Steem SSE beta

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:48 pm

Stefan jL wrote:Steven do you think you could add support for GIMIC?
http://gimic.jp/index.php?Getting%20Started%20with%20GIMIC

It is a USB device that can hold soundchip boards like OPL3 and YM2151, but the most interesting is the YM2608 board ( also know as OPNA) as it is software compatible with YM2149. I don't know how difficult it is to add GIMIC support to Steem but if you find it interesting then please do a try even if you don't have the device, i can test for you :)

There is a Dosbox build that support GIMIC with OPL3 sound board, maybe it helps to look at the source to understand more quickly if it is possible add GIMIC to Steem, but with the OPNA module then of course.
Dosbox for GIMIC source:
http://www.vesta.dti.ne.jp/~tsato/software.html

It requires a control.. thing..? also... called (C86CTL.DLL) i don't know much as all info is in japanese, but it is a DLL you put in the same dir with the program you gonna use with GIMIC.
Pictures here:
http://gimic.jp/index.php?USB%E5%88%B6%E5%BE%A1FW
And it's source:
https://launchpad.net/c86ctl



You should have opened a thread for that dude, it must be examined long term, documentation isn't obvious.
Maybe it's doable. Did you notice the project to add the PSG chip? Maybe we should wait for that.
And if you know some C, you could help getting it started (init etc.).
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1295
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Stefan jL » Mon Dec 16, 2013 7:40 pm

I don't know how to program at all :)

And yes there is a YM2149 + YM2413 sound module coming to Gimic, it should maybe be better for Steem.

I was mainly interested to see how compatible YM2608 (OPNA) is to YM2149, i listened to some MSX music that uses only PSG and it sounds like there is a problem with noise of the YM2608, although it could very well be a USB timing problem since some less advanced PSG music for the X1 computer did sound ok.

Test recordings here:
http://arcade.ym2149.com/files/music/gimic_test_recordings/
Image

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:55 am

In sourceforge, the readme starts with this:

NOTE: don't download the readme, it's included in the archive!

Yet I notice:

README.txt 2013-12-22 2.7 kB 11

11 being Downloads / Week Status

I give up on this!
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:49 am

New beta for v3.6.1:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemss ... SE%20Beta/?

or

http://ataristeven.t15.org/Files/Steem_SSE_Beta.zip

-Introduce option STF 8.0MHZ: panic.tos
-MFP Enforce delay write to reg - execute irq: Audio Artistic
-Back to an internal ACIA delay for V8MS
-IPF recognise extension CTR as caps (not tested)
-TOS/ST type warning


The MFP changes are quite daring so please report bugs...
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1616
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Cyprian » Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:12 pm

Hi Steven,
I observed a small issue in the latest (and also in the previous) Beta. On the right side of the Desktop we can see a 4pixel width strip. Sometimes it's black, sometimes coloured:
Image
That issue is visible in only in mode "Auto Borders" and "Never show Borders".
Lynx / Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:26 pm

Cyprian wrote:Hi Steven,
I observed a small issue in the latest (and also in the previous) Beta. On the right side of the Desktop we can see a 4pixel width strip. Sometimes it's black, sometimes coloured:
Image
That issue is visible in only in mode "Auto Borders" and "Never show Borders".


It could be SSE option 'Display size' conflicting, it's not meant to be used without borders. Will check that.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby dlfrsilver » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:14 pm

Steven, Steem_beta crash and crash again, impossible to launch it on my PC. the executable is not working.
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:37 pm

dlfrsilver wrote:Steven, Steem_beta crash and crash again, impossible to launch it on my PC. the executable is not working.


So sorry about that. Does it happen with boilerbeta too? Previous betas?
Could you try to delete "auto.sts"?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby dlfrsilver » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:55 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:
dlfrsilver wrote:Steven, Steem_beta crash and crash again, impossible to launch it on my PC. the executable is not working.


So sorry about that. Does it happen with boilerbeta too? Previous betas?
Could you try to delete "auto.sts"?


It's a fresh install on my hard drive :( i have no auto.sts file in it.
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1616
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Cyprian » Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:53 am

Steven Seagal wrote:It could be SSE option 'Display size' conflicting, it's not meant to be used without borders. Will check that.


it seems that's true because in case of mode SEE-->Display Size: 384x270 the Desktop looks fine.
Lynx / Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby dlfrsilver » Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:02 pm

dlfrsilver wrote:
Steven Seagal wrote:
dlfrsilver wrote:Steven, Steem_beta crash and crash again, impossible to launch it on my PC. the executable is not working.


So sorry about that. Does it happen with boilerbeta too? Previous betas?
Could you try to delete "auto.sts"?


It's a fresh install on my hard drive :( i have no auto.sts file in it.


Oh by the way, it happens with boilerbeta too :(
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Mar 24, 2014 6:44 pm

@dlfrsilver

Could you try with this version:

http://ataristeven.t15.org/Files/Steem_SSE_Beta.zip
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby dlfrsilver » Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:24 am

It works now ! Thanks for that.

Ehm... Steve, do Steem supports actually kryoflux RAW files ? I tried, and it says even with the CAPSdll v5.0 that my RAW can be corrupted ?
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby npomarede » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:19 am

dlfrsilver wrote:It works now ! Thanks for that.

Ehm... Steve, do Steem supports actually kryoflux RAW files ? I tried, and it says even with the CAPSdll v5.0 that my RAW can be corrupted ?

No, capsimg.dll 5 only supports CT RAW dump at the moment (1 file per disk), not Kryolfux RAW dump (1 file per track, ~160 files per disk)

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby dlfrsilver » Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:04 pm

npomarede wrote:
dlfrsilver wrote:It works now ! Thanks for that.

Ehm... Steve, do Steem supports actually kryoflux RAW files ? I tried, and it says even with the CAPSdll v5.0 that my RAW can be corrupted ?

No, capsimg.dll 5 only supports CT RAW dump at the moment (1 file per disk), not Kryolfux RAW dump (1 file per track, ~160 files per disk)


Hello Nicolas, i'm not talking about KF streamfiles, but (CT) RAW files ! I have many games as RAW files, and steem says the file is corrupted...

I think i must understand that it's not yet supported ?
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby npomarede » Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:29 pm

dlfrsilver wrote:
npomarede wrote:
dlfrsilver wrote:It works now ! Thanks for that.

Ehm... Steve, do Steem supports actually kryoflux RAW files ? I tried, and it says even with the CAPSdll v5.0 that my RAW can be corrupted ?

No, capsimg.dll 5 only supports CT RAW dump at the moment (1 file per disk), not Kryolfux RAW dump (1 file per track, ~160 files per disk)


Hello Nicolas, i'm not talking about KF streamfiles, but (CT) RAW files ! I have many games as RAW files, and steem says the file is corrupted...

I think i must understand that it's not yet supported ?

Hi, you wrote "do Steem supports actually kryoflux RAW files", maybe you meant CT Raw files in that case ?
As for CT Raw, IFW confirmed they are supported with capsimg.dll v5, except a few ones where more complex protection is used that requires conversion to IPF for example.
At least, I tried many CT RAW files with Hatari dev version, and never get any corruption problem.

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby dlfrsilver » Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:52 pm

I think i must understand that it's not yet supported ?

Hi, you wrote "do Steem supports actually kryoflux RAW files", maybe you meant CT Raw files in that case ?
As for CT Raw, IFW confirmed they are supported with capsimg.dll v5, except a few ones where more complex protection is used that requires conversion to IPF for example.
At least, I tried many CT RAW files with Hatari dev version, and never get any corruption problem.[/quote]

Neither Hatari nor steem support them actually :) Your version is de facto not public....
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:40 pm

Cyprian wrote:Hi Steven,
I observed a small issue in the latest (and also in the previous) Beta. On the right side of the Desktop we can see a 4pixel width strip. Sometimes it's black, sometimes coloured:
Image
That issue is visible in only in mode "Auto Borders" and "Never show Borders".


I fixed that but I wonder if we should bother. It's some more tests while running (are there borders or not). I doubt there's an impact on performance though. Dilemma.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:48 pm

About the new capsimg, current beta version only sends .CTR files to caps.
.RAW is not recognised, Steem says it's corrupt, maybe I'll change the message one day.
The current "hot beta" (http://ataristeven.t15.org/Files/Steem_SSE_Beta.zip, not sourceforge) does the trick mentioned in the Kryoflux section.
I don't know if it works at all, I have not a single CTR file!
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:51 pm

dlfrsilver wrote:It works now ! Thanks for that.


Well, better now than at release day, thx for the report.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1616
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Cyprian » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:18 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:I fixed that but I wonder if we should bother. It's some more tests while running (are there borders or not). I doubt there's an impact on performance though. Dilemma.

actually, it is not a serious issue for me and I can live with it.

btw, that issue is still present:
Image
Lynx / Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby dlfrsilver » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:25 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:About the new capsimg, current beta version only sends .CTR files to caps.
.RAW is not recognised, Steem says it's corrupt, maybe I'll change the message one day.
The current "hot beta" (http://ataristeven.t15.org/Files/Steem_SSE_Beta.zip, not sourceforge) does the trick mentioned in the Kryoflux section.
I don't know if it works at all, I have not a single CTR file!


I have CTR files, but steem says they are corrupt ! Even when i make them with the lastest release Kryoflux DTC 2.40
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby npomarede » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:40 pm

dlfrsilver wrote:I have CTR files, but steem says they are corrupt ! Even when i make them with the lastest release Kryoflux DTC 2.40

Could you post a link to one of your CTR file ? This way Steven can test it, and I can see what I get under Hatari too.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:41 pm

Cyprian wrote:btw, that issue is still present:
Image


If it's the beta at sourceforge, it's normal.
(it's heavier to upload there)

dlfrsilver wrote:I have CTR files, but steem says they are corrupt ! Even when i make them with the lastest release Kryoflux DTC 2.40


Could you try with the boiler, option 'hacks' on, see if there are asserts?
Could you upload one CTR file?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4183
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Steem SSE beta

Postby Brume » Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:33 pm

Here is an example of a CTR file. Same trouble as dlfrsilver. Game doesn't boot and the disk seems to be corrupted with Steem beta.
http://stonish.net/Ballistix.zip
I have tried other games that I imaged with KF over the last weeks : had the same results.


Social Media

     

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests