Problems with USB mouse

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], Galvez, Moderator Team

goev
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:56 am
Location: Mandal, Norway
Contact:

Problems with USB mouse

Postby goev » Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:35 am

I've tried to connect a Logitech Wireless USB mouse to my FireBee, and this is what I experienced:

1. When I tried to use the "internal" one, I got no response at boot. FireTos reports nothing in that port. When trying with a memorystick, it is recognized though.

2. When I try to connect to one of the USB ports on the back, the mouse is recognized, however I can only move vertically by moving the mouse horizontally. To move horizontally, I have to press the left mouse button, and then it does move correctly but very irregular.

I understand that there were some issues with USB but this was fixed around new year. Or am I wrong?

I've just booted from a card-reader with a CF-card and an SD-card and it worked just fine from both the "internal" one and the ones in the back.

So, why won't FireTos recognize the mouse when it is connected in the "internal" port, and why does the mouse behave so strange?
Any ideas anyone?

- goev
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FireBee, Falcon AB040, Mega ST, STE, Stacy, ST, Jaguar, Lynx

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby Mathias » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:48 pm

So we are talking about FireTOSs built in USB drivers, not about Davids MiNT USB right?

Which FireTOS are you using. Last time I tried it im February, was with the latest official TOS from early December and early January. I got no problems with various mouses (Microsoft, Logitech, etc). I even could use MegaSTE mouse and USB mouse at the same time!

Maybe you found a bug with a newer TOS?
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby joska » Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:15 pm

Mathias wrote:Maybe you found a bug with a newer TOS?


I have the exact same problem as Geir. USB mouse has never worked with FireTOS. USB storage devices work, but not 100% reliably.
Jo Even

Firebee - Milan060 - Falcon040 - Falcon030 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4004
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby Dal » Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:52 am

I have used my belkin USB mouse without problems so far plugged into the ports on the 'rear' of the FB. I'll try some more as I get time though.
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby Orion_ » Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:52 pm

I bought a cheap USB optical mouse just for my Firebee, and it doesn't work, I have the same problem under FireTOS, the cursor move almost only vertically, and in a very random manner, I can't use left or right click.
The mouse works great on my PC Windows 7, so it's not the mouse having a problem...
The mouse: http://www.apmfrance.com/en/accessoires ... 11256.html
Referenced as "USB OPTICAL MOUSE" by FireTOS at boot

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby joska » Thu Nov 26, 2015 6:22 pm

FireTOS only works with mice and keyboards that supports the USB HID boot-protocol. FireTOS will recognize the mouse as a HID device even if it doesn't support boot-protocol, but it won't be able to use the mouse properly.
Jo Even

Firebee - Milan060 - Falcon040 - Falcon030 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby Orion_ » Thu Nov 26, 2015 7:10 pm

how to know if a mouse support the HID boot protocol ?
When I plug this mouse in Windows 7, it says HID Mouse

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby joska » Thu Nov 26, 2015 7:27 pm

I don't know how to check if a mouse supports HID boot mode. But if it doesn't work with your Firebee is probably doesn't... I've had no success with wireless mice on my Firebee. Seems like virtually all keyboards supports HID boot, but many mice doesn't.
Jo Even

Firebee - Milan060 - Falcon040 - Falcon030 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Galvez
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby Galvez » Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:58 am

Orion_ wrote:how to know if a mouse support the HID boot protocol ?
When I plug this mouse in Windows 7, it says HID Mouse


Under Linux "lsusb -v" will give you this information (see below bInterfaceSubClass).
Google says that there is some lsusb command that can be installed in Windows too.

Code: Select all

Bus 007 Device 011: ID 046d:c501 Logitech, Inc. Cordless Mouse Receiver
Device Descriptor:
  bLength                18
  bDescriptorType         1
  bcdUSB               1.10
  bDeviceClass            0 (Defined at Interface level)
  bDeviceSubClass         0
  bDeviceProtocol         0
  bMaxPacketSize0         8
  idVendor           0x046d Logitech, Inc.
  idProduct          0xc501 Cordless Mouse Receiver
  bcdDevice            9.10
  iManufacturer           1 Logitech
  iProduct                2 USB Receiver
  iSerial                 0
  bNumConfigurations      1
  Configuration Descriptor:
    bLength                 9
    bDescriptorType         2
    wTotalLength           34
    bNumInterfaces          1
    bConfigurationValue     1
    iConfiguration          0
    bmAttributes         0xa0
      (Bus Powered)
      Remote Wakeup
    MaxPower               50mA
    Interface Descriptor:
      bLength                 9
      bDescriptorType         4
      bInterfaceNumber        0
      bAlternateSetting       0
      bNumEndpoints           1
      bInterfaceClass         3 Human Interface Device
      bInterfaceSubClass      1 Boot Interface Subclass
      bInterfaceProtocol      2 Mouse
      iInterface              0
        HID Device Descriptor:
          bLength                 9
          bDescriptorType        33
          bcdHID               1.10
          bCountryCode            0 Not supported
          bNumDescriptors         1
          bDescriptorType        34 Report
          wDescriptorLength      82
         Report Descriptors:

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby Orion_ » Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:58 pm

I'm so pissed off !
I bought another mouse, and it was written on the box "compatible with PS/2 USB adapter", as this is an old standard I thought it would be compatible with Firebee too.
and it's not ! again, the cursor is behaving randomly ... 2 mouse bought, 2 incompatible, this is so annoying :x

Edit: I just saw that there is a PS/2 port on the Firebee, I need to find one of those PS/2 USB adapter now ..

vido
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby vido » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:13 pm

Here you have the list of some working mouses:
viewtopic.php?f=92&t=24582&p=264658&hilit=working+mouse+firebee#p264658

I also can send you my USB mouse as I dont need it.
I just need address where to send?

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby joska » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:43 pm

Orion_ wrote:Edit: I just saw that there is a PS/2 port on the Firebee, I need to find one of those PS/2 USB adapter now ..


Don't bother, the PS/2 port on the Firebee is not operational yet.
Jo Even

Firebee - Milan060 - Falcon040 - Falcon030 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby Orion_ » Tue Dec 01, 2015 4:30 pm

What a joke >_<
Last edited by Orion_ on Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:03 am, edited 2 times in total.

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2937
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby joska » Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:04 pm

I'm sure that all the people who has donated hundreds of hours of their spare time appreciates that comment.
Jo Even

Firebee - Milan060 - Falcon040 - Falcon030 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problems with USB mouse

Postby Orion_ » Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:41 pm

at least the recent fpga & pic development is encouraging


Social Media

     

Return to “FireBee”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest