STYX DS - Atari ST emulator for Nintendo DS

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

STYX DS - Atari ST emulator for Nintendo DS

Postby Metaluna » Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:13 am

Image

Image

Image

STYXDS is Atari ST emulator programmed by french coder Redbug, the author of Croco DS and PenkoDS.

The very first release 0.1a is able to run most games at 60% speed allowing you to enjoy Xenon 2, Rick Dangerous, David Braben's Virus and many more...



01a features (rough translation from author's website)

-
.ST files support
- sound
- DLDI support

How to :

copy Atari ST TOS and .ST files in the root or /roms/st directories of your card, patch the .nds with DLDI and... that's it! :-)

Tos 1.xx and 2.xx should run ok, but note that I used v1.02. Make sure to rename the file to tos.bin

Don't forget this is an early alpha release. There are many bugs, I'm quite aware of that.


Author's website : http://deadketchup.kyuran.be
File : http://media.kyuran.be/temp/styxds-dldi-v01a.nds
User avatar
Metaluna
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:53 am

Postby Mug UK » Sat Feb 24, 2007 9:31 pm

Interesting development. Seen it on a PSP and the on-screen keyboard was a bit of a mess but I can see how it'd work very well on a DS with the separate screen.

Might be worth investing in a DS after all :)
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10986
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Postby Synt4x_3rr0r » Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:24 pm

Oh cool!
Man now i really have a reason to buy one of those homebrew devices for my DS.
But i gotta ask though, (semi-offtopic) which one should I get? I recently saw the DS-X and it looks like a very good choice, but then I heard that homebrew wasnt that good on it and it only has 512mb memory. :?
Synt4x_3rr0r
Atari User
Atari User
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby frost » Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:18 pm

You may look for a M3 Simply (aka R4) and a Micro SD Card. I have a 1 GB one and it works pretty well.
User avatar
frost
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2002 2:50 am
Location: Pariiiiiis

Postby Metaluna » Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:38 am

Styx DS 0.2a has just been released. It is an entry in the Neoflash 2007 spring contest. The winners are selected after votes from the community, so don't hesitate to vote for this amazing Atari ST emulator

http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php ... 2.new.html

I've just tested a bunch of games so far. The Blues Brothers, Rick Dangerous 2, Xenon, Bob Morane Ocean, Barbarian 2, Goldrunner, Operation Jupiter (aka Hostages), The Sentinel can all be launched and most of them are playable at a decent speed.
:D
Last edited by Metaluna on Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Metaluna
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:53 am

Postby caffeinekid » Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:51 pm

YAY! I've just played OIDS on this and it's just about playable although the lower resolution means it doesn't look anywhere near as nice as on a proper ST. :)
http://www.tcksoft.co.uk <- my remakes site
"Anyone got any Neon Lights menus?" :)
User avatar
caffeinekid
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:24 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Desty » Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:08 pm

Looks pretty nice... it's a pity about the resolution - looks like the scaling algorithm used at the moment is doing an okay job though!
I'd say the emulation speed will be notched up soon enough.
tá'n poc ar buile!
User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1935
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W

Re: STYX DS - Atari ST emulator for Nintendo DS

Postby NikiforosST » Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:19 pm

have anyone try it? now it has second version! but on my DS loads normally but then the screen is going to red color and it stucks there! anyone some idea what is going on ? :oops: :oops: :oops:
NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: STYX DS - Atari ST emulator for Nintendo DS

Postby Mug UK » Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:31 pm

Only just discovered the Speccy emulator with the on-screen keyboard for the DS. Will find some time (ha!) to get this one installed and have a play too.
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10986
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Re: STYX DS - Atari ST emulator for Nintendo DS

Postby bid » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:33 pm

Amazing! I have a SD Card "Adaptor" for my DS.

Does anyone know how to get this up and running?

I think that I have the R4i http://www.r4dscards.com/
Atari 520STe (4MB) from new (",), Atari Mega ST4 (given by customer), Atari Mega STe broken motherboard (with chips missing) and Atari TT030 (2MB now partly working, + some bits I am going to add soon)
Also, see my new blog about my Atari TT Adventures http://atari-bid.blogspot.com/ my company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham

Re: STYX DS - Atari ST emulator for Nintendo DS

Postby Mug UK » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:29 pm

According to the site that announced the v0.1, the TOS images and the .ST disk images need to go into ROMS/ST or in the root of the Micro SD card.

Make sure you rename the TOS file (v1.x & v2.x are supported) to TOS.BIN when it's on the Micro SD card.

Pressing Select allows you to select an .ST image file for 'AutoBooting' purposes. However, almost all my disk images to hand are in .MSA format so I only had a few. Fate - Gates of Dawn seemed to load in OK but very slowly. But then it wouldn't recognise Disk B for some reason.

Tap the Keyboard picture to swap to the mouse input touchscreen and vice versa.
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10986
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Re: STYX DS - Atari ST emulator for Nintendo DS

Postby bid » Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:58 pm

Thanks Mug, this is awsome!!!

I got the R4 card for the DS. ... But I never thought I'd be able to play all my old ST games on there!! (er, plus ones that I was never fortunate to have, lol!!)

This will make playing Xennon so much more pleasurable!! 8)
Atari 520STe (4MB) from new (",), Atari Mega ST4 (given by customer), Atari Mega STe broken motherboard (with chips missing) and Atari TT030 (2MB now partly working, + some bits I am going to add soon)
Also, see my new blog about my Atari TT Adventures http://atari-bid.blogspot.com/ my company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham


Return to Other emulators & tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest