Red Screen (of death)

All discussions about the Atari 8bit range of machines.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
Retrowaynie
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:36 pm
Location: Ireland

Red Screen (of death)

Postby Retrowaynie » Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:59 pm

Hi,

Have an Atari 65XE with an issue, when I switch it on all that's displayed is a red screen.
Anyone else had this issue?

I read that in an 800XE it is a bad ram issue, installed in my XE are SHARP LH2164-12'S.
Done a quick test with my logic probe and didn't get any different reading on any of the ram chips not convinced though.
might have to acquire a couple more and test this further.
Does anyone know if the LH2164-20's are compatible with the 65XE as they are with the 800 & 130's?

RW

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Red Screen (of death)

Postby Atari030 » Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:12 pm

I am working on a 130xe with the same fault now. I have socketed everything bar the RAM and freddie so far. I plan to get a syscheck cart from atariage rather than desolder all the ram and guess. The syscheck cart looks like a good option as long as you have the external bus. Not all 64k xe's do.

User avatar
Retrowaynie
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:36 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Red Screen (of death)

Postby Retrowaynie » Sat Apr 07, 2018 2:17 am

You could try the piggy back method if you have a steady hand that is holding a known good ram ic ontop of each ram ic and see if that weeds out the faulty chip.
Desoldering all the ram to socket the board is teadeous alright but doable at the same time.
I've got to source some myself to eliminate the ram as the issue..

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Red Screen (of death)

Postby Atari030 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:20 am

Back when I was working retail I gutted a ton of VGA cards and the like for PC's, cache RAM all that stuff. Luckily I have enough to replace all in this one. I tried the piggy back, no luck. Either Freddie is shot or more than one RAM chip. My money is on RAM being the biggest red screen contributor.

User avatar
Retrowaynie
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:36 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Red Screen (of death)

Postby Retrowaynie » Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:33 am

Yes, agreed..
Just as a matter of interest, what is the part number of the ram in your machine?


Social Media

     

Return to “The Atari 8bit corner”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests