Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby MacFalcon » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:22 pm

Hi there,

I am currently working on an Atari Falcon Game in Omikron Basic 5.

As I have No Manual or book i need some hints to polish the Game...

I want to precalculate Screen before blitting it.

Afaik Omikron Basic >3 has no Screen command

If then how can I blit a Sprite to a copy of my Screen (what was made with bitblt itself)?

How can I Safe Sprites to memory blocks in 5 (at the moment I use Omikron 3.6 for that task).

Would be great if anyone could Help me out!

Best regards,

Chris
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Sat Nov 17, 2018 3:30 pm

I still do not understand your problem. Bitblt without the "screen" function ??

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby MacFalcon » Sat Nov 17, 2018 7:43 pm

I found out how to save the memory blocks :)
bsave "name.dat",memory,5000

But what I want is to bitblt my sprites to a nonvisible screen and after all is set and done I want to blit the invisble screen visible.

Is this possible? And if yes, how?
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Sun Nov 18, 2018 12:21 am

MacFalcon wrote:I found out how to save the memory blocks :)
bsave "name.dat",memory,5000

But what I want is to bitblt my sprites to a nonvisible screen and after all is set and done I want to blit the invisble screen visible.

Is this possible? And if yes, how?


In Omikron Basic, Bitblt can not work from one buffer to another.
Unless this function is implemented in version 5 !?

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:32 am

If this can help you on Bitblt structure in Omikron
BITBLIT.zip

Warning :
Biblt always starts and ends with a word limit.
therefore, for a width of 17 pixels, you will have 8 words per line and 15 bits to hide by planes. - good luck - :angel:

I did not try, but I think Bitblit in Assembler can work from one buffer to another.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:50 am

MacFalcon wrote:...
I want to blit the invisble screen visible.

:?: :?: :?:

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby MacFalcon » Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:44 am

Thanks for the bas. Will look at it later.

It's hard to understand what I mean... I want to write (blit) anything to it's place on an invisible Screen (memory or whatever you want to name it) and when all is written to this "screen" make it visible all at one...

Is this possible?
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:57 pm

Yes, but Omikron will be reduced to "memory_move (b), poke, wpoke and lpoke", you can not use BITBLLIT and SPRIT in this case in Omikron.
You must perform a process of copying your data, taking into account image plans and bit-level operations, if necessary.

Look anyway the file that I sent you, you will see the difficulties that await you to replace BITBLT in Omikron.- In this example, the transfer concerns only the words of which all the bits must be copied! -

Another solution, but it depends on what you do,
Copy everything on the screen with a black color palette ...

What kind of game do you do?

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby lp » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:02 pm

Sounds like he wants off screen bitmaps. Something like NVDI offers. If you don't want to use NVDI then you can use VDI function vro_cpyfm() or Line-A blit directly. You will need OS binding or asm perhaps. They have a lot of parameters.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:34 pm

As I understand it, he saved a part of the image on the screen in a buffer with BITBLT and now wants to display it on a screen buffer not displayed.
and it's not possible in Omikron with Bitblt.

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby MacFalcon » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:38 pm

rockyone wrote:As I understand it, he saved a part of the image on the screen in a buffer with BITBLT and now wants to display it on a screen buffer not displayed.
and it's not possible in Omikron with Bitblt.


Yes, that´s exactly what I wanted.

The game is "breakoutlike", but with some differences. I will hopefully release it for x-mas this year. It´s called "Comnetball" and offers 5 levels "storymode" and an arcade mode.

Currently I finished v 0.99... I have a small teaser here of v 0.6x: https://photos.app.goo.gl/gjFNVQXQipcB19mn9

Best regards and thanks for your help!

Chris
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Sat Dec 01, 2018 8:50 pm

Bravo! I can not wait to play
How did you solve your problems with Bitblt ?
When I can, I avoid the test IF..Then ... Best compilation under Omikron V3.03: Fernergy = max (100, Fenergy)

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby MacFalcon » Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:58 am

To be honest: I didn't really solve it. The way I tried was slow as hell (good for ct60 but too slow on 16 MHz). So I did some compromise. But I like it now.

What would you use instead of If... Then?
The line with fenergy limits IT to 100?

Best regards,

Chris
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:19 am

Yes Fenergy is limited 100
Personally instead of doing: IF Fenergy> 100 THEN Fenergy = 100:
I do: Fenergy = MAX (Fenergy, 100)
The odre in the parenthesis is not important.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:26 am

Which compiler do you use ?

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby MacFalcon » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:29 pm

I use 5.17 Compiler. Latest one I think.
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby rockyone » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:26 pm

Omikron 5, I only have a limited version, and I can not find the 5.17 compiler.
Could you share his files on Atari-Forum

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Omikron Basic 5 blit memory to memory and memory blocks

Postby MacFalcon » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:35 pm

Here: https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... zfTqnyahQl

You are welcome!

If anything is missing let me know!

Best regards,

Chris
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!


Social Media

     

Return to “Other BASIC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests