Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.1.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

ZoltanTheHun
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:42 pm

Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby ZoltanTheHun » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:50 pm

Hi,

I was trying to run the System V images from http://www.atariunix.com/ on Hatari, but it doesn't seem possible.

I always get the following errors:
Bus error wput at 0041fffe
Bus error wput at ffd000e0
Bus error wput at 0201fffe

Has anyone ever tried running System V on Hatari?

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1490
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby mikro » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:07 pm

I'll make your crusade easier, if you manage to run FreeMiNT 030 + MMU in Hatari, that would be a good start.

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby thothy » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:11 pm

No, I don't think that it is possible to run ASV with Hatari. ASV needs an Atari TT, and the TT emulation in Hatari is very incomplete, e.g. it lacks the 2nd MFP and SCSI emulation.

ZoltanTheHun
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:42 pm

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby ZoltanTheHun » Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:57 pm

Thanks. Bad news, but I hope the folks behind Hatari can some day improve it to make Unix possible someday...

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby farvardin » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:35 pm

could it work with Aranym?

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1670
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:04 am

If ASV just probes all serial devices (like MiNT does at startup), and expects there to be no bus errors on TT (like MiNT does), it's enough to void bus errors for (unimplemented) SCC accesses in Hatari. I have a hack (patch) for that in the Hatari "hatari tt scc emulation" mail thread in July. That got MiNT running on Hatari TT emulation (it runs already fine under ST/STE/Falcon emulation).

PS. While Hatari doesn't emulate SCSI, it does support accessing real SCSI drivers, with Uwe's NatFeats SCSI driver. Doesn't help here, but maybe interesting to somebody.

Doesn't ASV support ACSI at all?

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby ThorstenOtto » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:28 am

farvardin wrote:could it work with Aranym?


Unlikely. Aranym emulates an 68040 cpu (and, more importantly, mmu). I doubt that ASV was designed to run on '040.

User avatar
Noth
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:25 pm
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby Noth » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:51 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:If ASV just probes all serial devices (like MiNT does at startup), and expects there to be no bus errors on TT (like MiNT does), it's enough to void bus errors for (unimplemented) SCC accesses in Hatari. I have a hack (patch) for that in the Hatari "hatari tt scc emulation" mail thread in July. That got MiNT running on Hatari TT emulation (it runs already fine under ST/STE/Falcon emulation).

PS. While Hatari doesn't emulate SCSI, it does support accessing real SCSI drivers, with Uwe's NatFeats SCSI driver. Doesn't help here, but maybe interesting to somebody.

Doesn't ASV support ACSI at all?


Doesn't at all unfortunately. ASV seems to be a pretty pure AT&T System V Release 4 version with a few Atari specific tools thrown in. Thus it has drivers to use what could be called the TT side of things but not anything else, like ACSI or Midi ports.

I'm using a cousin to this, AMIX (aka Amiga UNIX) in WinUAE, where we have SCSI support and can emulate an A3000UX completely, including network, tape drive, and several graphics cards, including aftermarket ones. It'd be really nice to use Hatari or Aranym to let more people discover Atari Unix! By the way, so long as the libs are in the right places, SVR4 m68k unixes can use each other's software...


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests