Graphics in Locomotive basic

Discuss Demos / Games / Applications written by Atari coders

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

MrPixel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:31 am

Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby MrPixel » Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:16 am

barring assembly, is there a (non poke filled) way to make graphics on the Amstrad CPC? the atari 800 has specialized commands and the Commodore range is a crap-ton of pokes. i appreciate Poking now and then but does the amstrad have any commands for graphics routines (outside of FILL)?

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4160
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby Dal » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:09 pm

This forum is focussed on the 16/32bit Atari machines, so knowledge about the Amstrad CPC will be limited.

I suggest you try posting this question on a CPC-specific forum.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5006
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:02 pm

I think there are commands to draw points and lines, select pen colors. And it is possible to redefine the character set, SYMBOL command IIRC.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

MrPixel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:31 am

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby MrPixel » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:51 pm

just thought it might work. after all, the forum was "non- atari" my mistake i guess.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4098
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby joska » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:14 am

cpcwiki.eu is *the* CPC-resource.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby viking272 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:18 am

Fun fact: Alan Michael Sugar lived in a mansion (in the 80s and 90s) on Sutton Road near Prittlewell in Essex UK. I nearly crashed a car in my teens near his house! His AMS Trading company became Amstrad. Here endeth my knowledge on Amstrad computers.

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby Gryzor » Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:56 am

The CPC BASIC does have drawing commands - it was, after all, probably the best 8-bit BASIC. But I would think the c64 and Atari 800 did have equivalent commands, no? So I would guess you're asking for something else...

In any event, you're more than welcome to ask at http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum!
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5006
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:20 pm

C64 certainly cannot draw dots and lines without pokes from BASIC 2.0 - if CPC users can brag about one thing, it's their BASIC interpreter ;)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby Gryzor » Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:25 am

I had forgotten that. D'oh!
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

MrPixel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:31 am

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby MrPixel » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:07 pm

amstrad CPC=death star
Atari 800= X wing
cue death star explosion

MrPixel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:31 am

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby MrPixel » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:07 pm

i will not lie, the keboard looked badass

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1686
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby mikro » Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:36 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:C64 certainly cannot draw dots and lines without pokes from BASIC 2.0 - if CPC users can brag about one thing, it's their BASIC interpreter ;)

Well, Atari Basic certainly can.

MrPixel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:31 am

Re: Graphics in Locomotive basic

Postby MrPixel » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:57 pm

yes, but to actually make sprites and stuff requires the occasional poke. and amstrad's basic is good but i think i'll switch to C or Python. too many lines to type, need something faster and shorter


Social Media

     

Return to “Non Atari Platforms”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest