Page 1 of 1

Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:37 pm
by 607
Is there a way to use a MIDI keyboard with Hatari?

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 8:19 pm
by farvardin
yes, if you're using Linux :

http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/docs.html

Q: How can I use MIDI on Mac OS X or Windows?

A: MIDI currently only works on Linux (and maybe some *BSD systems) where Hatari can write the MIDI output to a device file in the /dev file system. On all other systems, MIDI is not supported.

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 8:32 pm
by frank.lukas
OSX/macOS is also a BSD like OS and there is a/dev device folder too ...

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:30 pm
by Faucon2001
With a standard USB class compliant midi interface, configure Hatari to access the right /dev/snd/midi*** for input and output.
It works for me under Linux with a Maudio keyboard or a Roland SC8850 and Cubase 3. I have never tried under OSX.

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:27 pm
by siriushardware
See also this recent similar thread:

viewtopic.php?f=51&t=27649

Before 1.9.0, MIDI support on Hatari, even on the Linux version, didn't work too well, but from 1.9.0 MIDI support / functionality improved dramatically.

Part of the way through the development of V1.9, a specific tweak was also added to get around an incompatibility with the most popular versions of Cubase 2 (there was a problem with Cubase falling over when you navigated into any of the editor sub-screens) - since then I have been able to run Cubase 2 as well under Linux Hatari as on a real ST, which is really saying something if you know how smoothly Cubase 2 works on a real ST.

The current stable Linux version V2.0.0 presumably incorporates all of these improvements carried over from V1.9 - V2.0 is the one I'm using now, anyway.

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:22 pm
by Eero Tamminen
MIDI output (Linux) support was added to Hatari v0.45 (2003), and MIDI input support to Hatari v1.2 (2009), from which point MIDI music output has worked pretty well (= was tested more extensively) e.g. in games.

There were additional fixes for different Cubase versions in Hatari v1.7 & v1.9, and as mentioned above, it was fixed for good for Cubase in v2.0. Some of those fixes were also needed by BadMood, Douglas' Doom game rewrite for Falcon.

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:19 pm
by farvardin
Once I connected my keyboard with hatari running the Maxymiser tracker, and it was pleasant to use it as a synth!

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:08 pm
by siriushardware
Eero Tamminen wrote:MIDI output (Linux) support was added to Hatari v0.45 (2003), and MIDI input support to Hatari v1.2 (2009), from which point MIDI music output has worked pretty well (= was tested more extensively) e.g. in games.


I can only quote from the other thread I mentioned, in which (at the time) Nicolas (npomarede) was referring to V1.8....

npomarede wrote:..many improvements were made to midi timings in the current devel version, and they will be in Hatari 1.9.
When using Hatari 1.8, there's nothing you can do, it's not some settings problem, it's the emulation that was not accurate enough.


The problem I was having at the time was that Hatari V1.8 (no matter which MIDI software was involved) was only outputting MIDI data for a few seconds, then would stall. The program (sequencer, synth editor) would continue to run as though nothing had happened but no further MIDI data would be output until Hatari was restarted, after which the same problem could be repeated.

However, I must stress that the changes Nicolas made to midi.c during the continuing development of V1.8 completely fixed this problem and were incorporated into V1.9 stable, leaving only a specific problem when going into the edit sub-menus in Cubase 2.

This particular issue was very kindly and quickly fixed during development of V1.9 once I had flagged it up and Cubase is now as usable on Linux Hatari as it is on a real ST, for which I'm truly grateful.

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:16 pm
by Eero Tamminen
It's possible that it had regressed at some point. It had worked fine with all the games I tested (Midimaze for networking, Leisure Suit Larry & Empire for music output) and many free MIDI program's from Tim's MIDI world (midimouse was my favorite) and Sequencer One I had gotten from a ST Format cover disk.

I don't think MIDI input had really been properly tested again after that, until v1.8. Or if somebody did test, they didn't bother to inform Hatari developers about issue...

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:58 pm
by Eero Tamminen
farvardin wrote:yes, if you're using Linux :

http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/docs.html

Q: How can I use MIDI on Mac OS X or Windows?

A: MIDI currently only works on Linux (and maybe some *BSD systems) where Hatari can write the MIDI output to a device file in the /dev file system. On all other systems, MIDI is not supported.


FYI: Jari Klemola just provided MIDI support for OSX & Windows versions of Hatari:
https://listengine.tuxfamily.org/lists. ... 00000.html

Once somebody else verifies that it works also on Windows (not just on OSX & Linux), the support goes in.

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:45 pm
by 607
FYI: Jari Klemola just provided MIDI support for OSX & Windows versions of Hatari:
https://listengine.tuxfamily.org/lists. ... 00000.html

Once somebody else verifies that it works also on Windows (not just on OSX & Linux), the support goes in.

Ah, I'll try to remember to try! I haven't got MIDI set up at the moment, but I might be able to do so this weekend... not sure, though.

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:21 am
by edingacic
so what is needed to make it work for osx is there a simple setup I don't get it :)

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:27 am
by edingacic
Is it possible for me to somehow pass midi out to DLS Music Device that is built in every osx? I have some apps that play midi files using this sound font. I just want to have Cubase running in Hatari and being able to hear these virutal sound banks. Here is a screenshot of osx app that plays midi files fine using probably GeneralUser GS v1.471.sf2 soundbank?

Is it possible to pass cubase midi out to Apple DLSMusicDevice ? and how would I set it up in Hatari?

Re: Hatari MIDI support

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:19 pm
by Eero Tamminen
I don't have Mac, but in general it should be enough to: select suitable MIDI interface from the Hatari GUI, and after that MIDI input/output should work fine. You may need to reboot emulation.

Troed has provided OSX build that includes the changes, if you cannot build Hatari from Mercurial yourself: https://troed.ddns.net/f/a44e383d76a446379312/