1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.1.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

fmh
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby fmh » Thu Apr 05, 2018 4:50 pm

Hi

I am trying to run a GEM Program in 1024x786 by 256 colors minimum in Hatari. So far I have not been able to figure out how to do this. I am using Hatari 2.10 under Windows 7 32-bit. I setup a 68030 machine with 14MB RAM. I tried TOS 4.04 and configured a Falcon but a Falcon is not capable of this resolution. I tried EmuTOS but if I use Extended VDI at 1024x768 I get 16 colors and not 256 or higher. Is there a way to do this on Hatari?
Atari Gamer
FireBee

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby Xerus » Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:04 pm

Uses a Falcon screen enhancer like Videlity, Videl Inside, Centscreen, etc.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 704
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby Faucon2001 » Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:06 pm

In falcon mode and with Videl Inside, I reach 1280x1024x256c without pb.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby dhedberg » Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:54 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:In falcon mode and with Videl Inside, I reach 1280x1024x256c without pb.

Yes, with Videl Inside on Hatari you're basically free to configure any resolution. I have a 1920x1200 configuration on my setup. The desktop is huge! :-)
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2342
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby lp » Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:29 am

How far can you push TC mode?

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 704
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:41 pm

For TC, 1008x1024. I believe it can go higher for vertical resolution, but 1008 in horizontal is the maximum. Anything higher will crash, but I don’t know why.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby dhedberg » Fri Apr 06, 2018 5:38 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:For TC, 1008x1024. I believe it can go higher for vertical resolution, but 1008 in horizontal is the maximum. Anything higher will crash, but I don’t know why.

A limitation of the Videl. Only 10-bits of the hardware register ($FF8210) used to specify the line width (in words) for the screen are used. One pixel in TrueColor is one word, highest 10-bit value is 1023.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1498
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby Cyprian » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:02 pm

$FF8210 is for virtual screen only and it means how much words have to be skipped between lines
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby dhedberg » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:31 pm

Cyprian wrote:$FF8210 is for virtual screen only and it means how much words have to be skipped between lines

I guess you're thinking of $FF820E (line offset). It's the register to use for specifying the number of words to skip after every display line when using a virtual screen.
$FF8210 (line width) is the number of words of the display line.

If you configure a video mode by setting the Videl registers you set $FF8210 regardless if you use a virtual screen or not, and as $FF8210 is 10-bit, it effectively restricts the actual visible line width of any screen.
If you use virtual screens you also need to set $FF820E to the number of non-displayed words (virtual/logical line = line width + line offset).
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1498
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby Cyprian » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:54 pm

ok, never programmed VIdel.
I was sure both registers are the same:

Code: Select all

$FF820F|byte |Width of a scanline (width in words-1)               |R/W  (STe)
$FF8210|word |Width of a scanline (width in words)                 |R/W (F030)
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby dhedberg » Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:28 pm

Cyprian wrote:ok, never programmed VIdel.
I was sure both registers are the same:

Code: Select all

$FF820F|byte |Width of a scanline (width in words-1)               |R/W  (STe)
$FF8210|word |Width of a scanline (width in words)                 |R/W (F030)

No, for Falcon030 video modes:

Code: Select all

$FF820E|word |Offset to next line in words (9-bit value)           |R/W (F030)
$FF8210|word |Linewidth in words                                   |R/W (F030)

For ST compatible video modes:

Code: Select all

$FF820F|byte |Width of a scanline (width in words-1)               |R/W  (STe)

Disclaimer: I've actually never programmed anything in ST compatible video modes on the Falcon030, but I assume for reasons of compatibility with the STe, $FF820E (or $FF820F as this register is only 8-bit on the STe) is then used as on a real STe.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:44 am

To the original question: most likely, it is the desktop that dictates your resolution. You should try to configure the video mode there, save the configuration, then reboot.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1726
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sat Apr 07, 2018 2:55 pm

Not sure whether everybody already knows this, but when investigating Videl register values, you can use Hatari debugger "info videl" command.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2342
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby lp » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:19 am

I had no luck with VI2 and aranym. BlowUp030 topped out at 928 complaining about something. I was able to tweak the source code of BlowUp030 and recompiled it. Now I can get 1008x1024 in TC easily. As noted above, anything over 1008 pixels wide doesn't work. Thanks for the info guys.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby dhedberg » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:30 am

Would you mind sharing the recompiled version?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2342
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: 1024x768 Resolution in 256 colors or Higher

Postby lp » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:49 am

Sure, here it is. I only modified BLOWCONF.PRG. I eased the frequency restrictions since they don't really apply to an emulator. The warnings have been removed. It will throw an alert if the screen ram exceeds 2mb, just click the default button, save the config anyway.

blowupfx.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests