Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:54 pm

It's A Girl 2 by Paradox
---------------------------

- The interlace of the picture with the blue teddybear stops after every x.th frame for a moment under STEEM which makes the flickering obvious, while there is no flickering on STE.
- There is gfx rubbish in the lower border of the last screen (photo of hands) which is not shown on STE.
- Link: http://files.dhs.nu/party/sillyventure2013/iag2_fin.zip

Fast Forward Option
------------------------

- I have mapped the "Fast Forward" option to the key below the Esc key (very useful funktion ;-)). If I press this key too long, it hangs and it takes some seconds until the fast forward option stops (which is quite annoying). This does not happen in v3.2, but it does in (all?) SSE editions. Does this only occur on my laptop?

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:43 pm

Choice of Gods (Preview) by Holocaust
---------------------------------------------

- The fullscreen in the "Attack of the Indigestion" screen flickers both with STF and STE option.
- There is graphics rubbish in the lower border of the "Japanese Way of Life" screen.
- Link: http://www.atarimania.com/pgedump.awp?id=22239

Pete by Chaos
-----------------

- The first screen by the Mega Four has sync errors in its fullscreen part.
. Link: http://demozoo.org/productions/60162/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:13 pm

mOdmate wrote:The "Grumbler In A Rutting Season" demo (ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ltk_tscc ... UMBLER.ZIP) seems to have a bug in the main menu. The robot cannot be controlled by the cursor keys the way it is possible on the real machine and was possible in v3.2. However, even v3.5.0 shows the same bug.


Yes, it's ACIA timing, rather messy.
I fixed/hacked it only in 6301 mode.
This gives me the idea: for ACIA/IKBD, mods would only affect this mode, without it we revert to v3.2.
Less code, fewer bugs...
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:15 pm

mOdmate wrote:The "Board and Spheres" screen by NAOS in the Ventura demo by OVR has a logo in the upper border that has plane shifts (tried several wake up states).

ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ltk_tscc ... ENTURA.ZIP

Regarding the "Symic" demo: Yes, it works. Thanks for the hint!


It looks like disk corruption, but maybe not, it's on my list.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:16 pm

mOdmate wrote:The STAX screen with the blue logo in "Hier sind noch zwei Plätze frei" shows artefacts above the logo when Steem is run in STE mode with TOS 1.06. It works okay when running Steem in STF mode with TOS 1.4.

ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ltk_tscc ... ERSIND.ZIP


I couldn't find the screen. Could you tell what the introducing blurb is?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:20 pm

mOdmate wrote:The Ishar 3 cracktro by ACF and Vectronix has sync problems, http://demozoo.org/productions/64457/. Lotek Style just gave me that hint, thanks man! :-)

ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ltk_tscc ... SHAR3D.ZIP


Fixed, it's a CPU timing rounding problem.
More explanations later... thx for all your reports, that's what makes Steem better, I mean the best. ;)
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:11 am

I've sent you an email with a memory snapshot of the buggy STAX screen from the "Hier sind noch zwei Plätze frei" demo.

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:57 am

Sinfull Sinuses by Chronicle

- Link: http://demozoo.org/productions/66378/
- The four pixel raster effect looks like this:

sinful.png

Full Parts by HMD

- Link: http://demozoo.org/productions/70566/
- On STE (not STF!), the Fullscreen effect looks like this every now and then:

hmd fullscreen.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:17 pm

Do Things by Cream

- Link: http://demozoo.org/productions/65442/
- The demo doesn't start with STE/1.62/2 or 4 MB (after pressing F1). It works in Steem's STF mode and under Hatari using TOS 1.62/4 MB.
- This is what you get after pressing F1 and waiting some seconds:

Cream - Do Things.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby npomarede » Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:50 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
mOdmate wrote:The "Board and Spheres" screen by NAOS in the Ventura demo by OVR has a logo in the upper border that has plane shifts (tried several wake up states).

ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ltk_tscc ... ENTURA.ZIP

Regarding the "Symic" demo: Yes, it works. Thanks for the hint!


It looks like disk corruption, but maybe not, it's on my list.

It's not disk corruption ; it's another case of removing only left border, with a non standard delay of 16 cycles (instead of the usual 12 cycles) and no right border removal, nor stabilizer. In that case, this creates a 2 bytes offset when compared to the usual case where removing left border adds 26 bytes. That's not directly wake up state dependent, although some wake up state could make things worse in that case.
It's not working in Hatari either, as I plan on fixing all those stabilizer issues in one go when I will have time to rewrite the shifter emulation.

PS : mOdmate, I see you also tested some screens under Hatari, don't hesitate to report problems when you see them in the Hatari part of the forum (I tested some of the links you gave here, and so far, they all worked in Hatari, except the Ventura's one)

Nicolas

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Wed Jan 08, 2014 3:24 pm

F29 Retaliator ("done" by the Empire)

- Link: you know where to get it from
- This crashes before the log-in screen appears with the debugging information shown below if you start it with 4 MB and works if you start it with 1 MB. It works with my 3 MB and 4 MB real machines.
- I am quite sure it is a protection, as I traced and "boiler" hacked this one some months ago to get it working.

F29.png


Epic ("done" by Elite)

- Link: you know where to get it from
- This crashes while loading the second disk with the debugging information shown below, no matter which setup you use (even slow disk access doesn't help).
- As this game was done by DID like F29, this might be a protection issue as well.

epic crash.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:41 pm

mOdmate wrote:I've sent you an email with a memory snapshot of the buggy STAX screen from the "Hier sind noch zwei Plätze frei" demo.


It's not really a bug, it works with 6301 option checked STF or STE.
Without it, too short ACIA timings literally prevent the screen from being cleaned.
The trash you see is the dancing scroller of previous screen.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:46 pm

mOdmate wrote:The "Board and Spheres" screen by NAOS in the Ventura demo by OVR has a logo in the upper border that has plane shifts (tried several wake up states).

ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ltk_tscc ... ENTURA.ZIP



Is the logo supposed to be stable or to move?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:55 pm

mOdmate wrote:
Fast Forward Option
------------------------

- I have mapped the "Fast Forward" option to the key below the Esc key (very useful funktion ;-)). If I press this key too long, it hangs and it takes some seconds until the fast forward option stops (which is quite annoying). This does not happen in v3.2, but it does in (all?) SSE editions. Does this only occur on my laptop?


I couldn't yet reproduce the problem on my elite laptop at any rate (1min pressing).
It could depend on Windows.
Edit: the same on a different PC+Windows.
Last edited by Steven Seagal on Thu Jan 09, 2014 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:13 pm

mOdmate wrote:It's A Girl 2 by Paradox
---------------------------

- The interlace of the picture with the blue teddybear stops after every x.th frame for a moment under STEEM which makes the flickering obvious, while there is no flickering on STE.


Didn't notice that on my elite laptop, it may have to do with VSync/Freq (the screen is at 60hz).

- There is gfx rubbish in the lower border of the last screen (photo of hands) which is not shown on STE.
- Link: http://files.dhs.nu/party/sillyventure2013/iag2_fin.zip


That I see, I'll look into it. Thx!
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby npomarede » Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:23 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
mOdmate wrote:The "Board and Spheres" screen by NAOS in the Ventura demo by OVR has a logo in the upper border that has plane shifts (tried several wake up states).

ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ltk_tscc ... ENTURA.ZIP



Is the logo supposed to be stable or to move?

The logo is stable ; the horizontal change you can see is due to the hardscroll routine mixing 230 bytes lines and 160 bytes lines, that's when the hardscroll changes from 230 to 160 bytes that the 2 bytes offset happens.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby npomarede » Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:28 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
mOdmate wrote:- There is gfx rubbish in the lower border of the last screen (photo of hands) which is not shown on STE.
- Link: http://files.dhs.nu/party/sillyventure2013/iag2_fin.zip


That I see, I'll look into it. Thx!

Same problem with Hatari, It seems that although a 60 Hz screen has 263 HBL, the last 4 or so lines are not visible on a real CRT (maybe it's specific to STE, not STF, a test would be required with both models on a real CRT to be sure). Best would be to ask Paradox, as I guess they tested the demo on real STE/CRT, so they would have noticed if some extra "garbage" lines were visible.

Nicolas

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:32 pm

There's no garbage shown on my Philips CM8833 using STE/1.62/4MB.

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:01 pm

Phaleon Giga Demo by NeXT

- Link: http://demozoo.org/productions/73226/
- The scroller in the Chaotic Motion Screen (Interfer) looks buggy (even under Hatari). However, I don't know if this is an emulation bug, as I did not test it on the real machine.
- The opened upper and lower border in the Storm Brothers screen flicker (even Hatari has similar problems with this screen).

chaotic motion (interfer).png


storm brothers.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:06 pm

mOdmate wrote:F29 Retaliator ("done" by the Empire)

- Link: you know where to get it from
- This crashes before the log-in screen appears with the debugging information shown below if you start it with 4 MB and works if you start it with 1 MB. It works with my 3 MB and 4 MB real machines.
- I am quite sure it is a protection, as I traced and "boiler" hacked this one some months ago to get it working.


I see the problem, it's actually not protection (EDIT: or maybe it is part of the protection, I meant it wasn't in the "trace" part of the program...) but the edge of authorised RAM access. I can easily fix that and we'll see what else crashes. :) Thx!



Epic ("done" by Elite)

- Link: you know where to get it from
- This crashes while loading the second disk with the debugging information shown below, no matter which setup you use (even slow disk access doesn't help).
- As this game was done by DID like F29, this might be a protection issue as well.



With me, it loads, the "movie" plays, login appears. Should it crash later, or do you have a bad version (mine is TOSEC)?
Or another game (than space opera)?
Last edited by Steven Seagal on Thu Jan 09, 2014 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:12 pm

Regarding Epic: Which setup? STE, 1.62, 4MB, ...?

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:22 pm

mOdmate wrote:Regarding Epic: Which setup? STE, 1.62, 4MB, ...?


I tried various, including this one.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby mOdmate » Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:31 pm

And the version I sent you via e-mail? ;-)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:49 pm

mOdmate wrote:And the version I sent you via e-mail? ;-)


Yes, this version miserably results in the debug info screen you posted :(
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jan 09, 2014 8:08 pm

mOdmate wrote:Phaleon Giga Demo by NeXT

- Link: http://demozoo.org/productions/73226/
- The scroller in the Chaotic Motion Screen (Interfer) looks buggy (even under Hatari). However, I don't know if this is an emulation bug, as I did not test it on the real machine.
- The opened upper and lower border in the Storm Brothers screen flicker (even Hatari has similar problems with this screen).



"Even Hatari" implies that Steem is wrong far more often than Hatari, this isn't the case so it should be "also Hatari".
Or maybe "also Hatari, of course". :)
I still must look at those screens, but in some cases selecting "WS1" may help top and bottom borders.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests