Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.1.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby npomarede » Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:10 am

Hello

At last, a new release !

You can get it from http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/ or directly in http://download.tuxfamily.org/hatari/2.1.0/

Sources are available, as well as prebuilt binaries for Windows (in 32 bit and 64 bit mode) and macOS (thanks to Troed).
(note that the Windows binaries don't include PortMidi library for now, only macOS version does)

Major highlights of this new version :

    - Major rewrite of the YM2149 with a new cycle accurate emulation
    - Major rewrite of the blitter to allow cycle exact bus accesses and correct bus sharing with the CPU
    - Improved video emulation : bottom border at 60 Hz and number of displayed lines, video counter reloading, timer B in mono mode
    - Add full support for MMU/MCU RAM configuration at $FF8001, support more RAM combinations (256 KB and 2.5 MB)
    - Some STX floppy images were not correctly emulated when verify bit was set in the FDC
    - Support for undocumented STOP behaviour on 68000
    - Fix some rare bus accesses order and stack frames
    - Fix some flags after DIV and BCD instructions
    - Improved memory timing for 68030 depending on RAM type
    - 68030 instruction cache was not correctly disabled when EI=0 in CACR
    - Improve caches accuracy for 68020/30/40/60, with optional MMU support
    - Large improvements to FPU emulation, including a new softfloat method
    - MIDI support for Windows and macOS (with PortMidi library)
    - Add support for AVI files > 4GB (up to 256 GB)
    - SDL UI shows refresh rate and blitter usage
    - Several improvements/fixes when using VDI
    - Improvements/more options for autostart using virtual INF file
    - Many improvements to debugger, especially for symbols handling
    - Fix compilation for more targets (ARM64, MIPS, ...)


See release-notes.txt for the full changelog.

Fixed demos : Sprite32 by Leonard, Jam-Cols by ICE, 4getful, Beams, many Falcon demos should run better

Fixed programs : Hextracker for Falcon, Protracker 2.1 and Neochrome Master 2.8 at 60 Hz, Audio Sculpture


As a special bonus, I coded a small STe intro for this release, available here http://download.tuxfamily.org/hatari/demos/hatari_2.1/ or here http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=74746


Nicolas

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1436
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby troed » Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:35 am

... and a very nice intro it is! :)

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby Foxie » Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:37 pm

npomarede wrote: - MIDI support for Windows and macOS (with PortMidi library)


Would anyone be interested in helping to implement multiple-output MIDI support? I've seen a few people asking for that feature, and I've reverse-engineered the protocol for an 8-out printer port MIDI device. I could almost add it myself, except I'm not familiar enough with Hatari's code or PortMIDI. I have a modified version of Hatari which emulates the presence of the MIDI expander, but has no way of outputting MIDI data to the outside world (other than printing to the terminal).

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby Faucon2001 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:36 pm

I am very interested in multi midi output for Hatari.
I don’t have the skills to help in the development but I can help in testing as I am using Hatari on different platforms (Linux X86, ARM, OSX) and have a bunch of midi expanders to test in real usage situations.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

mjw333
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby mjw333 » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:11 pm

Having trouble mounting the disk image on mac os 10.11.6 (15G19009). Says 'no mountable file systems'. Is it just me?

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 831
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby dhedberg » Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:15 pm

Wow! The release of the year! Thank you so much! Hatari releases are always exciting!
I'm especially thankful for the improvements in the Falcon030 emulation!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1436
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby troed » Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:38 pm

mjw333 wrote:Having trouble mounting the disk image on mac os 10.11.6 (15G19009). Says 'no mountable file systems'. Is it just me?


Nope, it was not just you. Apple in all their wisdom implemented a new file system (APFS) in High Sierra, and now Disk Utility defaults to using it when creating .dmgs. My bad.

Also, it not just defaults to, there's no way to switch to HFS from within the UI ...

A new version has been uploaded to http://download.tuxfamily.org/hatari/2.1.0/

Additionally, the portmidi dynamic library does not support macOS <10.9. A solution is being tested right now.

/Troed - who needs better release testing ...

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby Foxie » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:47 pm

troed wrote:Additionally, the portmidi dynamic library does not support macOS <10.9. A solution is being tested right now.


If I can figure out how to implement (crudely!) support for multiple MIDI out, would it be possible to integrate some of my changes into the main release? There will be a few changes needed - I'm currently using the hblank for controlling timing so it only works in ST high. Someone with more knowledge of Hatari would need to move that code to somewhere else that gets called on a frequent basis. There would also be some kind of GUI change needed to enable the option for multiple outputs - and probably select which MIDI devices it's routed to.

I'm working on OS X and Linux. I don't have any way of developing on Windows at present.

I've already emulated the presence of the 8-output MIDI expander on the parallel port, but currently output is directed to stdout.

Alternatively I could provide details of the protocol so someone else can implement it - but I don't know if anyone is interested.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby npomarede » Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:12 pm

Foxie wrote:
troed wrote:Additionally, the portmidi dynamic library does not support macOS <10.9. A solution is being tested right now.


If I can figure out how to implement (crudely!) support for multiple MIDI out, would it be possible to integrate some of my changes into the main release? There will be a few changes needed - I'm currently using the hblank for controlling timing so it only works in ST high. Someone with more knowledge of Hatari would need to move that code to somewhere else that gets called on a frequent basis. There would also be some kind of GUI change needed to enable the option for multiple outputs - and probably select which MIDI devices it's routed to.

I'm working on OS X and Linux. I don't have any way of developing on Windows at present.

I've already emulated the presence of the 8-output MIDI expander on the parallel port, but currently output is directed to stdout.

Alternatively I could provide details of the protocol so someone else can implement it - but I don't know if anyone is interested.

Hi
do you have a list of software that used this under Atari ? Did this require some extra HW on the parallel port on ST too ? If you have a description of the protocol, it could be helpful.
I fixed some midi issues in the past (notator for example), but I have no background in using midi, it was more about studying the soft to see which part of the emulaiton was lacking accuracy.
In all cases, maybe open a new topic in the Hatari section, so we can keep separate traces of each issues. Jari Kleimola contributed the portmidi support for Hatari, maybe he will join the discussion and can help fixing this issue.

Nicolas

cyberish
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby cyberish » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:19 pm

Thx for the release. Version 2.1.0 crashes while booting on(Mac OS 10.8.5.) while 2.0.0 boots up without any issue.

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby Foxie » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:44 am

npomarede wrote:do you have a list of software that used this under Atari ? Did this require some extra HW on the parallel port on ST too ? If you have a description of the protocol, it could be helpful.


The device is the Friend Chip MM1, and connects to the printer port of the ST/TT/Falcon. It gives you 8 extra MIDI outputs in Cubase (or any other MROS software). There are lots of similar devices available with fewer ports, but the Friend Chip is probably unique in giving you 8. Actually, a clone of the Friend Chip also exists called the StarPort. That allows you to daisy-chain 4 such devices for 32 outputs, but it's so incredibly rare I doubt a driver will ever surface. I think I know how the protocol of the StarPort works from looking at the Friend Chip MM1 hardware.

Sadly printer port devices are not supported in Notator, but then the Notator crack isn't very stable anyway. I will be turning my attention to reverse-engineering Unitor some time.

npomarede wrote:In all cases, maybe open a new topic in the Hatari section, so we can keep separate traces of each issues. Jari Kleimola contributed the portmidi support for Hatari, maybe he will join the discussion and can help fixing this issue.


Okay, will do ^.^

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby darwinmac » Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:26 am

cyberish wrote:Thx for the release. Version 2.1.0 crashes while booting on(Mac OS 10.8.5.) while 2.0.0 boots up without any issue.


I would download Hatari again. There was a problem with the first version of Hatari 2.1.0 on older versions of macOS. I think those have been resolved.

Bob C

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2708
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby alexh » Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:08 am

Thanks for all your hard work

I say the intro beats the original

http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=23282

cyberish
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby cyberish » Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:37 am

darwinmac wrote:
cyberish wrote:Thx for the release. Version 2.1.0 crashes while booting on(Mac OS 10.8.5.) while 2.0.0 boots up without any issue.


I would download Hatari again. There was a problem with the first version of Hatari 2.1.0 on older versions of macOS. I think those have been resolved.

Bob C


I just downloaded it again. Problem persists indeed :?

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1436
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby troed » Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:41 am

cyberish wrote:I just downloaded it again. Problem persists indeed :?


Yes, sorry if I was unclear in my previous post. The included portmidi library is compiled for 10.9 and up. I have compiled my own version of the library that works on 10.6+, but until someone verifies that Midi works as well with the library I've compiled as the one originally included I cannot promote this build as a new release.

However, with the caveat that Midi is untested, this .app will work on your 10.8: https://troed.ddns.net/f/4d0625cbc637462c873e/

(If anyone tests the above .app with Midi then please let me know!)

/Troed

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2402
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby lotek_style » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:57 am

Mr. Styckx: THANKS A LOT FOR YOUR HARD WORK! :)

btw evil placed your intro here aswell: https://demozoo.org/productions/183580/
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2402
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby lotek_style » Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:29 am

Still no luck with running this one properly:

https://demozoo.org/productions/48003/
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby lp » Sun Feb 11, 2018 4:40 pm

Nice work by all in involved. :cheers:

One small issue. The dialog seen here on macOS Sierra (English):
File -> Load config...
Screen Shot 2018-02-11 at 11.28.25 AM.png

The buttons still work opposite of what they say. Previous version had the same issue. I've not noticed anything else unusual. :wink:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Avanze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 1:49 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby Avanze » Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:59 pm

I'm liking Hatari more, and more.

cyberish
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby cyberish » Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:17 pm

troed wrote:
cyberish wrote:I just downloaded it again. Problem persists indeed :?


Yes, sorry if I was unclear in my previous post. The included portmidi library is compiled for 10.9 and up. I have compiled my own version of the library that works on 10.6+, but until someone verifies that Midi works as well with the library I've compiled as the one originally included I cannot promote this build as a new release.

However, with the caveat that Midi is untested, this .app will work on your 10.8: https://troed.ddns.net/f/4d0625cbc637462c873e/

(If anyone tests the above .app with Midi then please let me know!)

/Troed


COOL, THIS ONE LOADS WITHOUT ANY ISSUES . WILL CHECK MIDI ASAP, THX!!!

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby darwinmac » Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:03 pm

lp wrote:Nice work by all in involved. :cheers:

One small issue. The dialog seen here on macOS Sierra (English):
File -> Load config...

The buttons still work opposite of what they say. Previous version had the same issue. I've not noticed anything else unusual. :wink:


I submitted this to the Hatari-devel mailing list. I admit that I have been using the Load Config button in the Preferences dialog instead of the Load Config menu item.

Bob C

mjw333
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby mjw333 » Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:20 pm

Thanks for the quick update. Looks good so far...

TonVH
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:32 am

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby TonVH » Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:53 pm

I have a problem with the cursor (also in previous version).

There are 2 cursors visible and neither is able to cover the whole window. I have to resize the window and then all is working as expected. Using High Sierra.

How can I solve this? Am I the only one?

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby darwinmac » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:58 pm

TonVH wrote:I have a problem with the cursor (also in previous version).

There are 2 cursors visible and neither is able to cover the whole window. I have to resize the window and then all is working as expected. Using High Sierra.

How can I solve this? Am I the only one?


Depending on your usage, the easiest method is to use Cmd-M to capture the mouse in the Hatari window. You use Cmd-M again to stop capturing the mouse in Hatari's window. I have also seen the behavior where I cannot get to the left of the ST screen without it leaving the Hatari window and being used by macOS again. You can also put Hatari into fullscreen mode if you are simply using the ST and not wanting to do anything in macOS while using Hatari.

Bob C

Zandig
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:22 pm

Re: Hatari 2.1.0 has been released

Postby Zandig » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:36 pm

I'm on Windows 10 64 bit (1709 - 16299.214)

Using the 2.1.0 release I have to Disable Fullscreen Optimizations of HATARI in the Compatibility Tab for the GUI to function properly.
Not disabling it causes strange thing to happen when using GUI and function keys. This does not happen in previous versions. :cheers:


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests