CTPCI and USB card

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:40 pm

Hello,

from two weeks my CTPCI working again and I plug Realtek and USB card. During the boot the computer and check PCI card I have this information on the screen:
[4] [0] 0x1033 0x0035 Serial bus USB
[4] [0] 0x1033 0x0035 Serial bus USB
[4] [0] 0x1033 0x00E0 Serial bus USB
[4] [0] 0xFFFF no device
ERROR: OHCI usb-uPD720101-0 error DEVICENORESPONDIG
Device did not respond to taken (IN) or did not provide a handshake (OUT) (5)
Press a key
Someone can help what is wrong and whether it has any ideas of Thanks in advance ?

I plug Radeon card into the second connector, Realtek is on three, USB on four
In addition, It can be useful Boot v.2.00 Beta2 24.09.2010
Tos drivers v.1.00 Beta2 24.09.2010

Regards
Kroll

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby paul92706 » Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:12 pm

I think the USB card needs 5Volts rather than 3.3Volts at CTPCI, just a though.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:23 pm

Hi,

I have the modify bord for 5 volts too

Kroll

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11853
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby wongck » Sun Nov 06, 2016 12:48 am

My guess is only Ektus will be able to help you.
I did not even get my Realtek working.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby paul92706 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 4:51 am

wongck wrote:My guess is only Ektus will be able to help you.
I did not even get my Realtek working.

yes ektus seems to have gotten this working well, maybe kroll should talk to him!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Sun Nov 06, 2016 7:28 am

OK, thanks I will ask him, but now I have another problem see topic viewtopic.php?f=97&t=30682
My CT63 is not boot with IDE hard drive with CTPCI, without this is OK :(

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:46 pm

Can somebody give me an e-mail to Ektus ?

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Ektus » Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:14 pm

No need to e-mail (but should work here in the forum using the "contact" link).
As for the PCI cards: I've got several plugged in, but all of them are 3,3V types and work "out of the box", at least as far as the startup diagnostic goes. Drivers are another matter. I do have network running under MiNT (has been discussed here and/or on the atari-home.de forums), I've had a USB keyboard working for testing, and of course the graphics card at 1600x1200. A spare firewire card is stored in the fourth slot on the CTPCI. It's recognized at boot, but lacks drivers and I don't have peripherals to connect to.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Tue Nov 08, 2016 9:50 pm

I also tried to run network card Realtek 8139D which is a on 3.3V and 5V, I have one PCI board modified by Rodolphe is 5V, CTPCI well recognized and previously as was OK loaded MiNT but after loading the drivers seemed to be OK, but the computer crash in the time of loading xcount2.xif and I could not do anything but restart the computer.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby paul92706 » Wed Nov 09, 2016 6:48 pm

is your CTPCI modified for 5v? because if not it is originally 3.3v, there is a workaround to make it 5v, it is posted somewhere on this forums!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Wed Nov 09, 2016 7:14 pm

Czuba modifified my PCI board with four slots, because the Realtek and USB card which I have are 3.3V and 5V both

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:36 pm

Ektus wrote:No need to e-mail (but should work here in the forum using the "contact" link).
As for the PCI cards: I've got several plugged in, but all of them are 3,3V types and work "out of the box", at least as far as the startup diagnostic goes. Drivers are another matter. I do have network running under MiNT (has been discussed here and/or on the atari-home.de forums), I've had a USB keyboard working for testing, and of course the graphics card at 1600x1200. A spare firewire card is stored in the fourth slot on the CTPCI. It's recognized at boot, but lacks drivers and I don't have peripherals to connect to.

Regards
Ektus.

Hi,
I would like to back to connect my PCI USB card, and I have some questions.
On this photo I present my card, there is 5 port of USB,
Photo-0107.jpg

but during the boot when I connected to port 2 from the PCI connector, USB mouse and port 3 USB keyboard and on the monitor screen I get something like this.
Photo-0106a.jpg

What do you think, does that mean that it only recognizes 3 out of 5 USB connectors,
Because if I plugged in connectors 4 and 5 (the internal one), I have the answer on the screen:
Photo-0104.jpg

Another question is whether I will need your latest 2.02 TOS drivers, because at the moment it looks like if I have 2.00 Beta 2.

After launching the MiNT, neither the keyboard nor the mouse will work.
Do I need a driver yet?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby paul92706 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:53 am

Ektus wrote:No need to e-mail (but should work here in the forum using the "contact" link).
As for the PCI cards: I've got several plugged in, but all of them are 3,3V types and work "out of the box", at least as far as the startup diagnostic goes. Drivers are another matter. I do have network running under MiNT (has been discussed here and/or on the atari-home.de forums), I've had a USB keyboard working for testing, and of course the graphics card at 1600x1200. A spare firewire card is stored in the fourth slot on the CTPCI. It's recognized at boot, but lacks drivers and I don't have peripherals to connect to.

Regards
Ektus.

Hi ektus, sorry to chime in on this old posting, i have a question, how did you obtain 1600x1200 video resolution? i can only get 1280x1024,i can not change resolution in Video ATI Radeon CPX config, i get this message when i select a resolution and "Save/change" option "FILE NOT FOUND". i think only way to change resolution is changing the config in Xaaes.cnf "Video mode" i currently have Video=16821. i am using a ATI Radeon Grahics card 9250 128Mb. Are you using a different type of Graphics Card please state. thank buddy!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Ektus » Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:04 pm

I've even got 1920x1200 running, with 16M colours and my usual MagiC 6.20 setup. "File not found" doesn't sound good. Corrupt file system? Incompatible control panel? I've been using cops, started as "cops.prg" from the desktop. The resolutions are read from the monitor (VESA) and even more are present in the "DRIV" section. I believe I've got a similar card, 9250 type but don't know the memory size. The CPX reports 9216000 bytes with frequencies of 59Hz and 154MHz. The monitor is connected with DVI. In XaAES, the resolution has to be set with the "Video mode" line, but in plain TOS or in MagiC all you need is the "Video ATI Radeon" CPX. I've got version 1.0 from may, 2010. File info says version 2.04.

Mode code for 1920x1200@16M is 0x42B5 (17077)
Mode code for 1600x1200@16M is 0x41ED (16877)
Mode code for 1600x1200@65k is 0x41EC (16876)

All the above at 60Hz screen refresh.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Ektus » Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:18 pm

Kroll wrote:Another question is whether I will need your latest 2.02 TOS drivers, because at the moment it looks like if I have 2.00 Beta 2.

After launching the MiNT, neither the keyboard nor the mouse will work.
Do I need a driver yet?


I've got no idea, sorry. I didn't use the internal connector, and only briefly tested the operation of mouse and keyboard. Either way, TOS comes with the drivers needed, but I don't know from which version. Should be in the changelogs somewhere.


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:47 pm

Ektus wrote:I've got no idea, sorry. I didn't use the internal connector, and only briefly tested the operation of mouse and keyboard. Either way, TOS comes with the drivers needed, but I don't know from which version. Should be in the changelogs somewhere.

Regards
Ektus.

If I understand you well, then you use a similar USB card,
and you checked the work of this card by connecting the keyboard and mouse to the USB under the TOS.
Did you do that with the original keyboard and mouse also?

I in my falcon use Eiffel and I have a keyboard and mouse connected to the PS / 2 connector, can it cause some conflict ?
Will any other device work?
I think here about the pendrive.

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Ektus » Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:38 am

I've got an Eiffel, too, and there is no conflict whatsoever. Just plug in the mouse and keyboard to USB, and both mice and keyboards work. The pendrive shouldn*t interfere either, but I haven't tested that yet. IIRC, there's a mass storage driver included in later versions of the CTPCI TOS, but uses a fixed drive letter that is already occupied in my setup.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:18 am

Ektus wrote: The pendrive shouldn*t interfere either, but I haven't tested that yet. IIRC, there's a mass storage driver included in later versions of the CTPCI TOS, but uses a fixed drive letter that is already occupied in my setup.

Do you know what drive letter is fixed for mass storage.

Thank you, I flashed to your 1.02 beta version TOS DRIVERS and plug in keybord and mouse to my USB card, I restart my computer and detect it correctly (look at the photo)
Photo-0109.jpg


And both keyboard and mouse works OK under TOS, but the questions is what about MiNT ?
Maybe there is a conflict, because when pruss butthun on mouse system crash (no reaction on the screen and I have to switch off computer. I have MiNT 1.19-cur, and there is a driver USB folder.

OT:
I have question, in newest build for freemint there is USB4TOS.zip (is his only for TOS system ?),
there are some program:
eth.prg, mouse.prg, storage.prg, usb.prg and usb.acc. How to use it, and where can I find some information about it ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby mikro » Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:33 am

Kroll wrote:eth.prg, mouse.prg, storage.prg, usb.prg and usb.acc. How to use it, and where can I find some information about it ?

Those are Alan's tools aimed for the Unicorn, look here for some ongoing discussion: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=25276&start=475#p327928

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Ektus » Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:21 pm

Kroll wrote:
Ektus wrote: The pendrive shouldn*t interfere either, but I haven't tested that yet. IIRC, there's a mass storage driver included in later versions of the CTPCI TOS, but uses a fixed drive letter that is already occupied in my setup.

Do you know what drive letter is fixed for mass storage.

Sorry, no idea. It should be displayed during boot if a compatible USB stick is present. Must be below "P:".

Kroll wrote:Thank you, I flashed to your 1.02 beta version TOS DRIVERS and plug in keybord and mouse to my USB card, I restart my computer and detect it correctly (look at the photo)
Photo-0109.jpg

Very good. That is, not the photo 8O
Could you please switch off the flash when making photos of a screen? Thank You!

I don't have a clue about MiNT, though. USB keyboard and mouse do work for me in both TOS and MagiC, haven't tested in MiNT in a long time and have only the 0.17 install that works with the network card. Maybe I can tell more next weekend, as then is OFAM time and I'll have a day or two dedicated to tinkering with Ataris.


Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby Kroll » Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:25 pm

Ektus wrote:Sorry, no idea. It should be displayed during boot if a compatible USB stick is present. Must be below "P:".

Very good. That is, not the photo 8O
Could you please switch off the flash when making photos of a screen? Thank You!

I don't have a clue about MiNT, though. USB keyboard and mouse do work for me in both TOS and MagiC, haven't tested in MiNT in a long time and have only the 0.17 install that works with the network card. Maybe I can tell more next weekend, as then is OFAM time and I'll have a day or two dedicated to tinkering with Ataris.


Thank you very much, everything works OK, the mass storage under Magic and MiNT is visible as the first free partition eg P:
I checked it, this is a problem with the newer MiNT,
keyboard, mouse, mass storage works without any problems with versions 1-17 on which also works with network cards.

Regards
Kroll

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and USB card

Postby mikro » Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:37 pm

Kroll wrote:I checked it, this is a problem with the newer MiNT,
keyboard, mouse, mass storage works without any problems with versions 1-17 on which also works with network cards.

If you feel up to some testing, feel free to report it on https://github.com/freemint/freemint/issues. I'd start with 1.18 from https://github.com/freemint/freemint/releases, then I can do some custom builds for you if the latest 1.19 doesn't work for you.


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests