Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.2.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

User avatar
sniperstorm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 471
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 11:58 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby sniperstorm » Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:15 pm

My bbs is currently running on a Mega 4 with a Cosmo Ex, and Lantronix UDS10. I want to move it to emulation and was thinking Raspberry PI. Does anyone have ideas how to set it up so I can access the internet and telnet. I have never really used Hatari before and do not know how to set it up to emulate a com port so I can just plug it into my network and not have to use a Lantronix. I hope I am explaining this correctly. Can anyone give me some ideas?

Thank you.

Stguild BBS

stguild-bbs.ddns.net
SysOp: The St Guild BBS

telnet://stguild-bbs.dyndns.org

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1956
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Eero Tamminen » Wed Feb 20, 2019 11:11 pm

Hatari doesn't emulate any network adapters, so you would need to use Atari emulation serial or parallel port for networking (not sure whether parallel port emulation is bi-directional, at least serial port is). In MiNT there's support for this, but I think there are also solutions for doing TCP/IP networking from TOS through them.

On Linux side you need something that converts the files Hatari uses for serial / parallel communication into normal TCP/IP traffic.

If you're going the MiNT route, I think Aranym would be better option unless you want something that emulations real Atari machines (Aranym emulates 040, it's DSP emulation isn't compatible with any real Atari programs and it's not cycle-exact, but it's fast, especially with JIT).

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby ThorstenOtto » Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:32 am

Eero Tamminen wrote: In MiNT there's support for this


Should be, yes. But IIRC, the slip driver (for doing tcp/ip over a serial interface) is currently broken. Maybe some older release might work.

But if you are using MiNT, you might consider using Aranym, which has a network driver that can use the hosts IP stack. For that to work, you need to set up a bridge and/or a tap driver. There are several documents available that should give you some clue.

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby stormy » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:25 am

Perhaps he could use BeePi?
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

User avatar
jokker
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby jokker » Sat Feb 23, 2019 11:01 pm

http://breakintochat.com/blog/2012/12/13/telnet-to-bbs-within-hatari-emulator/

I used the information in the URL above to get Hatari to telnet to BBSes using tcpser (instead of tcper4j) and socat. So you could likely get it to work for incoming connections as well.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby DarkLord » Mon Feb 25, 2019 10:06 am

I'm just curious - why do this and not stick with the original hardware?
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Orion_ » Mon Feb 25, 2019 10:16 am

DarkLord wrote:I'm just curious - why do this and not stick with the original hardware?

with Atari computers ageing, I would be afraid to let mine run all day for months/years.
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby DarkLord » Mon Feb 25, 2019 10:38 am

Orion_ wrote:
DarkLord wrote:I'm just curious - why do this and not stick with the original hardware?

with Atari computers ageing, I would be afraid to let mine run all day for months/years.


I'm not. I might be the exception (but I don't think so), but my Mega ST4 has been running 24/7 since the early
90's with one 4-5 year break when I transitioned from dial-up to telnet.

That includes a 4 gig SCSI drive...

PS Replaced the MB once and a couple of power supplies - other than that....
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby stormy » Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:34 pm

I'm always wanting to find meaningful uses for my retro machines, having a real Atari running a bbs sounds brilliant :)
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby DarkLord » Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:07 am

mzry wrote:I'm always wanting to find meaningful uses for my retro machines, having a real Atari running a bbs sounds brilliant :)


There are a handful of us loonies who are dedicated to it. You'll find even more among the 8bit crowd. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

tjam
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:54 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby tjam » Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:36 am

DarkLord wrote:
mzry wrote:I'm always wanting to find meaningful uses for my retro machines, having a real Atari running a bbs sounds brilliant :)


There are a handful of us loonies who are dedicated to it. You'll find even more among the 8bit crowd. :)


That's nice :) Are you aware if there's decent list of telnet based BBS systems somewhere (Atari, Amiga etc) ?

User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Gaiyan » Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:14 pm

Yeah, I would encourage to keep your BBS on the Mega 4. Makes it more "authentic". Unless, of course, you have a pressing reason to do so.
Image

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby DarkLord » Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:17 pm

tjam wrote:
That's nice :) Are you aware if there's decent list of telnet based BBS systems somewhere (Atari, Amiga etc) ?


Go to AtariAge and under the 8bit section look for the permanent message base, "Atari 8bit BBS's". Doctor Clu there maintains
a list that is updated periodically although you may have to browse around a bit to find it.

HTHs.

http://atariage.com/forums/topic/174831 ... ated-bbss/
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
jokker
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby jokker » Sat Mar 02, 2019 10:23 pm

DarkLord wrote:
Orion_ wrote:
DarkLord wrote:I'm just curious - why do this and not stick with the original hardware?

with Atari computers ageing, I would be afraid to let mine run all day for months/years.


I'm not. I might be the exception (but I don't think so), but my Mega ST4 has been running 24/7 since the early
90's with one 4-5 year break when I transitioned from dial-up to telnet.

That includes a 4 gig SCSI drive...

PS Replaced the MB once and a couple of power supplies - other than that....


and i would to thank you DarkLord for your persistence! :D

I have a toy BBS running on DOS just since that was my platform at the time for running a BBS ( I used an ST to dial-in for years before that though Flash and FZT forever <grin> )

Hey sniperstorm, I tried telneting to STguild but I couldn't connect to it? Is it still up?

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby DarkLord » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:13 pm

jokker wrote:
and i would to thank you DarkLord for your persistence! :D



Dedicated, that's me. :cheers:
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

Tillek
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:51 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Tillek » Fri Apr 19, 2019 12:45 am

DarkLord wrote:
tjam wrote:
That's nice :) Are you aware if there's decent list of telnet based BBS systems somewhere (Atari, Amiga etc) ?


Go to AtariAge and under the 8bit section look for the permanent message base, "Atari 8bit BBS's". Doctor Clu there maintains
a list that is updated periodically although you may have to browse around a bit to find it.

HTHs.

http://atariage.com/forums/topic/174831 ... ated-bbss/


I also have a maintained list at http://www.sfhqbbs.org/ataribbslist.php

You don't have to dig around to find it.

It also has an option to show either domain names or IP addresses.

tjam
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:54 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby tjam » Sat Apr 20, 2019 9:20 am

Tillek wrote:
DarkLord wrote:
tjam wrote:
That's nice :) Are you aware if there's decent list of telnet based BBS systems somewhere (Atari, Amiga etc) ?


Go to AtariAge and under the 8bit section look for the permanent message base, "Atari 8bit BBS's". Doctor Clu there maintains
a list that is updated periodically although you may have to browse around a bit to find it.

HTHs.

http://atariage.com/forums/topic/174831 ... ated-bbss/


I also have a maintained list at http://www.sfhqbbs.org/ataribbslist.php

You don't have to dig around to find it.

It also has an option to show either domain names or IP addresses.


Thanks! It's nice to see there's still active BBS scene 8)

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Bikerbob » Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:47 pm

What about this with Hatari on a PC? I have older laptop with real serial and a UDS-100 lantronix box.. so I should be able to run a BBS through that?

James

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1956
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:03 pm

DarkLord wrote:I'm just curious - why do this and not stick with the original hardware?


Hatari / raspi could act as backup and testing setup before deploying on the real HW. One can also run several Hatari setups on same PC to test BBS upgrades before deployment. If one's aiming at high availability Atari BBS, there should be a backup plan in case of temporary HW failures. :-)

Tillek
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:51 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Tillek » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:26 pm

Bikerbob wrote:What about this with Hatari on a PC? I have older laptop with real serial and a UDS-100 lantronix box.. so I should be able to run a BBS through that?

James

If you're going to run an emulator on a PC, why not just emulate the com port with a virtual com port and save the Lantronix box for one of your Ataris.

Tillek
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:51 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Tillek » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:29 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:
DarkLord wrote:I'm just curious - why do this and not stick with the original hardware?


Hatari / raspi could act as backup and testing setup before deploying on the real HW. One can also run several Hatari setups on same PC to test BBS upgrades before deployment. If one's aiming at high availability Atari BBS, there should be a backup plan in case of temporary HW failures. :-)


I find that somewhat funny as my experience with Hatari is that it really isn't any more "reliable" than my actual hardware.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby DarkLord » Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:10 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:
Hatari / raspi could act as backup and testing setup before deploying on the real HW. One can also run several Hatari setups on same PC to test BBS upgrades before deployment. If one's aiming at high availability Atari BBS, there should be a backup plan in case of temporary HW failures. :-)


Hmm, that sounds like a lot of extra work to me. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4337
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby DarkLord » Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:11 pm

Tillek wrote:
I find that somewhat funny as my experience with Hatari is that it really isn't any more "reliable" than my actual hardware.


Ain't nuthin' like the real thing baby. :cheers:
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1956
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Moving my BBS from Mega 4 to Raspberry Pi/Hatari

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:08 pm

Tillek wrote:I find that somewhat funny as my experience with Hatari is that it really isn't any more "reliable" than my actual hardware.


With Hatari one has an option of using GEMDOS HD, more RAM than real HW, and less buggy TOS version, with which one can avoid crashes related to those.

However, Hatari is supposed to be accurate emulator; if something crashes on real HW, it should crash also when run with Hatari using the same configuration.

If things don't work like on real HW, and you can reproduce it also with latest Hatari release, please report that bug in the forum Hatari section, or (preferred) on the Hatari mailing list.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest