Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
Shou
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:32 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Contact:

Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Shou » Sun Aug 28, 2011 1:11 am

I'm an ST noob so please be gentle. I have a Mega STe w/ 4MB RAM and would like to know what the ideal game setup for it would be. I have no interest in any apps except games.

Thus far, the majority of commercial ST games I have do not run on the machine and throw the 4 bombs error on boot or the 2 bombs error during bootup.
In fact, only the STe only games like Substation and Obsession & Targhan (re-release) have worked so far. Games like Xenon 1 and Wanted all throw errors.

If anyone could recommend which TOS versions I should have installed or on disk and any helper programs to trick the machine into thinking it's an old 512k ST, etc, I'd really appreciate your input.
WTB: Mega STE Box & Manuals
Become history

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3978
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Dal » Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:58 am

The Mega STE isn't the most game-compatible of the ST range. That said, all is not lost. Most (all?) Sierra games should run with no problem on a MSTE and, if you have some kind ofmass storage device on your MSTE (hard disk or ultrasatan), there are archives of patched games that will run on MSTE.

See Dbug's archive here (Go to the 'Patches' tab)

and

See PPera's archive here
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby dma » Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:56 am

Nice to see a Mega-STe user from Japan! :)

But indeed this system isn't the most compatible ST machine.
Get patched games versions on the websites that Dal linked, these will work perfectly on your system (and you will even be able to try those with CPU switched at 16mhz, great for slow 3D games at 8mhz).

User avatar
Shou
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:32 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Shou » Sat Sep 03, 2011 4:37 am

Thanks for the advice.

I do have an UltraSatan but I have not installed it. Do I just put the patched games on the SD card?

Are patched games the best way to go? Is there no way to use my original disks?

I am not sure what OS is installed as I bought it from Germany and the settings are in German. Should I install a new TOS?

Sorry for all of my newbie questions. I have not met or heard of another ST user in Japan...
WTB: Mega STE Box & Manuals
Become history

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4640
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:36 am

Try booting an old TOS (1.0) from disk. On my normal 1040STE it happens to increase compatibility for original games.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2424
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby alexh » Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:29 am

Dal wrote:The Mega STE isn't the most game-compatible of the ST range. That said, all is not lost.

?? My MegaSTe will run practically anything you throw at it. In the standard 8MHz mode it is for all intents and purposes an STe isn't it?

The only incompatibilities I've come across are present on my TOS 2.06 STe also.

If your MegaSTe has TOS2.05 or 2.06 (I think most MegaSTe's have those two versions) I *think* you can switch to English using the menu.

User avatar
Official Ninja
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:37 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Official Ninja » Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:21 pm

Interesting thread. I am considering paying a good amount of money for a Mega STe from Best Electronics. NTSC as I'm in the USA.
I will only use it to play games. I am interested in it because of the 16Mhz speed and the fact it can drop back to 8Mhz when needed.
It has a hard drive and just look plain awesome. :)

Lets say I sit down to play a few of my favorites. Anyone know if these games would run on a Mega STe with an troubles?
Gauntlet, Gauntlet 2, Super Space Invaders, Stormlord, Crapman, Pac-Mania, Golden Axe, Ghost and Goblins....

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Klapauzius » Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:36 pm

As alexh already said, the MegaSTE isn't such a bad choice if you're into gaming.

On a clean boot, it will behave almost 100% like an 8MHz STE as regards the hardware.
Only caveat is the newer 2.x TOS version on the MegaSTE. Some original games (and 'classic' cracks) will not work because of that.

Better do like Dal suggests and get fixed versions from the sites mentioned above.
If memory serves, most of the games you mention exist in patched versions and will also allow you to take advantage of the 16MHz CPU speed and the hard disk on your MegaSTE. :)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Klapauzius » Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:44 pm

alexh wrote:If your MegaSTe has TOS2.05 or 2.06 (I think most MegaSTe's have those two versions) I *think* you can switch to English using the menu.

No, unfortunately not.
Language selection was only available in Falcon TOSes (4.x).
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
Shou
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:32 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Shou » Sun May 20, 2012 3:14 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:Try booting an old TOS (1.0) from disk. On my normal 1040STE it happens to increase compatibility for original games.


Will TOS 1.0 work with a Mega STe or should I download a specific version of 1.0?

Is TOS available to buy anywhere?
WTB: Mega STE Box & Manuals
Become history

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4640
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun May 20, 2012 3:43 pm

TOS 1.0 is not available in specific versions for any hardware. Pick German, French, English localization, whatever suits you. Normal versions come as ROM images which will not work in a MSTE. You will need a little utility which can create a bootable floppy from them.

AFAIK no ST-class TOS is anywhere for official sale, maybe you can find a used TOS bootdisk.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
Shou
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:32 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Shou » Mon May 21, 2012 6:03 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:TOS 1.0 is not available in specific versions for any hardware. Pick German, French, English localization, whatever suits you. Normal versions come as ROM images which will not work in a MSTE. You will need a little utility which can create a bootable floppy from them.

AFAIK no ST-class TOS is anywhere for official sale, maybe you can find a used TOS bootdisk.



Is TOS 1.0 reocmmended over say 1.04, etc?

IS there anyone who can provide it on a floppy? Also, would like to upgrade my German TOS to English 2.6. Is the only way to do this is by downloading an image and copying to a floppy?
WTB: Mega STE Box & Manuals
Become history

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11144
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby wongck » Mon May 21, 2012 11:43 am

May be this url will help you.
http://www.8bitchip.info/atari/tosload.htm
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4640
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon May 21, 2012 4:17 pm

If you downgrade, go for the most compatible TOS which is 1.0. TOS 1.04 will have the same compatibility problems with the older games which already won't work with TOS 2.x or even 1.6x

For the upgrade to TOS 2.06 US or UK version, you will probably simply need to get the correct ROM set and install it.

For TOS 1.0 on floppy, I have attached the US version as a MSA disk image. You only need to find a way to put this on floppy and then you should be able to boot this disk to the old green desktop. After the TOS has been loaded into RAM, you can simply insert the problematic game disk and use the reset button.

The TOS in RAM will be lost most of the time if you reset the loaded game because the games might overwrite some data structures in RAM. In that case, you will have to reboot with the disk.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
calimero
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1646
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby calimero » Mon May 21, 2012 8:56 pm

Here you can find all versions of TOS

http://www.avtandil.narod.ru/tose.html
http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
leech
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby leech » Thu Jun 30, 2016 8:23 pm

My first ST was the Mega STe, and we had a floppy disk that would load TOS 1.04 for backward compatibility. I'm almost 100% sure you can't actually downgrade the TOS in the system, and realistically you want to be running TOS 2.06 (you can easily tell if you boot up and there is an Atari logo pop up with a memory test, 2.05 does not have this).

Also, depending on if you have a PAL vs NTSC one, you may find that you need a 50/60hz switcher boot disk for some games. This should give you almost 100% compatibility. There weren't that many games I couldn't run when I was younger. And for those, I'm guessing that the patched versions would work.

And as mentioned before, the Sierra games will work, but that's because they're GEM based ones, a few other GEM based ones I can think of that should work without issues are the Phantasie ports and the Ultima games (though for the ST they only made 2-6). By the way, since you have 4mb of ram, an awesome thing I did when I got that much was to create a 2mb ram disk and copy all of Ultima 6 into it, and play it from RAM! Load times were almost non-existent.

Edit: Let me know how it goes, I'm rebuilding my Mega STe setup myself. I've got the UltraSatan hooked up, just needing to figure out how to get the second SD card to format so I can just copy things to it from my Linux box, rather than having to get networking or something working to move things to it.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1313
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Eero Tamminen » Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:01 pm

Btw. I don't think TOS 1.0 should be used with hard disk, it has quite a few bugs in HD handling.

User avatar
Atari030
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Atari030 » Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:40 pm

I've run real floppies off my MegaSTE's for years and always had a pretty good success rate. I found TOS 2.06 compatibility was the biggest killer, but most still ran. I have some drama running PP's games off my Link attached SCSI drive but anything natively HD installable will fire up no problem.

If you have an external HDD it pays to bypass or switch it off when you run floppy games.

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2846
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby joska » Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:45 am

Atari030 wrote:I found TOS 2.06 compatibility was the biggest killer, but most still ran.


One solution would be to use something like Alan's MonSTer-card for the Mega STE. In addition to IDE and RAM it also has flash-ROM with up to four different TOS-versions. So you can have both 2.06, 1.06 and 1.04 installed at the same time.
Jo Even

Firebee - Milan060 - Falcon040 - Falcon030 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

emcclariion
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby emcclariion » Fri Jul 01, 2016 8:07 am

I have a Mega STE and 95% of the patched games work.

its a great gaming machine as the extra CPU Speed does help a little.
Mega STE 4MB and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

User avatar
Atari030
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Atari030 » Fri Jul 01, 2016 12:44 pm

My problem is the original Link I am running on the MegaSTE, not PP's software. I run some of it on my TT and Falcons quite happily. I found the Link to be fussy as hell with HD drivers and disks, once it was running (using ICD's driver) I preferred not to tweak it much.

Joska, I have a ton of things I'd like to add but with so many Atari's it can get a little cost prohibitive. Slowly. :-) I found very few games won't run from floppy that I play, so even thought TOS may be the biggest hurdle, it wasn't much of an issue. I can always hook up an STE or STFM if I get really desperate. ;-)

emcclariion
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby emcclariion » Fri Jul 01, 2016 2:39 pm

ICD is a pig with those games, I run a cut down driver, but its not PP driver.

This it was created by a hacking crew.
Mega STE 4MB and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

User avatar
Atari030
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Ideal Gaming Environment for Mega STe

Postby Atari030 » Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:06 am

That is what I figured, unfortunately HDDriver won't detect the drive and I don't think PP does a SCSI driver. I'm just grateful it boots. ;-)

Do you happen to have a copy of the driver to hand?


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest