using a gfa procedure compilled to object code ?

GFA BASIC-related articles in here please

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, exxos, Moderator Team

using a gfa procedure compilled to object code ?

Postby charles » Wed May 11, 2011 10:14 pm

well this is my question ,,some codes are to bulky and messy
with all the procedure calls routines data lines etc

thanks to a fellow user i recentily adapted how to use an external asm code in pascal

my next small task is to ask if this can be done in gfa ..which i know it can cause thats written in the compillier manual
says so

but i want to jump ahead and ask if you have a procedure written in gfa editor , and only compille it to the .o file can this in turn be used externally ?????

procedure my proc(a|,b|)
add b|,a|
return

compil to
add.o

then use in new program ?

another test awaits for me ,i feel
charles
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
 
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada

Re: using a gfa procedure compilled to object code ?

Postby Nyh » Wed May 11, 2011 11:45 pm

charles wrote:but i want to jump ahead and ask if you have a procedure written in gfa editor , and only compille it to the .o file can this in turn be used externally ?????

procedure my proc(a|,b|)
add b|,a|
return

compil to
add.o

then use in new program ?

No, it is not possible to compile Gfa procedures into object files and use them in other programs.

Hans Wessels
User avatar
Nyh
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1487
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:25 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: using a gfa procedure compilled to object code ?

Postby charles » Wed May 11, 2011 11:58 pm

so not even use them back in a other gfa source ?

i know if fully compilled to binary
then dissassemble
it would work , but i don't mean that ,,
i mean just the .o file the compiller makes

theres no way to make a xref or declare once in gfa ,
only at link time i believe

charles
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
 
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada

Re: using a gfa procedure compilled to object code ?

Postby wongck » Thu May 12, 2011 1:34 am

I think somewhere in Lonny's website may have some information that you are looking for.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10722
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: using a gfa procedure compilled to object code ?

Postby lp » Thu May 12, 2011 5:35 am

What Nyh said is correct.

You can of course re-use them in GFA apps because internally the .o files already reference GFA structures. I don't see much point in doing that though, because any use of .o files will cause it not to work in the editor anymore.
User avatar
lp
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1754
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: My desk


Return to GFA BASIC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests