Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE emulator - the current version is v2.0.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

ZoltanTheHun
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:42 pm

Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby ZoltanTheHun » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:50 pm

Hi,

I was trying to run the System V images from http://www.atariunix.com/ on Hatari, but it doesn't seem possible.

I always get the following errors:
Bus error wput at 0041fffe
Bus error wput at ffd000e0
Bus error wput at 0201fffe

Has anyone ever tried running System V on Hatari?

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby mikro » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:07 pm

I'll make your crusade easier, if you manage to run FreeMiNT 030 + MMU in Hatari, that would be a good start.

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby thothy » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:11 pm

No, I don't think that it is possible to run ASV with Hatari. ASV needs an Atari TT, and the TT emulation in Hatari is very incomplete, e.g. it lacks the 2nd MFP and SCSI emulation.

ZoltanTheHun
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:42 pm

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby ZoltanTheHun » Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:57 pm

Thanks. Bad news, but I hope the folks behind Hatari can some day improve it to make Unix possible someday...

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby farvardin » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:35 pm

could it work with Aranym?

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1576
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:04 am

If ASV just probes all serial devices (like MiNT does at startup), and expects there to be no bus errors on TT (like MiNT does), it's enough to void bus errors for (unimplemented) SCC accesses in Hatari. I have a hack (patch) for that in the Hatari "hatari tt scc emulation" mail thread in July. That got MiNT running on Hatari TT emulation (it runs already fine under ST/STE/Falcon emulation).

PS. While Hatari doesn't emulate SCSI, it does support accessing real SCSI drivers, with Uwe's NatFeats SCSI driver. Doesn't help here, but maybe interesting to somebody.

Doesn't ASV support ACSI at all?

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Is it possible to run System V on Hatari?

Postby ThorstenOtto » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:28 am

farvardin wrote:could it work with Aranym?


Unlikely. Aranym emulates an 68040 cpu (and, more importantly, mmu). I doubt that ASV was designed to run on '040.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest