GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Discuss your favourite artists, styles, art packages and much more in this section

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby saulot » Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:48 pm

Hi, it's a repost, but I thought that this should go here to. I've ported Grafx2 2.2 to Atari Falcon/TT. You can read about it and get it here. :)

Cheers,
Saulot

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby nativ » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:33 pm

Koola!

A 256 Pixel painter for 32 bit Ataris!


:cheers:
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4848
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:41 pm

Nice one!

Curious question, is it just slooow and unusable on a plain Falcon with 14Mb or what is the exact bottle neck? I think, a basic Falcon should be able to run a similar art package. Is this a port of the SDL version?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby nativ » Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:27 pm

I can do testing under a 4MB Falcon! :D

I assume the 14MB requirement is to do with FreeMint?
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2293
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby christos » Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:34 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:Nice one!

Curious question, is it just slooow and unusable on a plain Falcon with 14Mb or what is the exact bottle neck? I think, a basic Falcon should be able to run a similar art package. Is this a port of the SDL version?


It's slow because it uses sdl and sdl needs serious horsepower. I imagine that native packages would be much faster but grafx2 is still being developed.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby saulot » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:46 am

No works under MinT/TOS. It is usable on bare falcon (but fastram and accelerator helps alot), but some operations can be slow (like fx). And yes this is the SDL port, could be faster. Lowering the resolution could help. I've build the version for lower specs machines too (disabled layers).
Yes it could be faster I think if it was rewritten. In this case I think some asynchronous disk writes could help, because program writes alot to hd (backups, undo buffers and so on). Falcon video ram is slow sometimes.
It works very well with ct60, it could be better with radeon support (atm SDL isn't supporting fullscreen on CTPCI radeon) - you know bigger resolutions and more speed.
The cool about it is open project, I will merge my changes to SVN trunk soon so atari port will be official. If anyone can improve/test this program he is welcome. And thats it.

User avatar
bear
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 4:44 pm

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby bear » Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:00 am

At last someone porting Grafx to Atari, thank you saulot!

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4848
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:13 pm

saulot wrote:The cool about it is open project, I will merge my changes to SVN trunk soon so atari port will be official. If anyone can improve/test this program he is welcome. And thats it.


Indeed! Please make your port offical. Besides I think 320x240x8 is ok for most Atari related artwork.

*All thumps up* for your efforts!
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby saulot » Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:04 am

New version is here!

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2190
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby Zorro 2 » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:24 am

Very nice stuff :P
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: GrafX2 2.2 Atari port

Postby saulot » Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:34 am

Hi, I've just released GRAFX2 2.4wip with CTPCI/Radeon support.
http://nokturnal.pl/2011/08/grafx2-2-4w ... on-support.
It's based on my experimental SDL build. Latest drivers are required.


Social Media

     

Return to “Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest