Hades 060 Soundcard

All things related to the Hades and Milan clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:10 am

I recently got a Hades 060. Now i Triy to install a PCI-Soundcard, but failed up to now. It is a E1371-card and I have installed the GSBX and E1371 Drivers of Old Shanke. Operating syszem is MagiC. Unfortunately o get no sound.
Has anybody a Hades with functional Soundcard and can send me his configuration (Auto-Folder programs etc)?

Toni

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby shoggoth » Fri Apr 10, 2009 9:31 am

I have a Hades + sound card. IIRC you need the PCI bios to get this up and running, but I'm not 100% sure.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:54 am

PCI-Bios is allready install, as well. Could you please send me list of your auto-folder prgs. Which operating system are you using?

Toni

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Fri Apr 10, 2009 12:19 pm

Another question; in which PCI-slot is your soundcard installed. Seems to be imortant.
Toni

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2227
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby lp » Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:57 pm

Mine is working but with MiNT. PCI-Bios must load before the sound card stuff. The slots are numbered PCI 1 to 4 and you should try to avoid #4 as it is somehow linked to slot #3, sharing the same DMA channel or something, can't remember exactly.

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:15 pm

Thank you for your reply. I have chenged the slots now (Graphic card in slot 1, soundcard in slot 2). Unfortunately with no effect.
@lp: Could you please post or send me a list of your auto-folder programs. Maybe I will switch to MINT, too. I guess, there must be additional programs in thge auto-folder (PCIbios, GSBX, ES1371) are installed) to get the sound working

Toni

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2227
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby lp » Sat Apr 11, 2009 8:40 pm

I don't know if MiNT will help. You should have this order:

SET_MMU.PRG (website for the sound driver says to install this)
PCI_BIOS.PRG
GSXB.PRG
ES1371.PRG

As for the rest of my auto folder it's all mint/nvdi related, so I excluded it. I think it's possible to have an old PCI-Main chip in the hades. You might want to have a look at the chip on the board as Fredi normally hand wrote the version on top of the chips with a silver color ink. If it don't work after testing this arrangement, you probably should contact the author of GSXB and inquire about the version of your PCI-Main chip.

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Tue Apr 14, 2009 2:12 pm

Still no sound :(
Meanwhile I switched to MINT, whichs runs very fine on this machine. (Easymint). The problem is: As sonn as I put SETMMU in the auto-Folder, the screen turns black after shortly after the SETMMU massages as displayed. Very rarely about 1min later, the XAAES screen appears, but the computer shows no more reaction. Without This programm everything works fine, But NO sound. Any ideas?
I will try to conbtact Odd Shancke on this issue, too.

Toni

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2227
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby lp » Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:27 pm

If I recall from way back when I installed all this stuff, there is some conflict with the video driver, it uses self modifying code which causes a problem, but I forget the exact details or how I fixed it. Also had a black screen at one point. Best write Odd and ask him about it.

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:32 pm

still no clue, what the problem can be. Unfortunately the email address of Odd Skancke, that is given on the Assemsoft website seems to be not vails any more. Mails are retrurned from the server. Does anybody know, how I can contact him??

Toni

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:57 pm

Thanks to lp. But Odd Skancke is not reachable. :(
btw: How can the caches of the Hades be controlled in MINT.

Toni

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby [ProToS] » Sat Apr 18, 2009 1:13 am

SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2227
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby lp » Sat Apr 18, 2009 1:59 am

watzl-berg wrote:Thanks to lp. But Odd Skancke is not reachable. :(
btw: How can the caches of the Hades be controlled in MINT.

Toni


In the the set_mmu archive is a folder for the 060 with some tiny apps that you can use to change the cache status. You can also execute these from the auto folder and/or the mint config file. If Ozk is unreachable that is not good news. When I get some time I will dig around on my boot partition and see if I can sort out how I got set_mmu working. It has something to do with the caches needing to be off when the video driver starts up, then turned back on after it has been installed.

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Sun Jul 05, 2009 9:20 am

Update:
Still no Sound on my Hades. Meanwhile I contacted Fr Aschwanden. He kindly sent me a different PCI.Main-chip. Unfortunately, exchanging the Chip had no effect. Trying to install a ISA soundcard led to the same result. I am frustrated. What am I doing wrong? the Hades is running very fine. I am using MagiC again. Everything is absolutely stable..., but no sound :(
So I am looking for help again. Any ideas?Could somebody send me his Auto-Folder (MagiC or Mint)?
Toni

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2227
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby lp » Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:03 am

watzl-berg wrote:Update:
Still no Sound on my Hades. Meanwhile I contacted Fr Aschwanden. He kindly sent me a different PCI.Main-chip. Unfortunately, exchanging the Chip had no effect. Trying to install a ISA soundcard led to the same result. I am frustrated. What am I doing wrong? the Hades is running very fine. I am using MagiC again. Everything is absolutely stable..., but no sound :(
So I am looking for help again. Any ideas?Could somebody send me his Auto-Folder (MagiC or Mint)?
Toni


I'm not exactly sure what you are trying to do to get sound. Firstly my sound card is PCI, not ISA. Also I don't get any sound unless I fiddle with ozk's, somewhat unfinished mixer. His driver won't work unless the vendor ID of the card is supported. It does not save the settings either, so at every boot up all the settings are gone. I don't even bother anymore as it became too tedious so I just live with the YM sounds. :)

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2227
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby lp » Sun Jul 12, 2009 7:52 pm

What software are you using? What sounds are you expecting to hear? You do realize it won't make key clicks or system bell sounds? It will require some software that properly looks at the _SND cookie and plays digitized samples. You also must have speakers attached as well. If I remember correctly ozks mixer by default starts up in the wrong mode and you have to fiddle with it to get 8-bit format active. Been awhile since I messed with it. There's also more than one volume setting.

I don't use magic though. I also don't know if ozks driver/mixer work correctly in magic.

User avatar
watzl-berg
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:04 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby watzl-berg » Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:39 pm

The goal I am aiming at is to play MP3-files with the Hades using "aniplayer" as soundplayer. GemJing should also work on the Hades for other sound files. Both should be able to use the drivers by Odd Scancke. I do nor expect to hear any system bell or something. as I wrote above, I did already switch to MINT, which had no effect to the problem. I tried 3 different PCI soundcards, which were all correctly reported by PCI-config, concernig the vendor-ID etc. The Sysinfo.prg, I use also shows, that the xbios routines etc are correctly installed. Maybe I should try some more sondcards :?

As for the ISA-Soundcard: frustrated by the PCI-issue, I did tried one ISA-Soundcard, using the drivers by Eric Hall. But this was frustrating, too.

Apart from the soundcard-problem, the Hades is working pretty well and stable, So I don't believe there is a hardware-problem on it.

I will keep you informed :D

Toni

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2227
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby lp » Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:39 am

Do you have ozks mmu tools installed? Reason I ask is because the Hades has no ST RAM, only TT RAM. Ozks mmu tools will split the ram and simulate ST RAM. Its common knowledge you can't play digitized sounds from TT RAM, so maybe there is the problem?

I also have the mmu tools installed.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Hades 060 Soundcard

Postby Kroll » Sat Mar 10, 2012 11:56 pm

lp wrote:Do you have ozks mmu tools installed? Reason I ask is because the Hades has no ST RAM, only TT RAM. Ozks mmu tools will split the ram and simulate ST RAM. Its common knowledge you can't play digitized sounds from TT RAM, so maybe there is the problem?

I also have the mmu tools installed.


I am new user of this forum and from a few months I am user of Hades and I have a problem with sound card

This is my configuration of Auto folder HADES
In this folder in the order I have PCI_BIOS.PRG, GSXB.PRG and ES1371.PRG.
During the start Hades In slot1 I have graphic cards, in slot3 this sound cards and on slot3 ethernet cards. On the screen there are information [03] 0x1274 0x5880 Multimedia Device (Audio)
during boot on the screen I see GSXB Installed and Ensoniq AudioPCI Driver Installed.

I have a very similar problem, and I can not install mmu_setup, my Hades has 192 MB of RAM and I would like to 14MB ST-RAM, the others are TT-RAM, when without any changes to the file during startup mmusetup.cnf computer will not boot, I understand that I need to edit but do not quite know what to do if someone could help me

Best Regards
Piotr


Social Media

     

Return to “Hades / Milan”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests