Hatari, opening .ST

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.1.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

Martinus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:32 am

Hatari, opening .ST

Postby Martinus » Sat Feb 03, 2018 4:45 pm

If I double-click on a .ST file then I get the message (translated) ".. file can only be viewed or printed ... I thought .ST were program images.

How do I start these?

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Hatari, opening .ST

Postby farvardin » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:23 pm

what is your operating system? They all have a different way to associate a program to a file type. Anyway, most have the feature to "open with..." and then you can select "always open with this program" (or something equivalent). Does it do this with all your .ST files or only a few of them?

Martinus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:32 am

Re: Hatari, opening .ST

Postby Martinus » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:28 pm

At the moment I have installed 2.06 in Hatari but I can select a different one.

I've tried about 10 different .ST's and all return the same error. Also I see no way to "oen with ...." within Hatari.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1587
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Hatari, opening .ST

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:06 pm

You can not open an *.ST Image File over the Atari TOS Desktop. You it use as Drive A or B Image Files for the Floppy A or B in the Hatari Config ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

Martinus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:32 am

Re: Hatari, opening .ST

Postby Martinus » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:04 am

Indeed, then it works. Leads to my next question:

How do I use .ST's on a real Atari using disk (or equivalent)? I guess I have to "unimage" it but how to do that?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5006
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Hatari, opening .ST

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:16 am

Martinus wrote:Indeed, then it works. Leads to my next question:

How do I use .ST's on a real Atari using disk (or equivalent)? I guess I have to "unimage" it but how to do that?


On a real Atari, use JayMSA to write the images back to disk.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests