First steps in CT60 land

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:26 pm

The lower right corner is GND, but because of some parallax effect of the photograph, the pins may not align correctly in the photograph.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby Klapauzius » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:06 am

Here are a few updates:

I tried the cable bending trick + checked all the connectors/sockets I could easily get my hands on. Unfortunately this didn't change anything with my NVRAM issues. Still weird settings read from the NVRAM that can't be changed/resetted/fixed at all. As a consequence, still no boot into 030 mode. :(

I tried installing MagiC for 060 mode again. Followed the guidelines in the CT60 HYPs and installed all necessary patches for the 060 -> still no go. MAGXBOOT (the patched version) still either gives an access fault on startup or hangs on a white screen. :( Perhaps it's the duff NVRAM again that causes this.

On a more positive note, installing Mint on the CT60 was a breeze. :D I have to pimp my destop a bit though, as it looks quite ugly IMHO with plain XaAES and Teradesk.

My keyboard was working flawlessly during the last 2 days. Hope it stays that way.
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:42 pm

Klapauzius wrote:Here are a few updates:

I tried the cable bending trick + checked all the connectors/sockets I could easily get my hands on. Unfortunately this didn't change anything with my NVRAM issues. Still weird settings read from the NVRAM that can't be changed/resetted/fixed at all. As a consequence, still no boot into 030 mode. :(

I tried installing MagiC for 060 mode again. Followed the guidelines in the CT60 HYPs and installed all necessary patches for the 060 -> still no go. MAGXBOOT (the patched version) still either gives an access fault on startup or hangs on a white screen. :( Perhaps it's the duff NVRAM again that causes this.

On a more positive note, installing Mint on the CT60 was a breeze. :D I have to pimp my destop a bit though, as it looks quite ugly IMHO with plain XaAES and Teradesk.

My keyboard was working flawlessly during the last 2 days. Hope it stays that way.

Sweet!! atleast you got Mint/XaAes installed!! i remember i couldn't get Mint installed the first time i plugged in my CT60 it was a struggle for me, now i can install Mint with my eyes closed! haha I saw the pics when the countryman out in germany had the desktop setup on your Falcy it was supper cool!! Nice Gal desktop Pic lol :)
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:31 pm

paul92706 wrote:Sweet!! atleast you got Mint/XaAes installed!! i remember i couldn't get Mint installed the first time i plugged in my CT60 it was a struggle for me, now i can install Mint with my eyes closed! haha


Glad to hear that :D
Steep but short learning curve then. :wink:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby Klapauzius » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:49 am

paul92706 wrote:Sweet!! atleast you got Mint/XaAes installed!! i remember i couldn't get Mint installed the first time i plugged in my CT60 it was a struggle for me, now i can install Mint with my eyes closed! haha I saw the pics when the countryman out in germany had the desktop setup on your Falcy it was supper cool!! Nice Gal desktop Pic lol :)

In my case it was just copying the Mint folder from my Falcon030 installation to the CT60 hard disk + exchanging the Mint Kernel. :)
Its a very basic Mint setup only, though (no networking, etc.).
Unfortunately, that nice pictures are no longer on the HD. :wink:
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby Klapauzius » Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:49 pm

I must admit it's really nice to have a 1280x1024x32bpp screen res with an Atari machine.
And it's blazingly fast to work with, thanks to the ATI video card. :)

Sorry for the bad pic quality...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:12 pm

Install Mint 1.18, you can put a nice colourful wall paper. makes the dekstop better looking.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:21 pm

oh wow klaz!! you got me drooling!! lol she looks nice!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby Shredder11 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:44 pm

Pure class from Klaz! :cheers:

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:48 pm

wongck wrote:Install Mint 1.18, you can put a nice colourful wall paper. makes the dekstop better looking.

Hey wongck, where can i get colourful *.img wallpapers? or how do you i convert to *.img files for wall paper? im using Jinnee and it uses only .img format for wall paper, unless im wrong. thanks
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:58 pm

Mint 1.18 has build-in wall paper support that is in high colour.
The one in Jinnee is just 256 colours.
Mint 1.18 wall paper is an actual screen grab of whatever that is displayed, using hot-keys combo.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 5:12 pm

wongck wrote:Mint 1.18 has build-in wall paper support that is in high colour.
The one in Jinnee is just 256 colours.
Mint 1.18 wall paper is an actual screen grab of whatever that is displayed, using hot-keys combo.

Oh kool, is there any information on how to set up wallpaper for mint 1.18? also the hot-key commands? thanks wongck!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:22 pm

I am not so sure, may be the Xaaes doc that comes with it.
I am sure that there is a line on the help that mentions the key-combo.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3630
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby joska » Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:02 am

Press Control+Alt+Help for a list of hotkeys.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:42 am

joska wrote:Press Control+Alt+Help for a list of hotkeys.

Im actually using MyAes :-/
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby christos » Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:52 am

You don't need it then. Just read myaes' docs to see how you can change the background image.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:27 pm

Yeap, for MyAES it is easy. Just drop a JPG into the MyAES Skin folder and rename it to desk.jpg.
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=21029#p186654
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3630
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby joska » Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:52 pm

wongck wrote:Yeap, for MyAES it is easy. Just drop a JPG into the MyAES Skin folder and rename it to desk.jpg.


A much more elegant solution than in XaAES.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:30 pm

wongck wrote:Yeap, for MyAES it is easy. Just drop a JPG into the MyAES Skin folder and rename it to desk.jpg.
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=21029#p186654

Ya, thanks its very easy.. right now im using TeraDesk i was having issue with Jinnee bypassing the Desk.jpg from Myaes skins folder and for some reason it forces itself to use Jinnees wallpaper and not Myaes wallpaper is there a way to disable Jinnee's wallpaper?
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:30 pm

To: Wongck hi wongck quick question can we add more desktop icons to TeraDesk? or are we limited to what TeraDesk offers? thanks
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby christos » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:04 pm

I am not wongck but what the hell: Yeah you need a resource editor and copy the icons to the proper places in the cicons.rsc.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:25 pm

christos wrote:I am not wongck but what the hell: Yeah you need a resource editor and copy the icons to the proper places in the cicons.rsc.

haha! thanks christos!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:28 pm

Just blank out the Jinnee wallpaper filename. That should remove Jinne wallpaper.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby wongck » Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:29 pm

christos wrote:I am not wongck but what the hell: Yeah you need a resource editor and copy the icons to the proper places in the cicons.rsc.



Anyone is free to answer :D :wink: :angel:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: First steps in CT60 land

Postby paul92706 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:34 pm

wongck wrote:Just blank out the Jinnee wallpaper filename. That should remove Jinne wallpaper.

Kool! i can't really get MyAes to display wall paper correctly with Jinnee. Loading into MyAes it loads up the proper *.jpg Wallpaper then when Jinnee desktop comes up it goes into Jinnee's 256 color wallpaper *.img ????
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest