C++ Compiler on Atari ?

C and PASCAL (or any other high-level languages) in here please

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard

C++ Compiler on Atari ?

Postby DrCoolZic » Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:46 am

I've been coding in C++ for over 10 years (started with the ATT C++ pre-processor!) and I would like to write C++ code for Atari.

I have used the Lattice C and Pure C compilers on Atari (unfortunately documentation is a problem especially on library content/usage) as both of them seems to implement reasonably well the ANSI C standard. However it is a pain to "think in C" after so many years …

Is there a C++ compiler with libraries and utilities ready to use on Atari? A search on Web seems to indicate that at one point in time gcc was available?

Thanks
Jean

Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator

Postby Mug UK » Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:50 am

It still is available but I think someone with more knowledge of the current ST version of GCC will be able to point you to a download for it.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard

Postby lp » Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:47 am

DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:52 am

This is great not only the C++ compiler but all my old unix friends ...

Just a small complementary question:
From what I know Mint/sparemint are a free equivalent to TOS ?
So all the nice packages for sparemint should work directly on an Atari ST with TOS 1.4?

Thanks
Jean

lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard

Postby lp » Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:18 am