Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Discuss your favourite artists, styles, art packages and much more in this section

Moderator: Moderator Team

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Tue May 09, 2017 8:12 am

Hello!

On my Atari ST, I use DEGAS Elite to create graphics. Now, I was wondering if it'd be possible to 'insert' a picture from elsewhere, there.
Like how when working in Paint.NET, I might want to copy and paste an image from the internet... that isn't possible on Atari ST, however.
But can I somehow make an image that I can open in DEGAS Elite from my pc?
I've got diskettes, a Windows 10 pc, and an Atari STE. If you've got any clue, please share! I'd love to be able to insert some graphics from elsewhere, as replicating them pixel by pixel would be a huge undertaking.
I get that I'll also have to stay to a specific colour palette, but that's fine, as long as I can get it to work. :)

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1432
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby troed » Tue May 09, 2017 2:08 pm

https://github.com/troed/PNGconv

java -jar PNGconv.jar input.png output.pi1 low

(Writing from memory - plz check against readme)

/Troed

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby Orion_ » Tue May 09, 2017 2:28 pm

In the "tools" section of my Atari page (bottom of the page) http://onorisoft.free.fr/atari/atari.htm
you can find a set of plugin for Photoshop (or compatible, like XNview, paint shop pro) that can export to different Atari image format (PI1, PC1, PI9, NEO)
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Tue May 09, 2017 4:09 pm

troed wrote:https://github.com/troed/PNGconv

java -jar PNGconv.jar input.png output.pi1 low

(Writing from memory - plz check against readme)

/Troed

Thanks!
I'll try that, although I haven't got too much experience with running stuff like that, but it should be fairly straight-forward.
Orion_ wrote:In the "tools" section of my Atari page (bottom of the page) http://onorisoft.free.fr/atari/atari.htm
you can find a set of plugin for Photoshop (or compatible, like XNview, paint shop pro) that can export to different Atari image format (PI1, PC1, PI9, NEO)

Thanks!
I thought I could write that off right away, as I haven't got Photoshop, but by Googling it seems like it is possible to use some Photoshop plugins in GIMP, through another plugin. I might try that as well. :)

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Sun May 21, 2017 3:44 pm

troed wrote:https://github.com/troed/PNGconv

java -jar PNGconv.jar input.png output.pi1 low

(Writing from memory - plz check against readme)

/Troed

What you say is what the readme says, however, I can't find 'PNGconv.jar' in the downloaded folder. Would you know what I should do?

User avatar
dma
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby dma » Sun May 21, 2017 4:10 pm

You can get the .jar from the releases page: https://github.com/troed/PNGconv/releases

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Sun May 21, 2017 4:12 pm

dma wrote:You can get the .jar from the releases page: https://github.com/troed/PNGconv/releases

Ah, thanks. I'm not very familiar with GitHub.

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Sun May 21, 2017 4:18 pm

dma wrote:You can get the .jar from the releases page: https://github.com/troed/PNGconv/releases

I can't download it, Windows Defender blocks it. :/ I've looked online, and there seems to be an option to make an exception for files, but then you need to select a file, but I can't select it as I haven't downloaded it yet.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1432
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby troed » Sun May 21, 2017 5:04 pm

Also I was wrong, you need the add "-header" (without quotation marks) at the end of the command line as well for it to be Degas compatible.

Regarding Windows Defender, sorry I can't help. Currently on a road trip, otherwise I would've zipped a copy for you.

/Troed

MM41
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby MM41 » Sun May 21, 2017 5:23 pm

Try Degas Elite XL http://www.ataritools.fr.gd/

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1432
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby troed » Mon May 22, 2017 6:14 am

Here's a link to a zipped copy of the jar, if that helps with Windows Defender: https://troed.ddns.net/f/680d587c83/?dl=1

/Troed

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Fri May 26, 2017 5:16 pm

It worked!
Thanks, guys!
As I had expected, I was having some problems at first, but my troubleshooting went flawlessly! How delightful! :D

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5024
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat May 27, 2017 9:34 am

Grafx2 can import and export most basic ST file formats such as PI1, PC1 and NEO.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2494
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby spiny » Sat May 27, 2017 10:16 am

xnview can save in Degas PI1 format

1: create a pic in your preferred art package on PC
2: save as GIF, 16 colours, 320x200
3: open in xnview, 'save as' PI1
4: copy to ST using floppy, PARCP, network, etc
5: open in Degas, or Neochrome :)

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:58 am

spiny wrote:3: open in xnview, 'save as' PI1

I can't find PI1. :( It goes from PGF to PIC.

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby xc8 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:49 pm

This will solve it:

Options-> General -> Display All Image Filetypes

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:20 pm

xc8 wrote:This will solve it:

Options-> General -> Display All Image Filetypes

This isn't an option for me. I only see a list of filetypes to save as, and all are selected. I've got XNViewMP, is that the right program?
Otherwise I'll simply try to use the commandline program again, as that worked out last time. :)

User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby BoNuS » Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:56 pm

Take a look at
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GrafX2

http://grafx2.chez.com/index.php?static3/downloads
(choose windows stable version)

I use it as an interface between my ST and PC. Also works great if you are used to the old skool drawing programs...
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
2 x Falcon 030 - a mint Atari TT - Mega STE - 2x STE - 1x Mega 2 - 2x STFM - 1 x STF - 3x SC1224 - 2x SM124 - 1x SM125 2x Portofolio+interface
- 3x 1435 monitor - 1 x Ult.Ripper cardridge - Mega 1,2,and 4 ( just to much Atari stuff)

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby xc8 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 5:03 pm

607 wrote:
xc8 wrote:This will solve it:

Options-> General -> Display All Image Filetypes

This isn't an option for me. I only see a list of filetypes to save as, and all are selected. I've got XNViewMP, is that the right program?
Otherwise I'll simply try to use the commandline program again, as that worked out last time. :)


Well that was the option of Xnview / windoze version (tested under WINE).
On my XnViewMP (linux) the option is :
Settings >> General >> Show All Graphic formats

Then you can open PC*/PI* and Save as PI1 too..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

607
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Get images from pc to DEGAS+?

Postby 607 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:58 am

607 wrote:This isn't an option for me. I only see a list of filetypes to save as, and all are selected. I've got XNViewMP, is that the right program?
Otherwise I'll simply try to use the commandline program again, as that worked out last time. :)


Huh, I found it now. It wasn't there when I checked on my laptop... maybe because my laptop's system language is set to Dutch? :confused: Anyway, the option's there now. :P


Social Media

     

Return to “Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests