Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Moderators: exxos, simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby Omikronman » Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:33 pm

I made some turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic 3.6: click me :)

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby exxos » Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:02 am

nice :)

I remember doing things like that on the RM Nimbus machines at school :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Mindthreat
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:39 am
Contact:

Re: Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby Mindthreat » Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:57 pm

That's awesome! :) Glad to see you're still around. This is Clint btw...
"To create the future, you must first embrace the past." - http://cerka.weebly.com

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby Omikronman » Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:58 pm

Hey Clint, long time ago! :)

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby bullis1 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:57 am

#20 is my favourite :)

EDIT: I remember an old MS-DOS program that let you easily generate these, and also do palette cycling on them I think? I can't remember what it was called but my brother and I used it often...
Member of the Atari Legend team

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby farvardin » Sat Jan 31, 2015 1:04 pm

it looks nice. Will you provide the sources of those images?

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Source code

Postby Omikronman » Sat Jan 31, 2015 2:56 pm

Here it is, turtle.zip, 4 K: click me I use the included turtle.bas with ST HIGH res and turtle_3.bas with 640 x 400 in Falcon true color. :wink:

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby farvardin » Sun Feb 01, 2015 2:20 pm

thank you. I've tried to load it into the latest Omikron basic available, 3.01, but it doesn't load everything, some parts of the code are mangled. It seems om basic store the code in binary form, which is rather strange. I found a demo of the om basic 5 on the official website, and I managed to load the code into it, in high resolution.

It seems the 3.6 version is not available anywhere on internet. Given the fact their software in no longer been sold for atari, it's a pity they don't release everything.

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Omikron.Basic

Postby Omikronman » Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:02 pm

As far as I know Berkhan Software has been asked some time ago and they allowed to copy the old Atari Omikron.Basic, also they would publish the source code if they will ever find it somewhere which will never happen I am afraid. So here you get the Omikron.Basic 3.6: OMBAS360.zip (422 K)

To get the source code into the old version of Omikron.Basic just use the new one, mark all lines and save them to a block as an ASCII file. When it asks for the name do not use .asc but .bas instead. Now you can load the .bas file in the old version via the LOAD BLOCK menu. :)

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby farvardin » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:28 pm

thank you very much, it's working with Atari ST emulated in Hatari, in high res (I guess you're altering the code to create all the different images).

For the falcon version, I can't run it in hatari. Which emulator are you using? Or maybe a real one?

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Turtle graphics in Omikron.Basic

Postby Omikronman » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:34 pm

Hello farvardin :)

I am coding and using it in the STemulator Gold. I guess the falcon version will run on a real Falcon as well. Only Hatari itself struggles around with the Omikron.Basic and Falcon TOS. Reason unknown. It´s true, I just modify the code to get all these different images.


Social Media

     

Return to “Other BASIC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests