Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE emulator - the current version is v2.0.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby marcello » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:10 am

Hi
I've uploaded a disk image of the Minix OS 1.5 for the Atari ready to be used for Hatari.
http://subsole.org/minix_on_the_atari_st

Seems a bit unstable, but I think it comes from Minix iteself at it was never that stable on the 68000 due to lack of real MMU
I don't see any illegal instructions or the like from the shell where I started hatari
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

tritonus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:57 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby tritonus » Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:57 pm

Hi all,

I can confirm this, Minix is running wih Hatari 1.9 again.

By the way, someone interested in Minix 2.0.2 / 2.0.4 for Atari-ST?

- tritonus

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby marcello » Sat Mar 05, 2016 8:40 am

tritonus wrote:Hi all,

I can confirm this, Minix is running wih Hatari 1.9 again.

By the way, someone interested in Minix 2.0.2 / 2.0.4 for Atari-ST?

- tritonus


would be nice but surely a lot of work !

BTW are you aware of 1.6.25 ?
http://www.beastielabs.net/minix.html
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

tritonus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:57 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby tritonus » Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:28 pm

would be nice but surely a lot of work !


The work is done, I've got 2.0.2/4 up and running.

- tritonus

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby marcello » Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:01 pm

Yes if you have a disk image I would be intersted
If you habe a github link to the source would be nice to ? Did you test it on real hardware ? Does TCP / IP work ?
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

tritonus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:57 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby tritonus » Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:39 pm

Yes, it runs on real hardware, and yes, TCP/IP is working (via rs232).
Okay. Give me some time to prepare a disk image.

- tritonus

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby marcello » Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:01 am

ok, thx I'd be curious
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

User avatar
iceman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby iceman » Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:57 am

tritonus wrote:Yes, it runs on real hardware, and yes, TCP/IP is working (via rs232).
Okay. Give me some time to prepare a disk image.

- tritonus


Sign me up, I'm interested in trying it on my MiST.
Atarian since 1989. Atari 1040STFM, 4MB 520STe with UltraSatan and Unitor N, A dodgy 1 MBSTe that bombs out after a few minutes, and a 14MB 48MHz Falcon 030 with NetUSBee and Soundpool 8 channel DAC. Plus my new MiST!

tritonus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:57 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby tritonus » Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:46 pm

A disk image is almost finished, it will be about 100MB.
How can I publish it?

- tritonus

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby marcello » Sun Mar 27, 2016 1:06 pm

Hi Tritonus Thanks

You can put it on Dropbox, and create a shared link
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3550
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby joska » Sun Mar 27, 2016 1:51 pm

tritonus wrote:A disk image is almost finished, it will be about 100MB.
How can I publish it?


I can host it at joska.atari.org if you like.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

tritonus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:57 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby tritonus » Sun Mar 27, 2016 4:43 pm

joska wrote:
I can host it at joska.atari.org if you like.


I think it would be nice to put it on joska.atari.org. What do I have to do?

- tritonus

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3550
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby joska » Sun Mar 27, 2016 5:32 pm

Pm sent.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

tritonus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:57 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby tritonus » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:35 pm

A disk image with Minix 2.0.2 and 2.0.4 is on joska.atari.org:
http://joska.atari.org/minix

- tritonus

rabindranath72
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby rabindranath72 » Tue Jul 05, 2016 12:32 pm

Fantastic stuff! I don't have any Atari hardware to work with anymore, but I am interested in the converted sources if they are available in .tar format, as I still have an Amiga 1200+68030 adapter, and I am working on porting 1.6.25 to this platform. A further step might be to port 2.0.2/4.

Thanks!
A.

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby marcello » Mon Aug 15, 2016 12:40 pm

Hi Tritonus
Just boot the stuff on Hatari works great ( fortunately I speak german so I could read some of the debug messages :)
BTW how did you port thje whole sutff, did you cross compile or did everything locally ?

I also noticed that Minix is quite picky about FS errors, after a hard reset of hatari, the file system was damaged and fsck failed, leaving me with an error ( cann handle V2 file systems and an unbootable system) Have you seen such a problem ?
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

User avatar
jotego
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)

Re: Hatari 1.9 and Minix: it just works

Postby jotego » Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:24 pm

tritonus wrote:A disk image with Minix 2.0.2 and 2.0.4 is on joska.atari.org:
http://joska.atari.org/minix

- tritonus


Thank you!

Having these images ready to use are a great help to newcomers like me!


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests