Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

All 680x0 related coding posts in this section please.

Moderators: exxos, simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby leech » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:07 pm

Yes, I attached them as the current manual (version 5) on the site shows. http://hencox.gildaelectronics.se/homep ... manual.pdf

I was able to play some other games, like Worms and Alice's Mom's Rescue without graphical issues.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby leech » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:12 pm

mikro wrote:Hmm, did anyone else notice the unstable the HUD is on CT60? It's literally flashing even though it's perfect in 030 mode (even the same binary - ctbmct6.ttp).


I also had this issue (see above posting) did you also have the VIDEL clock sync set up? That is if you have the SuperVidel connected.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby dml » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:25 pm

leech wrote:By the way, I sort of want to do a comparison between the music output by the Falcon and various other systems, I'm pretty sure it has the best Doom music I've ever heard.


:cheers:

It was one of the longer parts of the whole project... getting the sound right.

BTW music cheats...

type 'idmusXX' where XX=number from 11 to 64 (or some fairly high number). this lets you change the music at will.

leech wrote:If I read that correctly, there is even a way to output the music to a MIDI keyboard? (I have one laying around, I need to hook it up to test some of the other games that support it too! I think I did it for King's Quest at one point and the music was phenomenal)


Yes alongside the F030 software Codec device there's also a hardware MIDI device - the latter being handled by Saulot's library. It will output MIDI direct to a keyboard or synth. You can change this via the config file. The MIDI device uses less CPU too.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1563
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Eero Tamminen » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:20 pm

dml wrote:
leech wrote:The 060 build hasn't been properly tested so it is flaky - I can't really do much with it until I set up my own and I don't have time for it yet. I will get around to it at some point though. I can probably rebuild the 060 version to fix the flickery HUD but the crashes won't be resolved without debugging it locally here. So for now 060 support is just W.I.P.


Hatari's Mercurial version has had quite noticeable 040 & 060 improvements recently, as Nicolas has been synching Toni's WinUAE CPU core work. It should now have data cache emulation with optional MMU support also for 040 & 060, not just 030. And 030 mode is now supposed to support both cache & MMU emulation at the same time (earlier it emulated either of them not both at the same time).

I haven't yet tried that, but I'm planning on checking it with BM soonish.

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby leech » Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:03 pm

Would be cool to get SuperVidel support in Hatari. Not sure how possible that is (I assume it'd require some of the code that went into SV, and I'm not sure how they'd feel about that or not).

In the 8bit world, VBXE emulation was implemented into the Altirra emulator. It seems to support all the awesome hardware upgrades out there.

I'll try to make a video tonight of both the MIDI keyboard music and the weird HUD issue.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Atari030 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:26 pm

dml wrote:
cawley1 wrote:Firstly, I am downloading everything on a PC, unzipping it there and transferring to the Falcon via USB Parcp. I have ensured I have DOOMU.WAD and it's the correct filesize (12,408,292) when checking in Windows. I am using Bad Mood v0.37.


Do you also have the other files present? BMT1.WAD and the three shpp* files?

If it can't locate PNAMES its having trouble reading one of the WADs. This would normally mean a corrupt WAD. However if you transferred it with PARCP (and CRCs enabled!) that would leave the disk device or driver software in question :-/ or the way the disk is formatted perhaps.

cawley1 wrote:I then downloaded the BMC zipfile in this thread, hoping that removing the need to set the WAD file up would resolve the issue, but it has not. It still crashes at the same point, with the same error.


It does sound to me like there is a problem reading or writing large files.

cawley1 wrote:My NVRAM needs changing and it's running in 60hz, not that I would imagine that matters.


I have the same problem with my Falcon and it doesn't get in the way.

It might be good to locate a hashing/checksumming program (e.g. MD5) which works at both ends to compare results. This would tell you if the WAD files are intact after transfer/writing, without transferring them back again.


It seems I have the same problem on my 4.01/14MB/8GCF Falcon. Not just badmood but PM Doom too. It does look like the WAD's are the root of the problem. My CT2 Falcon works fine with the same files (albeit off a 20G 3.5" IDE HDD). I tried a few variations on disk drivers but no joy. It might be time to upgrade from HDDriver 7, I think. I won't give up just yet and I might try another CF card with different partitioning.

Fletch
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:11 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Fletch » Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:26 pm

I am having issues getting midi music working on my MT32. I have set the mid_replay_mode to 2. midi_device_type to 0 (also tried 1). midi_channel to 2 (the MT-32 default).

During the boot up sequence the MT-32 flashes but no audio is played.

Any suggestions?

-Pete

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby dml » Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:16 pm

Not sure if anyone has tried HW MIDI since I built v0.37 so I'll try to test it next chance I get with the Falcon set up - in case something is wrong there. It did work ok in v0.36.

Meanwhile if anyone else has success with it I'd like to know.

Fletch
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:11 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Fletch » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:27 pm

dml wrote:Not sure if anyone has tried HW MIDI since I built v0.37 so I'll try to test it next chance I get with the Falcon set up - in case something is wrong there. It did work ok in v0.36.

Meanwhile if anyone else has success with it I'd like to know.



Thanks Doug. I am attending an Atari Party this weekend and was trying to get that working for the show. No big deal, the built in playback will do just fine.

Awesome work on this.

-Pete

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby dml » Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:37 pm

I had a look and the MIDI support does seem to be broken. Can't get it to work at all on my Falcon. It also causes my copy of Hatari to crash. Will probably need to go back a bunch of revisions to see where it last worked and figure out what happened. Might just be breakage from gcc6 compiler upgrade.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1563
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Sep 12, 2017 7:43 pm

I tested the latest version from here with latest Hatari:
http://www.leonik.net/dml/sec_bm.py

Some observations:
* Normal Falcon version (bm030 & bm030s) starts now with Mercurial version of Hatari when MMU is enabled, but screen isn't updated properly
* Strict DSP sync version (bm030a), gets into problems earlier, nearly immediately after sound starts
* bmct6.ttp: 68060 unimplemented opcode 4C43, PC=000834f4 -> seems to be real BM bug, DIVS doesn't have HW support in 060?
* bmct2*.ttp: crash very early on BM startup
* bmhat.ttp works fine, but statusbar doesn't show, even with natfeats enabled, either with v0.37 or v0.36. I need to go back to ~Jan 2016 version to get Statusbar
* Otherwise still as amazing as I remembered :-)

It would be nice to get statusbar working again with Hatari. I guess the screen update issue with MMU are Hatari problem, real Falcon doesn't have problems like that?

I took a look at the READMEs, and noticed few omissions:
* Hatari as one of the tested systems
* Free/mouselook feature that wasn't in original Doom
* Changelog doesn't list what was added in v0.37

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby mikro » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:31 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:bmct6.ttp: 68060 unimplemented opcode 4C43, PC=000834f4 -> seems to be real BM bug, DIVS doesn't have HW support in 060?

Although CT60 TOS contains an exception handler for unimplemented instructions, this shouldn't be present in an 060 build, agreed. -m68020-60 doesn't generate unimplemented integer instructions like DIV{S,U}.L <ea>,Dr:Dq so perhaps a wrong compilation flag was used.

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby dml » Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:01 pm

mikro wrote:Although CT60 TOS contains an exception handler for unimplemented instructions, this shouldn't be present in an 060 build, agreed. -m68020-60 doesn't generate unimplemented integer instructions like DIV{S,U}.L <ea>,Dr:Dq so perhaps a wrong compilation flag was used.


A big part of the project is assembly language - it was written for 030 (with long muls and divs), so the 060 has to emulate it. There isn't really an 060-specific build, just a version which is made more compatible with it (mainly dsp timing, mmu etc).

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby dml » Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:04 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:I tested the latest version from here with latest Hatari:
http://www.leonik.net/dml/sec_bm.py


Thanks Eero - I'll look at the hud thing next time I build it. Something funny with the new ELF/GCC makefile I think.

BTW I wanted to ask you about Hatari symbol loading direct from the Atari binary - as it has trouble with the new binaries - I can't use the NM route anymore because the symbols direct from ELF have different offsets from those in the final TTP. So it would be good to figure out if its a problem with our symbol table generation or a problem with Hatari symbol reading. You might be able to tell whats going on there.

diamondspringwater
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Kingman, AZ, USA

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby diamondspringwater » Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:18 am

Is it possible to link 2 falcons and do a co-op game of doom?

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby leech » Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:23 am

IPX for the win?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

diamondspringwater
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Kingman, AZ, USA

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby diamondspringwater » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:37 pm

How about through the midi ports like midimaze, using something like powernet.

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby dml » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:47 pm

There's no network support in BM currently. There could be, but no work was done on it. Also it would probably only work Falcon-to-Falcon and some of the patches would need to be bypassed or undone to keep the game worlds in sync.

Midi port could probably work though as a sort of IPX hack.

User avatar
Ragstaff
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Ragstaff » Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:55 am

How about a bot to play against? :p

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Atari030 » Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:19 am

NetusBee or Ethernec network support would be pretty cool too. Not that you haven't done enough already, Doug. ;-)

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby dml » Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:09 am

Quick update - we figured out what went wrong with the MIDI replay and the ongoing problems with BMC update pass getting stuck on some (missing!) textures. Those things are all fixed now so v0.38 zips will be along soon.

User avatar
Ragstaff
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Ragstaff » Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:16 am

Yes, I hope my "tongue out" emoticon wasn't missed. BadMood is, as it is, far more than Falcon users could have wished for a few short years ago

User avatar
Trixster
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Trixster » Mon Sep 18, 2017 5:52 pm

dml wrote:
BTW music cheats...

type 'idmusXX' where XX=number from 11 to 64 (or some fairly high number). this lets you change the music at will.



I only just noticed this! Where do you type this in exactly?
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express | A3000/060
A4000/060 Cyberstorm Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + Sonnet G3 400Mhz PPC + Deneb | Saturn | PS1 | PS2
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | SNES | C64 | 3DO | CPC6128

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1563
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:36 pm

dml wrote:BTW I wanted to ask you about Hatari symbol loading direct from the Atari binary - as it has trouble with the new binaries - I can't use the NM route anymore because the symbols direct from ELF have different offsets from those in the final TTP. So it would be good to figure out if its a problem with our symbol table generation or a problem with Hatari symbol reading. You might be able to tell whats going on there.


Hatari supports only DRI/GST binary symbol tables. You can test them by using Hatari's external symbol handling program, it works exactly like Hatari debugger "symbols" command.

Here's the symbol table reading:
https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... cii.c#l205

And here code for checking the binary sections:
https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... cii.c#l411

For large programs (e.g. one's with code ported from other OSes), NM route is superior to using DRI/GST symbols from program itself because:
* latter has limits on symbol length
* DRI/GST symbol tables normally lack a lot of symbols that are in NM output (static function/variables?)
* with external symbols file, unwanted symbols can be filtered out (for profiler)

Btw. Is CT60 TOS available somewhere, or some program that would add missing 060 opcodes emulation on top of TOS v4? I'd like to test BM "060" version with Hatari 060 emulation.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1563
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:39 pm

And of course I'm waiting eagerly for v0.38 with the MIDI & Hatari statusbar fixes! :-)


Social Media

     

Return to “680x0”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests