SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Everything related to using the HxC Floppy Emulator hardware on your Atari.

Moderators: DrCoolZic, mr.vince, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Mon May 10, 2010 11:55 am

alexh wrote:I believe it is a default disk containing a program which runs on the host computer and allows you to select the disk image(s) from the SD card you want to play. It means you don't need to use the LCD and the emulator can be permanently mounted as an internal drive inside the host computer and the case closed. This is an improvement idea for stand alone floppy disk emulators I've been banging on about for years. Kudos to Jeff for once again being the first to implement such a thing.


Oh, that's quite clever.... changing floppy via software 8)
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon May 10, 2010 12:44 pm


User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2245
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby calimero » Mon May 10, 2010 1:04 pm

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:A Video-demo of the manager tool for Atari ST:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8O74GgYcA3w

http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... tariST.zip

great project!!!

I wonder if you could implement search function in disk list? if you have 1000 games than it will take much time to reach to e.g. "Vroom" :D
- or, you can organize .hfe in folders? :)

Why it takes so much time to display disk list?

is it only option to buy HxC ebay??

btw USB version works only with Windows PC? What about Macs?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby PaulB » Mon May 10, 2010 1:16 pm

I think a search function would be too hard to implement. Although I'm guessing that the directory contents are listed A-Z. So a page-up, page-down key would be nice if it hasn't got it already.

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon May 10, 2010 2:02 pm

PaulB wrote:I think a search function would be too hard to implement. Although I'm guessing that the directory contents are listed A-Z. So a page-up, page-down key would be nice if it hasn't got it already.


No, not too hard, but searching a file over a FAT32 sdcard can be very long through the floppy interface...
Anyway will probably implement this later.


Page up/down are implemented.

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon May 10, 2010 2:08 pm

calimero wrote:- or, you can organize .hfe in folders? :)

Why it takes so much time to display disk list?


Subfolder are supported.

calimero wrote:Why it takes so much time to display disk list?

The floppy interface is the cause, and slow TOS disk functions.
I need to recode some "fast loader" function to speedup the thing.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2245
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby calimero » Mon May 10, 2010 3:15 pm

great !

I would buy one for sure, but is ebay only way to buy it?

on http://www.mmj.pl/~lotharek/atari/www/shop.html there is no option to buy SDCARD vesrion ?!?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Mon May 10, 2010 4:18 pm

I see from youtube that the device reboots when a different "floppy" is used and when you want to change the "floppy".
Any chance of not doing this?
I am thinking of the possibly of change "floppy" while running Mint, which means that the system will reboot?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon May 10, 2010 4:36 pm

wongck wrote:I see from youtube that the device reboots when a different "floppy" is used and when you want to change the "floppy".
Any chance of not doing this?
I am thinking of the possibly of change "floppy" while running Mint, which means that the system will reboot?


mhhh no , the Atari ST doesn't reboot when you change the floppy disk. On the youtube video it reboot because i press the reset button ;-)

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon May 10, 2010 4:37 pm

calimero wrote:great !

I would buy one for sure, but is ebay only way to buy it?

on http://www.mmj.pl/~lotharek/atari/www/shop.html there is no option to buy SDCARD vesrion ?!?


It's ebay only for the moment.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2245
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby calimero » Mon May 10, 2010 5:15 pm

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:It's ebay only for the moment.

ok, let us know when you decide to sell it without ebay ;) (e.g. direct bank transfer)
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon May 10, 2010 5:30 pm

calimero wrote:
Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:It's ebay only for the moment.

ok, let us know when you decide to sell it without ebay ;) (e.g. direct bank transfer)


Paypal maybe , but probably no direct bank transfer.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2245
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby calimero » Mon May 10, 2010 5:42 pm

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:
calimero wrote:
Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:It's ebay only for the moment.

ok, let us know when you decide to sell it without ebay ;) (e.g. direct bank transfer)


Paypal maybe , but probably no direct bank transfer.

ok, can you give me pay pall email account and please tell me what is total price for SDCARD version and shipping to serbia.

I will pay you tomorrow.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Mon May 10, 2010 5:49 pm

calimero wrote:ok, can you give me pay pall email account and please tell me what is total price for SDCARD version and shipping to serbia.

I will pay you tomorrow.


Ask this directly to Lotharek :
http://www.mmj.pl/~lotharek/atari/www/kontakt.htm

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Tue May 11, 2010 11:49 am

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:mhhh no , the Atari ST doesn't reboot when you change the floppy disk. On the youtube video it reboot because i press the reset button ;-)


Trick of the video :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Wed May 12, 2010 10:35 pm

I received mine..... Hurray !!!! :D

But I cannot get it to work..... :( :(

It's displaying that it cannot find a SDHXCFE.CFG file on the LCD screen.
I have copied the HXCSDFE.CFG to the SD from http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... rmware.zip.
I have also renamed the HXCSDFE.CFG to SDHXCFE.CFG and reboot = still same error message.

I have created the HXCSDFE.CFG via the HxCFloppyEmulator.exe and overwrite the one from the ZIP file = same error message.
I have renamed the HXCSDFE.CFG (created) to SDHXCFE.CFG = same error message.

Anyone... What gives?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Thu May 13, 2010 6:04 am

wongck wrote:I received mine..... Hurray !!!! :D

But I cannot get it to work..... :( :(

It's displaying that it cannot find a SDHXCFE.CFG file on the LCD screen.
I have copied the HXCSDFE.CFG to the SD from http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... rmware.zip.
I have also renamed the HXCSDFE.CFG to SDHXCFE.CFG and reboot = still same error message.

I have created the HXCSDFE.CFG via the HxCFloppyEmulator.exe and overwrite the one from the ZIP file = same error message.
I have renamed the HXCSDFE.CFG (created) to SDHXCFE.CFG = same error message.

Anyone... What gives?


Format your SDCard in FAT32.

If already done (and doesn't work...) try to make a low level format with this tools :

http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatt ... EN2905.zip
(Option -> Format type -> FULL (Erase On) )

and after this reformat the sdcard in fat32 with windows.

after copy HXCSDFE.CFG to the sdcard.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Thu May 13, 2010 1:56 pm

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:Format your SDCard in FAT32.
after copy HXCSDFE.CFG to the sdcard.


Ok, this was the issue here. I am using a 256MB SD card from yesteryear. No need for the class 6 card....
It's default format to FAT and I have to force it to FAt32 :mrgreen:
I managed to get it going.
Works fine thus far, seems OK. :D
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Thu May 13, 2010 2:39 pm

Hi Jeff...
Something I touched on sometime ago on this thread.

When I changed virtual floppy, my Falcon was not able to detect that I have changed floppy.
Pressing ESC does not read the new floppy directory.
I need to double click on the Floppy B: and it read the new floppy.
(but double click on Floppy A:, the previous floppy directory is still display).

So is it possible to sent a media change to the Falcon floppy controller?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Thu May 13, 2010 6:22 pm

wongck wrote:Hi Jeff...
Something I touched on sometime ago on this thread.

When I changed virtual floppy, my Falcon was not able to detect that I have changed floppy.
Pressing ESC does not read the new floppy directory.
I need to double click on the Floppy B: and it read the new floppy.
(but double click on Floppy A:, the previous floppy directory is still display).

So is it possible to sent a media change to the Falcon floppy controller?


Did you set the jumper(s) in the right position ? :
This is explained in this doc :
http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... Manual.pdf

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Fri May 14, 2010 12:30 pm

I used the default.... means I did not change the jumper settings.
must I do that?
I checked that it is correct for drive A: Atari.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Fri May 14, 2010 12:52 pm

wongck wrote:I used the default.... means I did not change the jumper settings.
must I do that?
I checked that it is correct for drive A: Atari.


This doesn't means this is ok. Have a look at the page 7.

Did you use a twisted cable or not ? how many jumper have you ?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Fri May 14, 2010 4:30 pm

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:This doesn't means this is ok. Have a look at the page 7.
Did you use a twisted cable or not ? how many jumper have you ?


Yeap, page 7 I saw.
There is only 1 jumper, and it's on the twisted drive A (lower left of the boxes).
Funny thing is that my cable does not look like a twisted cable.
May be I do not know what is a twisted cable.
Pin 1 on the cable does not cross over .... it means not twisted?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Jeff_HxC2001
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Jeff_HxC2001 » Fri May 14, 2010 9:41 pm

wongck wrote:
Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:This doesn't means this is ok. Have a look at the page 7.
Did you use a twisted cable or not ? how many jumper have you ?


Yeap, page 7 I saw.
There is only 1 jumper, and it's on the twisted drive A (lower left of the boxes).
Funny thing is that my cable does not look like a twisted cable.
May be I do not know what is a twisted cable.
Pin 1 on the cable does not cross over .... it means not twisted?


here is a twisted cable:
http://www.pcguide.com/ref/fdd/fddcable.jpg

if you don't have this kind of cable, move the jumper according to the user manual.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Sat May 15, 2010 4:13 am

Jeff_HxC2001 wrote:here is a twisted cable:
http://www.pcguide.com/ref/fdd/fddcable.jpg
if you don't have this kind of cable, move the jumper according to the user manual.


Great thanks... would have googled last night (this morning :mrgreen: ) but too sleepy.
OK, my cable is a pure straight guy :lol:
I will move the jumper to the non-twisted part and try.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “HxC Floppy Emulator”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests