New game: Imopede

Moderators: exxos, simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:17 pm

The weather is bad in germany these days and so I decided to make something classic for the Atari just for fun. I begun yesterday, so do not expect too much. :wink: https://vimeo.com/84869561

User avatar
MrMaddog
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby MrMaddog » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:59 am

Graphics are old school but the gameplay is unique. I can see myself playing this one... :)

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby bullis1 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:45 pm

Nice concept :D
Member of the Atari Legend team

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:51 pm

This game might still be not quick enough on the ST. To make it quick enough I should do some things different. :?

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby bullis1 » Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:34 pm

What platform have you coded it on then? TT? Hatari?

I have no doubts that you will be able to get it running @ 8mhz :cheers:
Member of the Atari Legend team

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:36 pm

I have coded it in the STemulator Gold. :wink:

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby rockyone » Tue Jan 28, 2014 8:13 am

with which version of the basic plays you

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Tue Jan 28, 2014 8:46 am

Omikron.Basic 3.6. :)

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby rockyone » Tue Jan 28, 2014 8:24 pm

Omikron.Basic 3.6 runs on Ste and Steem ?

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Tue Jan 28, 2014 8:27 pm

Yes, it runs on any ST, STE, TT or Falcon, using NVDI or Blitter chip if present, working with the Afterburner040, running in Hatari, Steem and STemulator.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby rockyone » Tue Jan 28, 2014 9:12 pm

I thought qu'Omikron 3.01 was the last version for Ste
I just browse the web, I can not find version 3.06 for Atari!
Could you send me this version I'd like to see.

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Tue Jan 28, 2014 9:15 pm

You were probably looking for the wrong version number. It is version 3.6, not 3.06. ;) Please PM me your mail address, then I will send it to you asap.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby rockyone » Tue Jan 28, 2014 9:58 pm

thank you,
What resolution fonctionneras this game?

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2064
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby calimero » Tue Jan 28, 2014 9:59 pm

Interesting concept of game. Is it remake??

Btw does OmikronBasic works in 256 colors? Can you blit 256 color graphics?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:16 pm

Imopede is not a remake. It is just classic. It runs in ST HIGH mode.
Omkron.Basic 3.6 works in 256 colors and Falcon true color too. :D
Yes, you can blit 256 color or Falcon true color graphics.
The "Enemy War II" game has been made in Omikron.Basic 3.6

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2064
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby calimero » Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:35 am

Wow!

Did not know that! GFA basic can not bitblt or rc_copy in 256 color mod or tc!

I started programing with OmikronBasic on ST but since everybody used GFA I also moved to GFA. It is time to rethink this decision ;) :)

Is there any converter for GFA > Omikron source code?
And some reference manual? I only have Databecker German IIRC book and my german is pretty bad :D
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Wed Jan 29, 2014 8:17 am

Omikron.Basic can show all commands and how to use it by pressing the HELP key in the interpreter. If this doesn´t help, ask me. I will have a look into the manuals then. :wink:

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby dml » Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:16 pm

Game looks cool - IMO it will benefit from some crazy powerups which clear/magnet-attract/redirect specific, but incomplete patterns of bugs :-)

I hope you keep doing stuff with it and give it some extended life.

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby Omikronman » Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:37 am

Hmm, yes, I think about it. ^^

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby lp » Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:19 pm

calimero wrote:Did not know that! GFA basic can not bitblt or rc_copy in 256 color mod or tc!


RC_COPY internally calls Line-A, thus unlikely to work in any mode over 16 colors. You can blame GFA for not documenting this fact.

BITBLT has three variants. Two variants call the Line-A and again probably won't work for modes over 16 colors. However, if you read the GFA manual carefully one variant calls the VDI. This for sure works in all modes assuming you pass it the correct parameters. :wink:

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2064
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby calimero » Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:43 pm

lp wrote:
calimero wrote:Did not know that! GFA basic can not bitblt or rc_copy in 256 color mod or tc!


RC_COPY internally calls Line-A, thus unlikely to work in any mode over 16 colors. You can blame GFA for not documenting this fact.

BITBLT has three variants. Two variants call the Line-A and again probably won't work for modes over 16 colors. However, if you read the GFA manual carefully one variant calls the VDI. This for sure works in all modes assuming you pass it the correct parameters. :wink:

plz, can you give me one example for bitblt in 256 color mode?
I never manage to make it work :(
I try it with and without nvdi ...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby lp » Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:50 pm

calimero wrote:plz, can you give me one example for bitblt in 256 color mode?
I never manage to make it work :(
I try it with and without nvdi ...


What are you blitting? Part of the screen to another area of the same screen or some off screen image (buffer) to the screen?

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2064
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby calimero » Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:22 pm

lp wrote:
calimero wrote:plz, can you give me one example for bitblt in 256 color mode?
I never manage to make it work :(
I try it with and without nvdi ...


What are you blitting? Part of the screen to another area of the same screen or some off screen image (buffer) to the screen?

first I load graphics to RAM and than bitblt it to screen (video memory).
I also need to bitblt graphics from screen to temporary part of memory and than to bitblt it back to screen.

e.g. (I use RC_COPY for ST resolution) this is part of cursor drawing routine:

Code: Select all

sprite00.screen%=MALLOC(307200)
BLOAD "images\sprite26.bin",sprite00.screen%
xbios.2%=XBIOS(2)
...
VSYNC
RC_COPY sprite00.screen%,114,28,38,74 TO xbios.2%,cursor.x.old%,cursor.y.old%
cursor.x.old%=cursor.x%
cursor.y.old%=cursor.y%
RC_COPY xbios.2%,cursor.x%,cursor.y%,38,74 TO sprite00.screen%,114,28
cursor.shape|=1
ON cursor.shape| GOSUB cursor.draw.shape1,cursor.draw.shape2
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby lp » Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:09 pm

I'll make an example in 256 color mode as my machine is usually in this mode anyway. Let's move it to PM and not dirty up his nice game thread with GFA chatter. I'll PM you when I completed an example using BITBLT in 256 colors.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4859
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: New game: Imopede

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:47 pm

lp wrote:I'll make an example in 256 color mode as my machine is usually in this mode anyway. Let's move it to PM and not dirty up his nice game thread with GFA chatter. I'll PM you when I completed an example using BITBLT in 256 colors.


Would you be so kind and post your results in the GFA section afterwards? This is also of interest for other GFA coders ;)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org


Social Media

     

Return to “Other BASIC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest