1680x1050 resolution not listed

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], Galvez, Moderator Team

tordj
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:04 am

1680x1050 resolution not listed

Postby tordj » Sun Jan 04, 2015 8:41 am

Hi,

I'm trying to hook up my FireBee to my old 22" HP LCD monitor. It only has a VGA-port which I'm using through a DVI->VGA converter. My problem is that the native resolution of the monitor (1680x1050) is not listed at all. All other kinds of weird resolutions, both higher and lower are listed, but not 1680x1050.

Does anybody know why and if there is a way around it?

I'm using standard MiNT that came preloaded on the CompactFlash-card. The FireBee was delivered recently so all software/firmware should be the latest model.

Regards,
Tord

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4431
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: 1680x1050 resolution not listed

Postby joska » Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:32 am

What does the "Best"-option in Resolutions say?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

tordj
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:04 am

Re: 1680x1050 resolution not listed

Postby tordj » Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:37 pm

Thanks joska for replying. Hopefully you can figure something out from the information below:

The radio buttons for Best and Recommended resolution are both greyed out. The value for best resolution says "0123456789012345678901234" while the greyed out drop-down list for Recommended says "--".

The drop-down box for All resolutions shows a bit over 100 entries with many duplicates, but no entry for 1680x1050.

Also, many resolutions that I do think should work doesn't. I'm not able to get any resolution beyond 1280x800 to work no matter the Hz settings.

Grateful for any hint or advice you can give.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4431
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: 1680x1050 resolution not listed

Postby joska » Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:11 pm

The lack of a "Best" resolution suggests that FireTOS is not able to read the monitor's specifications. In that case it can't calculate the monitor's screenmode and only the FireTOS built-in modes will be available. Maybe the monitor is too old, but if it's a flat panel monitor that's not very likely. It's probably the VGA cable or the DVI->VGA adapter that's the problem.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

tordj
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:04 am

Re: 1680x1050 resolution not listed

Postby tordj » Wed Jan 07, 2015 4:52 am

Thanks Joska, I'll locate another cable and DVI->VGA adapter and try again.

Regards,
Tord

tordj
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:04 am

Re: 1680x1050 resolution not listed

Postby tordj » Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:15 am

Actually, I tried now with a different monitor but the same cable and VGA-DVI converter and it did correctly detect a working best resolution.

So there is no problem with the way the monitor was connected, it is either an issue with the detection software or the monitor. The monitor is an HP w2007v (product number GE253A A), manufactured in April 2007.

It would be nice to get it working, but I'm also quite fine with using the other monitor I have so it isn't something that is necessary to me. But if you do want to investigate the problem further I'll be glad to assist.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4431
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: 1680x1050 resolution not listed

Postby joska » Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:22 am

You should contact Didier directly about this.

http://didierm.pagesperso-orange.fr/firebeee.htm

He's pretty much the only one who can fix problems in FireTOS.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64


Social Media

     

Return to “FireBee”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests