A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.2.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

handsomegenius
Atarian
Atarian

Hatari loads slow and reports errors on RPi3B running Raspbian

Postby handsomegenius » Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:47 am

Hey everyone,

Total noob at this so I hope I am not asking something that's been answered a million times. But I've had a go at searching for an answer and nothing's come up.

I recently got interested in emulating an ST after reading about how widely used it was as a MIDI sequencer back in the day.

I have a spare pi just for fiddling with, so I went and got a new SD card and flashed a fresh image of Raspbian on it and started it up.

Then I updated packages and installed Hatari using apt-get. I went to run it and it said that tos.img wasn't in the right directory.

So I did a bit of a google of what that meant and then went and downloaded EmuTOS from Sourceforge. I put the image file in the and renamed it to tos.img.

Now, it starts up.. but it takes AGES to load. And then when I exit, the terminal is full of error messages like "bus error" and "illegal instruction".. so clearly something is a bit off.

What am I doing wrong? Is there a better way to install hatari? Should I be compiling it from the source? Have I done something wrong with emutos?

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero

Re: Hatari loads slow and reports errors on RPi3B running Raspbian

Postby ThorstenOtto » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:38 am

handsomegenius wrote:Have I done something wrong with emutos?

The current EmuTOS version is hosted on github, maybe you are using an older version?

Also, at least some of the bus-error messages are normal, unlike TOS, EmuTOS checks the available hardware, and you will get those message from hardwre that is not present on the machine you are emulating. As long as your programs don't crash with a panic message, you don't have to worry about that.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru