesn't have an option to "fully" emulate a single sided drive. That's a feature I considered adding to Pasti, but it was never a high priority, because it is rarely needed.

For unprotected disks it's easy. Just create a single sided image. The only problem is want to emulate a software that attempts to format the second side.

Lyverbe
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby Lyverbe » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:13 pm

ijor wrote:Yes, the second disk is used only on systems with single sided drives. That's a feature I considered adding to Pasti, but it was never a high priority, because it is rarely needed.


Well, I need it :) I'd like to see it in action in order to mention it on the site without any doubt that the information is incorrect.

But since I already have made PASTI of them, is there a way for me to re-create a single-side PASTI image from an already existing PASTI double-side image? Like, could I run the PASTI image creator from Steem with the double-sided image loaded and create a new single-sided image from it? I don't think I can because of the transfer disk thing. Being at work, I can't try right now anway
The Ultimate Captive Guide: http://captive.atari.org

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby ijor » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:26 pm

Lyverbe wrote:Like, could I run the PASTI image creator from Steem with the double-sided image loaded and create a new single-sided image from it?


That "meta-imaging" might work indeed. As a matter of fact I tried once and it worked. But it was looong ago, and I don't remember if there were any issues or limitations (actually, I'm sure there are, but would need to check it to elaborate). The "transfer disk" shouldn't be a problem, don't use it, use imaging directly to the hard disk.

But if you have the original, it might be easier and more reliably to do that in real hardware.

Or, you can use Steem Debugger. Setup a Pasti Breakpoint for reading any sector in the back side. After the breakpoint hits, trace the program until it waits for the floppy. Then do whatever changes are needed in the CPU registers to make the software "think" the reading from the sector failed. You might need to do that several times if the software retries.

Or, you can just trust me :)

Lyverbe
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby Lyverbe » Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:52 pm

The idea of meta-imaging seemed to be going fine until I hit the last track.

Image

At that point, it ends up with a "Read error" and the image can't be used. I'd try that Pasti breakpoint thingy, but I'm not sure I fully understand how to do it all :?
Last edited by Lyverbe on Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
The Ultimate Captive Guide: http://captive.atari.org

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby ijor » Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:11 am

Lyverbe wrote:The idea of meta-imaging seemed to be going fine until I hit the last track.


Don't image it. Specify 79 as the last track.

Lyverbe
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby Lyverbe » Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:12 am

ijor wrote:Don't image it. Specify 79 as the last track.


Ok, I can create the file if I specify 79 as the last track, but Steem doesn't boot Captive with it. When I try to open drive A: with it, it says "Drive A: is not responding".

I don't understand what you mean by "Don't image it". What else can I do than create an image?!
The Ultimate Captive Guide: http://captive.atari.org

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5033
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Jul 03, 2008 6:26 am

"Don't image track 80 of that disk" (if i understand right)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby PaulB » Thu Jul 03, 2008 7:33 am

Sector counting starts at zero so tracks 0-79=80 tracks.

Lyverbe
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: Force drive to be single side

Postby Lyverbe » Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:55 am

Tried it again this morning... and it worked like a charm!

I'm so glad. This second disk has been a mystery for so long. Mystery solved!

Thanks guys
The Ultimate Captive Guide: http://captive.atari.org


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest