SCSI Clock Patch

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:06 am

I had the Patch on my Falcon.

I removed it as one of the ways to try to solve my CT63 issues.

Now, Rodolphe is telling me that I should not have removed it as the SCSI is now the only real issue I have.

I have taken pictures of it before I removed it, but they are not good enough to allow me to restore it.

I have had a look on the net and sure enough, I have found a couple of other pics, but they are different to mine.... Not quite enough to give me all the instructions to restore the patch.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to find a step-by-step on applying this Clock Patch please?

Thanks.
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:50 am

will it help if I take a hi-res pic of my clock-patch?
Mr. Czuba checked it so it must be correct :mrgreen: :cheers:

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:24 pm

Yes please.

I still have pics of my own, before I removed it, but it was put on by a blind man flicking solder at it and he seemed to have used brillo-pads instead of wires so Im not overly happy with the thought of trying to restore it.

If you could, then that would be fantastic.

Perhaps a couple of angles maybe?

Many many thanks my friend.
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:09 pm

here you are, a ~10MB .zip ... :mrgreen: (I used another camera and not mine, I hope those pics are still fine, the Olympus one I used now has a LAME macro function... they are nice though but I am used to better macro-shots :) )

http://rapidshare.com/files/108985636/c ... h.zip.html

:cheers:

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:38 pm

I really am sorry but that Rapid share is not easy at all to get into?

It is showing me some letters and numbers and then asking me to enter 4 letters with a ( And then its showin a cat )

I have tried several ways now and I have just given up.

Any clues as to why I cannot do it?

Thanks mate.

Oh god... Hang on... I just realised that some of the Characters have a cat on them...

Im gettign the f
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:27 pm

Hmm... Your patch is looking different to the one I had???

Ok, those pics are great. Many thanks.

I will put together all my info and yours and see if I can get enough info to have a shot at it.

I think that although I have bent the legs up and over, they are still all intact.

Thanks a lot for this mate... I really appreciate it.
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:52 pm

nice to help you in return :D
the patch is reworked by mr. Czuba , so this is 101% correct for CT-63 use :mrgreen:

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:17 pm

Reworked by Mr Czuba?

Ok then its possible that perhaps we did have the very same mod, but he has swapped a wire or two over perhaps?

Any chance you can do me one more favour then?

The wires...Im still not 100% clear on where they go?

At the back of the Chip, the right hand pin goes to the back/right pin on the chip its mounted to? - is that the only one?

I have done a half-arsed drawing ( My artwork is dangerously poor ) and the drawing looks nice and its clear what needs to be done, but it also looks wrong too!

In fact on my Photos, you can clearly see that the chips are 9pin each side but yours is 7 pins a side, and when I just went to have a look again, mine is also 7 pins a side, so my photos are not showing enough.

Anyway, what are the chances you can get a coupel more pics, with perhaps showing where the wires are going from and to maybe?

Not a demand by all means, just if you have the case open and have a camera to hand kind of thing...

Thansk mate.
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:03 pm

ofcourse I will take more pics, easy... I only wish I had my casio exilim camera back, it has superb macro-function. I will take a nice pic _or_ do some editing on an existing one and show exactly what goes where. :mrgreen:

as for reworked yes, mr. Czuba did some stuff on the previous clock patch, most notably an smd resistor in the place where a traditional one was... can't really tell what else is done....

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Mon Apr 21, 2008 8:55 am

here they are... I think they are OK now :mrgreen:

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:21 am

This is fantastic.

Just one more question...

Apart from the one obvious join, are any of the legs on the top IC connected to any of them on the bottom one?

Its hard to say?

On mine, none were connected and the top IC was actually connected to the IC thats an inch or so away, so mine was completely wrong or perhaps a whole different design.
Which IC the one glued onto the top, mine is, is anyones guess, the 08 or the 04, I honestly dont know OTTOMH so I know yours is the 08 so I will get a new one to be sure today.

Thanks a lot for this my friend, I really do appreciate it.
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:36 am

no, on the back only 1 pin is soldered, the others are cut :mrgreen:
glad to be of serivce :cheers:

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:53 pm

Spanking mate.

I will be forever in your debt

Update once its done ok?
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:10 pm

Does anyone know what chip is under the 7408?

I may just replace the lot since its such a mess.
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:24 pm

replace it? hard I think... those are GAL's , and you need to know the code inside to program them... they are so sensitive and very hard to read, they where often used as hardware locks in old cards to prevent duplication...

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:20 pm

Bugger! - Have to clean up what I can instead then. Cheers for that.

I just went to Maplins today and they have 3 types of 7408, but I assume that they are all 100% compatible, but whether they are or not should make no real difference but they dont have any in stock anyway, so I am going to give RS / Farnell a shot shortly.

will hopefully get it sorted by the weekend?
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:26 pm

be carefull if you try to read the original 7408 data, it can be destroyed in a second! 8O

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:41 pm

What? The 7408 is a logic chip... There is no data!

Anyway, some confusion I think?

I am looking around now, RS, FARNELL, MAPLINS and I have found 12 different 7408 ICs

Which one will be best suited for the Falcon? Does anyone know?
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby keropi » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:50 pm

ah, I made an error then... sorry :?

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: SCSI Clock Patch

Postby FatRakoon » Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:43 pm

Yeah, the one on top is the 7408.

Anyway, in anticipation or finding out the best IC to opt for, I have gone and bought one of each.

So, I will have a spare or two!
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests