Wish: Feature to play Hatari without Keyboard and Mouse?

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.1.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

User avatar
patrick295767
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 265
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 2:15 pm
Contact:

Wish: Feature to play Hatari without Keyboard and Mouse?

Postby patrick295767 » Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:05 am

Hi Marco and others,

Some users are using hatari with a regular www.mythtv.org/ application, for most cases, hatari requires the use of the mouse to select the folder of the game and then click F1, F2, ...

would it be possible that with only the joystick, one could press a given key of the pad, to popup a translucent/grey window that ask which key press could be simulated? This would greatly help.

This lack of feature is why you can seldom find the hatari / atari in the game category. It simply requires a keyboard.

Could you add that? - If you are a fan of similar things (gaming on hatari,...), you might likely wanna implement it...

Sincerely yours,
Pat'

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1695
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Wish: Feature to play Hatari without Keyboard and Mouse?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:14 pm

patrick295767 wrote:Some users are using hatari with a regular http://www.mythtv.org/ application, for most cases, hatari requires the use of the mouse to select the folder of the game and then click F1, F2, ...


If you give program name to Hatari on command line, it will automatically start it and use the directory in which the game resides, as C:\.


patrick295767 wrote:would it be possible that with only the joystick, one could press a given key of the pad, to popup a translucent/grey window that ask which key press could be simulated? This would greatly help.

This lack of feature is why you can seldom find the hatari / atari in the game category. It simply requires a keyboard.

Could you add that? - If you are a fan of similar things (gaming on hatari,...), you might likely wanna implement it...


Hatari (Python/Gtk) UI allows specifying on command line what kind of popups you want. It was specifically added for being able to use Hatari on devices which don't have a (full) keyboard and included already with Hatari v1.3 in 2009.

Hatari UI is available only for Linux as I don't think anybody has packaged that for OSX, nor contributed the required socket support for Windows (needed for Hatari control socket feature). But as you're talking about MythTV, I assume you're using Linux.

Here's an example on how to add top, right and bottom toolbars and a separate "MyPanel" panel window for keyboard shortcuts to Hatari UI:

Code: Select all

            hatariui.py --embed \
            -t "about,run,pause,quit" \
            -p "MyPanel,Macro=Test,Undo=97,Help=98,>,F1=59,F2=60,>,close" \
            -r "paste,debug,trace,machine,MyPanel" \
            -b "sound,|,forward,|,fullscreen"


For more info, see "man hatariui" and for examples on Hatari UI options usage, see the hatariui shell script.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests