Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby paul92706 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 2:05 am

Ektus wrote:I'm back home, but off to bed now. Just so much, I've got the network card working with the beta TOS from May 6th, 2012 and the latest ABE and SDR. Driver versions have been posted earlier in this thread. The card goes by the name RTK0.

Welcome back Ektus it is so nice so see you back buddy!! :D great i will research this info you give us. much appreciated! :cheers:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Ektus » Sun Aug 14, 2016 6:52 am

I've been around all the time, just not on the forum. PM me if it's urgent, say, needs to be answered within less than a year or two ;-)

Just to clarify: RTK0 is just the interface name for ifconfig, as opposed to EN0 or NE0 for the NETUSBEE and other devices. The network card must be PCI, 3,3V (has two notches in the connector) and have the right chip. Those are generic, there are only a couple vendors for the chip, but hundreds of producers for the cards.

The name of the chip is rtl8139 as is the name of the driver.

A search for "rtl8139" on ebay.com yields lots of results, many for less than $10. I don't know off hand if both the "C" and "D" variants work, should be noted in the driver readme or some forum entry. I can check later which kind of chip it is on my card.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Ektus » Sun Aug 14, 2016 11:31 am

I've got a picture of the working card in my CTPCI:
RTL8139D_CTPCI_Ektus.jpg


It's a Longshine brand card with RTL8139D chip

Card designation: LCS-8038TXR7

Regards
Ektus.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Ektus » Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:18 pm

Hi Beetle,

I've got to add some info:

Beetle wrote:Ektus showed his Falcon 060 here at Fujiama Party, with USB card mouse working, and Network (Realtek PCI) working under MiNT.
It had a download speed of around 400kByte, pretty impressive.


The download was done using netsurf, downloading a newer version thereof. It was limited by the speed of the internet connection, as I just performed a small benchmark in the LAN.

Source: Raspberry Pi 2 running nginx, wget on my Notebook was able to get a 29MB video file with a speed of 9.5MB/s. So no limitation there for the following test:

Fetching that same file with wget on the Falcon: 1,05MB/s 8)
[edit]
Repeating that test with destination /ram instead of hard drive resulted in a transfer rate of 1.25MB/s 8) 8) 8)
[/edit]

Regards
Ektus.
Last edited by Ektus on Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby paul92706 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:46 am

Hi ektus, i finally got the driver working with the PCI network card. Now problem i am having, i am using DHCP with Mint 1-19, and it seem's that the Realtek is not leasing an IP address from my Host. Now when i call up the Bash program and execute IFCONFIG i do see "rtko" up and running, but with No ip address leased. Now should this network card be ok with DHCP? or would i have to manually setup a IP address to the PCI network card? thanks.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby Ektus » Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:00 am

Hi paul,

DHCP doesn't work for me either. Starting dhclient from the command line yields a couple DHCPDISCOVER lines followed by "No DHCPOFFERS received". But manually configuring the interface works for me.

from the command line, issue the following commands (insert your static ip for 192.168.0.10 and gateway):

Code: Select all

ifconfig rtk0 down
ifconfig rtk0 addr 192.168.0.10 up
ifconfig rtk0 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default rtk0 gw 192.168.0.1


To make it start up at boot, edit /etc/resolv.conf, /etc/sysconfig/config.if and /etc/sysconfig/defaultroute and enter your static data there.

I don't know if the card will be working with 1.19, I've had it working successfully only with 1.17 yet.

Regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby paul92706 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:23 pm

Ok, i figured there would be a problem with DHCP. Anyhow i am having problems getting Mint 1-17 working. Seems like theres a problem with Xaaes and the *.KM files, i need to find this problem so i can try this setup with Mint 1-17.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
umberto1st
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:23 am

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby umberto1st » Mon Aug 15, 2016 4:35 pm

cool
800, 2) 600XL, 2) 800XL, 1) 1200XL, 2) 130XE, 1) XEGS, 2) 1050,2) 810, 1) 850, 2) 1040 STFM's, 1) 4160 STE, 1) MEGA ST2,1)Mega ST4,1)Mega STE, 1) FALCON CT63+CTPCI+Radeon, 1)FALCON STOCK 14 MEG CF IDE, NEMESIS NOT INSTALLED, 1) 2600, 2)5200, 1) 7800. 5)JAGUAR's, 3) JAGUAR CD UNITS, CATBOX, SKUNKBOARD ECT. Lynx II, Lynx I..

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12672
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby wongck » Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:02 pm

So my card is a RTL8139D network card, but it detected as RTL8139CP... ip address etc are all assigned but it just don't ping any host.
Below interface startup seems OK (well i don't really know).
IMG_20160912_090313.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Network & USB on CTPCI is near :-)

Postby paul92706 » Wed Sep 21, 2016 7:00 pm

wongck wrote:So my card is a RTL8139D network card, but it detected as RTL8139CP... ip address etc are all assigned but it just don't ping any host.
Below interface startup seems OK (well i don't really know).
IMG_20160912_090313.jpg

This is the same issue i had!, i teued 3 different Network cards with different RTL8139x extensions, i tried i believe the D,C,P and all the same i can not ping any host, but they are detected with the driver!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests