3D spinning cube in basic ?

Moderators: exxos, simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

3D spinning cube in basic ?

Postby exxos » Sun Dec 27, 2015 10:29 pm

At some point (many moons ago.. in a far distant galaxy far far away) I wrote a simple "flat" spinning square in STOS. I think it was just using sine/cosine to spin in a circle and I just plotted 45deg out and joined the points for the 4 edges of the square. So it would actually spin. Though that is as far as I got.

Actually coding a 3D cube is beyond me, so I wonder if anyone has any ideas how to code one in basic, It can use the VDI routines, which would probably be a advantage long term. I don't want to use lookup tables, it must calculate on the fly, Its a test routine I may ultimately add into Gembench :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 663
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: 3D spinning cube in basic ?

Postby mfro » Mon Dec 28, 2015 8:23 am

This: http://atariforge.org/gf/project/libcmi ... iew=markup should provide you with the basics. Although it's not Basic ;)


Social Media

     

Return to “Other BASIC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests