SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Everything related to using the HxC Floppy Emulator hardware on your Atari.

Moderators: DrCoolZic, mr.vince, Moderator Team

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby retrorepair » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:25 pm

I know it sounds silly but could a real floppy drive be daisy chained to this device to control the stepper motor? That would make this the perfect device in my eyes :D
retrorepair
Atariator
Atariator
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:27 pm

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:19 pm

Build a external floppy and use that as drive B.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10706
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:52 am

What is the TOS version required to write to 902KB and 4.23MB HFE floppy ?
My STFM Tos 1.02 can read from these HFE but cannot write. It say disk error on writing.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10706
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby retrorepair » Sun May 06, 2012 5:24 am

wongck wrote:Build a external floppy and use that as drive B.


I know this is an ancient post but I thought I'd clarify.

I want to install an HxC but I also want the real floppy to still reside in there and make the floppy seek/load noises while the HxC is doing the actual data handling. I guess the stepper motor control lines are still there so in theory it should work?
retrorepair
Atariator
Atariator
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:27 pm

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby wongck » Sun May 06, 2012 11:29 pm

The HxC also provide some "sounds" but not as authentic as the real drive... :lol:
Can the lines drives 2 floppy drives?
I guess so because you can have 2 floppy drives.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10706
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator Preordering

Postby Dal » Tue May 08, 2012 9:54 am

retrorepair wrote:
wongck wrote:Build a external floppy and use that as drive B.


I know this is an ancient post but I thought I'd clarify.

I want to install an HxC but I also want the real floppy to still reside in there and make the floppy seek/load noises while the HxC is doing the actual data handling. I guess the stepper motor control lines are still there so in theory it should work?


The motor-on line is not implemented on the HxC itself.

If you get another floppy drive and just wire in the power, motor-on, and step lines; it should give you some authentic sounds.
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3179
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Previous

Return to HxC Floppy Emulator

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests