How do I install Hatari on a Mac?

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE emulator - the current version is v1.7

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

How do I install Hatari on a Mac?

Postby DarkAvenger » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:26 pm

Searched this forum, but no luck

I had Hatari running on my old Quicksilver Powermac, but it died and so I had to transfer all my user files (including all my emulators) over to my parent's Powerbook (I'm set up as a seperate user), but now Hatari won't run. I click on the icon and it appears in the Dock, but after a moment quits with the following error:

Symbol not found: _rl_filename_completion_function
Referenced from: /Applications/Emulators/Hatari/Hatari.app/Contents/MacOS/Hatari
Expected in: /usr/lib/libedit.2.dylib

So what does this mean and what do I have to do to make Hatari work? all I know is that on my Powermac it just worked. I'm assuming some file needed is missing. I though it might be X11, but apparently its already installed as I tried to install X11 and the computer told me I couldn't install it because "newer software already exists on this computer" so I assume this means the current version of X11 is already installed on the Powerbook.

In my Hatari folder (in Applications) I have the Hatari application and the TOS file (a genuine ST ROM image file) along with my ST games/utilites folder. If I click on the Hatari application to 'Show Package Contents' I see a folder containing:

Frameworks (which contains the SDL.framework), MacOS (which contains the Hatari Unix Executable File), Info.plist (which is the preferences file), Pkginfo, and Resources.

Perhaps someone here can post an easy to follow step by step guide on how to install Hatari for various platforms (please start with Mac OS X) as the Hatari homepage is very scarse on such help other than saying you need a TOS ROM.
DarkAvenger
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:38 am

Re: How do I install Hatari on a Mac?

Postby nativ » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:44 pm

Hi,

If you could post your archive of your previously working hatari, I could try it on my MDD G4. ( running 10.4.11, X11, Java, and some other useful stuff hopefully! )

The only Atari emulator I have had running so far is Aranym beta 0.95. All my other ZX and XE em's work!

Cheers

/ nativ
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: How do I install Hatari on a Mac?

Postby DarkAvenger » Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:39 pm

Just to be clear this is the very first time I've tried to launch Hatari on the Powerbook since transfering all my user files from my dead Powermac. All my other emulators (Arnold, Atari800MacX, Catakig, eUAE, fMSX, Frodo, MagnetiX, Nestopia, Power64, Sweet16, VICE) work fine. Its only Hatari that will not launch.
DarkAvenger
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:38 am

Re: How do I install Hatari on a Mac?

Postby Hippy Dave » Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:10 pm

_rl_filename_completion_function is provided by the readline library.
hope that helps.
User avatar
Hippy Dave
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:40 am

Re: How do I install Hatari on a Mac?

Postby DarkAvenger » Tue Jan 10, 2012 1:59 pm

I found the problem. I deleted the Hatari application then downloaded and re-installed a fresh copy and now it works! I'm guessing one of the support files within the application must have become corrupted. OK issue solved so admins please delete this topic.
DarkAvenger
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:38 am


Return to Hatari

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest