Atari ST to Commodore 1084s monitor

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
calimero
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1647
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Atari ST to Commodore 1084s monitor

Postby calimero » Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:56 pm

hm...

I make composite cable but I did not know that PIN 2 on DIM 13 already carry complete composite signal :/

(I hope to connect RGB lines + H + V sync to get composite video signal and to check if I will get RED color...)

anyway, this composite is quite good - it is not sharp as separate RGB + sync (I would say that difference in sharpens is double!) and there is some small ghosting but it is quite good for games...


now I will need to buy another Commodore monitor for Amiga 500 ;)
http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11147
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari ST to Commodore 1084s monitor

Postby wongck » Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:49 pm

calimero wrote: I did not know that PIN 2 on DIM 13 already carry complete composite signal :/


Not all models do.
Check the AF wiki or the FAQ links at the wiki.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3980
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Atari ST to Commodore 1084s monitor

Postby Dal » Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:06 pm

Any model with a modulator outputs composite on pin 2
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Nui
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:27 pm

Re: Atari ST to Commodore 1084s monitor

Postby Nui » Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:56 pm

Do I need a modulator to connect an ST to a 1084S or does it also work with my STF?

retango
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 9:18 pm

Re: Atari ST to Commodore 1084s monitor

Postby retango » Sun Feb 21, 2016 3:35 pm

Hi!
First of all thanks a lot Anemos for the tip!!
I tried the connection in post 1, and it did not work for me (I might have made some mistake when soldering the cables, so it may still work). However, I tried another connection, and it DID work!!! Atarti 1040 STF to Commodore 1084 S-D2 (with Female DB9 in the monitor). Instead of connecting Atari ST Pin 2 to DB9 Pin 7 (V+H sync composite), I connected Atari ST pin 9 to DB9 Pin 8 (H-Sync) , and Atari ST Pin 12 to DB9 Pin 9 (V-Sync).. And it worked!
In practice, instead of building a new cable (after my failed try), I used an Best Electronics Cable (http://www.best-electronics-ca.com/monadapt.htm) and built a DB15 to DB9 adaptor adaptor with these terminal breakout connectors:
* http://www.ebay.com/itm/DB9-D-SUB-VGA-male-9-Pin-signals-Terminal-Breakout-Plastic-cover-screw-BLACK-/271840227837
* http://www.ebay.com/itm/DB15-VGA-male-6Pin-D-Sub-Connector-3-2-line-Terminal-Board-Plastic-Cover-screw-B-/361270677705

I Connected
DB15 ----> DB9
Red (Pin 1) ----> Pin 3
Green (Pin 2) ----> Pin 4
Blue (Pin 3) ----> Pin 5
H Sync (Pin 13) ----> Pin 8
V Sync (Pin 14) ----> Pin 9
Ground ----> Pins 1,2, Ground

I did not use the resistors mentioned by Anemos, although maybe there are some in the Best Electronics cable..
Thanks again and good luck if anyone is trying this!

walterg74
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: Atari ST to Commodore 1084s monitor

Postby walterg74 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:31 pm

So since someone already revived this, this year...

Having problems with an STf and a 1084S-D2...

Tried an atari/scart + scart to db-9 adapter and nothing. I assume this is because the stf has no video on pin 2 where usually sync is taken from, and seemingly not even just sync.

I tried another cable I had, the famous atari/philips cable. With this one, I get image but it rolls vertically a lot!
Mi tried doing a continuity test to see what pins were connected, and it seems h-sync and v-sync are both connected frlm/to the correct pins, so jot sure why it rolls. Also, pin 2 was connected as well to the c-sync pin of the db-9 (probably to cover all models?).
Could it be that there is *some* signal from pin 2 that is causing issues? Cable connectors are not removable and I don't wanna break it.

Anyone know what it could be and if there's any way to fix before attempting to build a cable on my own from scratch..?


Social Media

     

Return to “Guides”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest