Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.2.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

Postby calimero » Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:39 am

Hi,
someone mention that Hatari can be used to read/write harddisc (in my case CF card) formated and used on real Atari (in my case Falcon and CF card is formated with HDDriver with TOS compatibility only).

I am reading Hatari documentation but can not find how to do this! (As far as I read, one can use only Image files on host system; beside Gemdos drive emulation).

Can someone explain how to read Atari formated CF card connected via USB card reader on Mac using Hatari?

Thanks!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4492
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

Postby joska » Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:52 am

I'm not familiar with modern Macs, but on Linux you would simply use the *unmounted* device (e.g. /dev/sdd) instead of a disk image.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

Postby calimero » Tue Oct 22, 2019 9:08 pm

joska wrote:I'm not familiar with modern Macs, but on Linux you would simply use the *unmounted* device (e.g. /dev/sdd) instead of a disk image.

Since modern Mac OS is based on BSD Unix, it is quite similar:

/dev/disk0 (internal):
/dev/disk1 (synthesized):
/dev/disk2 (external, physical): <<<<< this one is CF card

Where should I put /dev/disk2 ? As ASCI HD, SCSI HD or IDE HD?

Whenever I put '/dev/disk2', I always get error message "Unable to get size of HD image file".
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Reylan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:14 am

Re: Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

Postby Reylan » Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:35 am

Hello,
I've done that recently under linux.
hatari --ide-master /dev/disk2

I don't know macos. On linux, you need to launch that command as root (with sudo). Regular users don't have the privileges to access raw device
Arnaud

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

Postby Eero Tamminen » Wed Oct 23, 2019 10:37 pm

Reylan wrote:On linux, you need to launch that command as root (with sudo). Regular users don't have the privileges to access raw device


I think its better to sudo chmod/chown your CF device node so that your normal user can access it, than run Hatari as root...

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

Postby Eero Tamminen » Wed Oct 23, 2019 10:58 pm

calimero wrote:Where should I put /dev/disk2 ? As ASCI HD, SCSI HD or IDE HD?


Hatari doesn't care, it emulates nowadays all of them, so it depends just on which HD driver, and which TOS version you use. ST/STE/TT have ACSI, TT has also SCSI, and Falcon has IDE, so their corresponding TOS versions support only those interfaces.

calimero wrote:Whenever I put '/dev/disk2', I always get error message "Unable to get size of HD image file".


This error message means that the device file you gave wasn't readable/seekable; either the file doesn't exist, or your user can't access it.

User avatar
Estrayk
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

Postby Estrayk » Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:23 pm

Eero, in windows is also possible access to a real CF from a Falcon(IDE) with HATARI?
・Falcon ct60e・Atari MegaSTE ・Atari STe ・MIST ・MISTer・

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Real Atari harddisc and Hatari

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sat Oct 26, 2019 8:29 am

Estrayk wrote:Eero, in windows is also possible access to a real CF from a Falcon(IDE) with HATARI?


Only if Windows provides the drive as a device file, like all the other (unixy) OSes. Windows provides nowadays a Linux subsystem, maybe you could use Hatari Linux version under that?


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests