Heatsink: how to mount it?

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Trixster
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: York

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby Trixster » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:22 am

Just for reference, many Amiga Blizzard 060 cards running at 80Mhz with rev6 060 just have a fan on the reverse of the card behind where the 060 is surface mounted to the pcb. So no heatsink or fan on the top of the cpu at all, and these cards have been running fine for years.
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express
A4000/060 Cyberstorm Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + Sonnet G3 400Mhz PPC | Saturn | PS1 | CPC6128
Acorn A3020 + 4MB | A3000 + 2MB | BBC B | Acorn Atom | BBC Master Turbo | A500 | SNES | C64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby joska » Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:12 pm

troed wrote:A heatsink is vastly more efficient at dispersing heat than having nothing at all. Thus, if 66MHz works without a heatsink I'm assuming you can go pretty far with a good heatsink, without the need of a fan.


In my Milan060 I've had a rev 1 running at 60MHz with only a heatsink for 15 years or so. It rarely gets hotter than around 40C. But this is in a well ventilated aluminum cabinet. Inside a tight ABS shell heat will probably build up and you'll need a fan just to get air to circulate.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby qq1975b » Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:03 am

Is it not possible to connect the fan on the same CT60e board? I mean gnd and +5v lines. Or is it too risky?
Trying to learn...

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby 1st1 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:21 am

Those fans unsually need 12V, at 5V they might not rotate. Better trying to connect it to +5V and +12V, that makes effectively 7V for the fan. But I would only try that if at 12V it is too loud.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby qq1975b » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:40 pm

Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby qq1975b » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:41 pm

Double post....sorry!
Trying to learn...

alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby alienkidmj12 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:57 pm

cant we just use a heatsync with pushpins ?

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby 1st1 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:09 pm

What is pushpins?

Note, that 68060 CPU is bigger than 808486 and smaller thann Pentium PP54C/P55. So any fixing mechanism of those CPU heatsink won't fit.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby alienkidmj12 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:23 pm


alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby alienkidmj12 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:24 pm

you would think if he has put holes in the board for pushpins then there must be heatsinks to fit ?

if we measure from bottom left to top right, then it is about 80x70mm, the inner is slightly smaller.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby 1st1 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:12 pm

The holes in ct60 board only fit for M3 screws, like I did. See photos on 1st page of this thread.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
Sturm
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby Sturm » Sat Apr 08, 2017 10:05 am

Image

So! I received the heatsink and the fan. Used an adapter to connect the 3pin plug to the pico molex.And everything is working fine. Problem is, as you can see on the pic, i have shitloads of cables running everywhere. How would you fit/hide everything ? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby wongck » Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:35 am

Cannot be worst than mine.
My CT63 has more wires as I use the standard ATX power supply. Bunch of 20+ wires going into the old power socket hole.
But my IDe devices takes power also from the ATX, so no wires running over the CT63 board.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby joska » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:41 pm

Sturm wrote:How would you fit/hide everything ? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


You use a soldering iron and a 3D printer :D

CT60e_installed.jpg


Unfortunately it turns out that my PicoPSU is not pico enough, it's 3mm too tall to fit inside. So I'll have to find a smaller one.

Edit: To stay on topic - the heatsink is fitted with a small drop of superglue in one corner. The fan is glued to the heatsink. I soldered a two pin header to the power socket solders for the fan. It's a 12V brushless fan, but runs fine (and very quietly) at 5V.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby Faucon2001 » Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:23 pm

I finally received my CT60e and it's working great. :D
The heatsink is mounted with adhesive thermal pad and the fan connected to the pico psu 12 v power supply. Neat, solid and compact.
Like this reference : https://www.amazon.com/ARCTIC-Thermal-Pad-0-5-Conductivity/dp/B00UYTT3I2
Image
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby leech » Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:31 pm

Nice and very neat! I am wondering if it just requires the 24pin version or if the 20 will work, and my PSU is just bad.

I ended up ordering a MicroATX PSU for testing purposes.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1263
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby mikro » Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:44 pm

Leech: doesn't matter, both 20/24 pin PSU work.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby leech » Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:52 pm

mikro wrote:Leech: doesn't matter, both 20/24 pin PSU work.


Looks like my Micro ATX PSU arrived today, I'll give that one a test, and hopefully my system will actually boot with the CT60e in it. Starting to think the PicoPSUs just kind of suck? or are very hit and miss?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1263
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby mikro » Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:00 am

leech wrote:Looks like my Micro ATX PSU arrived today, I'll give that one a test, and hopefully my system will actually boot with the CT60e in it. Starting to think the PicoPSUs just kind of suck? or are very hit and miss?

Take it from the bright side, you at least know PSU is the problem. I have the best possible PicoPSU you can think of and yet I'm struggling with my CT60e with unexplainable problems. Atari life. ;-)

User avatar
Trixster
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: York

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby Trixster » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:07 pm

I think picopsu's are hit and miss with the CT60e. Mine works absolutely fine, no boot or reset issues but a number of people seem to be having problems.
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express
A4000/060 Cyberstorm Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + Sonnet G3 400Mhz PPC | Saturn | PS1 | CPC6128
Acorn A3020 + 4MB | A3000 + 2MB | BBC B | Acorn Atom | BBC Master Turbo | A500 | SNES | C64

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1263
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby mikro » Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:20 am

The boot/reset issue has nothing to do with the PSU, it's been proven by me recently from two independent angles -- trying the same CT60e+PSU in another Falcon (where it works OK) and fixing by a change in my Falcon's clock patch.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby leech » Tue Apr 18, 2017 11:32 pm

mikro wrote:
leech wrote:Looks like my Micro ATX PSU arrived today, I'll give that one a test, and hopefully my system will actually boot with the CT60e in it. Starting to think the PicoPSUs just kind of suck? or are very hit and miss?

Take it from the bright side, you at least know PSU is the problem. I have the best possible PicoPSU you can think of and yet I'm struggling with my CT60e with unexplainable problems. Atari life. ;-)


Yeah, I read your post about that. Weird! I need to sort out RAM issues at this point (looks like I'm using an 'CAS Latency unsupported' DIMM.

I installed Vanilla Mint with the 060 kernel and XaAES crashes on me. Anyhow, I'll create a new thread about that. I'm going to worry about the heatsink after I can get it running at 66mhz, which everyone says should work without one.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby joska » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:11 am

leech wrote:I installed Vanilla Mint with the 060 kernel and XaAES crashes on me.


Looks like recent XaAES versions crashes on RGB video modes. The CT60 appears to use an RGB video mode by default, even when a VGA monitor is connected. Change it to VGA (if you are using VGA of course) and try booting MiNT again.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Heatsink: how to mount it?

Postby leech » Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:58 pm

Sweet, that got me a little further. I'll open that new thread now.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests