Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:19 pm

I have a Mega STE4. I cannot find any video cards for it, no ethernet and etc without paying too much. I wanted to find a Falcon motherboard and mount it in the Mega STE case but I'm going a different direction now. Aranym.

I would like to install a linux/windows machine on a modern moterboard and mount it in my STE case. I cannot find any instructions anywhere that show you exactly what to install for a linux box that boots directly to Aranym. I found the 3D_Pack that looks great but I need the guidance to get to the point where I can install it.

Do I use Debian, Mandrak, Ubuntu?? etc. Windows xp?

I want a desktop that runs with internet access, cdrom access and can be direct hard drive access as this will all be dedicated to Aranym. I wont be playing a lot of games as I can put Steem or Hatari on my daughters laptop for that.

Can someone guide me from start to finish?

Lannie

PS I saw the youtube video of a guy who put a apple G3 slot loading cdrom in his Mega case and it is slick. I will be going that route.

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby nativ » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:30 pm

hi

look on the aranym site and you should find a link to a bootable CD iso which runs afros(linux layer?) and aranym, freemint and thing. preloaded with Aniplayer plus others!

cheers

i hope the Mega isn't working!

i have a kind of slot dvd running on a real falcon!
;-)
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:47 pm

nativ wrote:hi

look on the aranym site and you should find a link to a bootable CD iso which runs afros(linux layer?) and aranym, freemint and thing. preloaded with Aniplayer plus others!

cheers

i hope the Mega isn't working!

i have a kind of slot dvd running on a real falcon!
;-)



I tried that boot disk but it is quite old compared to the version of aranym they have now. Will it allow you to permenently install it?

The Mega STE works fine when I can get teh scsi controller to work. No vme card so I cannot do anything serious with it.

Lannie

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby nativ » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:55 pm

well at least you get an idea of speed and usability on you Pcee setup!

you could always do a custom 'woody' st style case and save the mega!

I am thinking about recasing an XE to a mini tower complete with multi sio 5.25 and sd. it might be easier to run an a8 emu though! lol
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:56 pm

nativ wrote:well at least you get an idea of speed and usability on you Pcee setup!

you could always do a custom 'woody' st style case and save the mega!

I am thinking about recasing an XE to a mini tower complete with multi sio 5.25 and sd. it might be easier to run an a8 emu though! lol


I saw a guy who put a Falcon motherboard in his Mega STE case and it was very nice. I just cant find any Falcon motherboards. Getting kind of rare.

Lannie

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:58 pm

A susku board or firebee would be cool but the prices are insane. The firebee is so very nice though. Such awesome work for everyone invloved.
Someday when they get it 100% I will save my pennies and get one. :)

Lannie

PS The board I have to put in the Mega case is a dual core 3Ghz machine with 2Gb ram and a 500Gb SATA. Should run Aranym well.

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby nativ » Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:18 pm

3ghz ought 2 do it!
what will happen with the old Mega board?

I wish i could find out some info about fitting a 5.25 ibm drive to the a8 or even the st/falcon! to directly use ye olde floppies! lol!

i am sure you can install from the CD. I am thinking split partition of Ubuntu and Aranym! i need to get Ubutu PpC running too!

cheers
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby wongck » Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:52 pm

lschafroth wrote:PS I saw the youtube video of a guy who put a apple G3 slot loading cdrom in his Mega case and it is slick. I will be going that route.


Yeap, Beetle is waiting for the extra IDE ports on the CTPCI to come alive so that he can use it. But may be he already put it to the Falcon IDE ports.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:30 pm

I tried the AFROS cd and it boots up and runs. There is no networking support and no option to install it permenantly to the system.

Is there a way to transfer it to the computer as a dedicated setup?

Lannie

User avatar
rocket-dog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:13 pm
Location: Great Britain - The Kingdom of Mercia

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby rocket-dog » Sun Apr 17, 2011 8:49 am

You could run Aranym in a VM.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5024
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Apr 17, 2011 9:04 am

rocket-dog wrote:You could run Aranym in a VM.


Aranym already IS a virtual machine :coffe:
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby wongck » Sun Apr 17, 2011 10:53 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:
rocket-dog wrote:You could run Aranym in a VM.


Aranym already IS a virtual machine :coffe:


Yes, my thought exactly.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
MrMaddog
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby MrMaddog » Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:39 am

Yeah I'm interested in something like that as well. It's a pain setting up Aranym to network with Linux and running it all set up in a VM would make it runnable in Windows again.

Right now I'm more interested in running FreeMint as a "modern" OS, maybe someday I can afford a Firebee...

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:35 pm

MrMaddog wrote:Yeah I'm interested in something like that as well. It's a pain setting up Aranym to network with Linux and running it all set up in a VM would make it runnable in Windows again.

Right now I'm more interested in running FreeMint as a "modern" OS, maybe someday I can afford a Firebee...


Thats what I was wanting to do. Make a system I could boot directly to the Atari desktop then play with learning Freemint and etc. There is not a guide anywhere on the net that shows how to build a Aranym system from scratch. All the guides I have found assume you already have the IS installed and none of them cover the steps to make it a auto boot stragith to the desktop.

It would be nice to have a cd like CactiEZ or other disks like it that you put it in, it does the istall, asks you for the networking details and reboot. Done.

Lannie

PS I shelved the Mega STE for now. Back in a box. Without a hard drive I cant do much.

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:24 pm

Its been a while since I tried Aranym. Sold teh STE to someone who could use it.
Has anyoen built a self booting Aranym/linux ISO yet? I would be interested in doing it if there was a goog guide for installing it under linux. Ever guide I have found makes some assumptions and misses a lot of in between steps.

Lannie

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby nativ » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:06 am

I downloaded an 'aranym' afros cd iso that selfboots . . . Maybe a year ago! Links are on the aranym/freemint pages I think!

Cheers
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:26 am

yes, it does not do what I ask. Only a demo. I want it to install directly to a hardrive making that system a permanent Atari.

Lannie

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2361
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lp » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:31 am

The information on aranym is about as bad a MiNT when it comes to setup. :wink:

I wrote this guide:
http://userpages.bright.net/~gfabasic/html/i_emu.htm

It might be helpful in some areas, but I use a Mac. I had some problems with it rendering stuff in the wrong colors and determined the problem was fVDI so I threw it out. Yeah I know it slows it down, but if the screen looks wonky the effect is totally ruined. The setup I describe in the guide is visually slightly slower than my Hades. Yupper, 3.6ghz wasted on Videl emulation, woo-hoo! :lol:

The upside, its pretty much rock solid and all the video problems I had are gone.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:43 am

Installing Aranym seems simple enough ( I only had MS Windoze... booo hisss.... yeah I know, I know).
But making it going directly from power on to windows to Aranym I have not tried.
Here is something to try:
1. On windoze, make it auto-run (put to into startup folder would be easiest, even on a windows 7 it works).
2. Set configuration to full screen, let it take over the display.

have fun trying.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:36 am

I never found a guide to setup the latest atari desktops and programs so I had to give up on the project. The goal was to run aranym and a new modern Atari os but there are no guides on how to do it step by step so I shelved the idea.

Lannie

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12487
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:32 am

lschafroth wrote:I never found a guide to setup the latest atari desktops and programs so I had to give up on the project. The goal was to run aranym and a new modern Atari os but there are no guides on how to do it step by step so I shelved the idea.


Well, you can be the 1st to write such a guide. :wink:

But is it not like setting up something like a real Atari?
A brand new Falcon with a blank hard disk.
Granted that you may have some issue with the floppy because it is logical now, not physical, to setup via the aranym config file.
The hard disk setup should be easy as you can setup a virtual hd via the in-built GUI.

Have you looked at http://aranym.lutece.net/ ?
He has a simple Falcon 030 setup, using ROM. Look at the config file for some ideas.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:23 pm

I found this in the Aranym mailing arhive. An updated AFROS but it panics when using the ETH0 section.

https://lists.bobek.cz/pipermail/cz-bob ... 05028.html

Once I get that to work and figure out how to boot directly to aranym I will start building a new atari from a 1040ST case.

Lannie

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby nativ » Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:36 pm

There was an AFROS live bootable ISO CD image available, perhaps that would help give some clues?
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Build a system that boots directly to Aranym desktop?

Postby lschafroth » Sat Dec 22, 2012 5:01 pm

nativ wrote:There was an AFROS live bootable ISO CD image available, perhaps that would help give some clues?


been there done that. thats where this whole thing started but that iso is so old and outdated. I'm looking for a setup similar to the Firebee so we can all enjoy what the new firebee users are using. The one I have now is the AFROS iso with all the software updated.


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests