Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE emulator - the current version is v1.7

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby nash67 » Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:10 am

Fuzion cd 25
James Pond
freezes up on the title screen
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby npomarede » Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:13 pm

nash67 wrote:Fuzion cd 25
James Pond
freezes up on the title screen


Hello
this is fixed for the next version.
But basically, this crack is bugged and could potentially freeze even on a real ST. The disk access routines by NTM/The Replicants used here are waiting for bit 5 of $fffa01 to be cleared after each FDC command, but they also read the FDC's Status Register on each VBL (which set bit 5 of $fffa01).
This means that sometimes the FDC command will end during the VBL, but as the status register is read, the change in $fffa01 will be lost, and the main program waiting for the command to complete will wait forever. So, quite a bugged piece of code in this crack.

I had to improve the Read Sector command for some other programs, so hopefully it will add enough change in the FDC's cycles to prevent this to happen too often under Hatari too.

Nicolas
User avatar
npomarede
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby npomarede » Sun Dec 11, 2011 9:58 pm

nash67 wrote:Fuzion cd 84
ThunderHawk
stuck on title screen (doesn't detect fire button i think)


Hello
this game works with the latest dev version, but joystick is not supported on the tittle screen, you need to press left mouse button.
Could you check it works with 1.6 pre-version I sent you some times ago ?

Nicolas
User avatar
npomarede
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby nash67 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:35 am

npomarede wrote:
nash67 wrote:Fuzion cd 84
ThunderHawk
stuck on title screen (doesn't detect fire button i think)


Hello
this game works with the latest dev version, but joystick is not supported on the tittle screen, you need to press left mouse button.
Could you check it works with 1.6 pre-version I sent you some times ago ?

Nicolas


yep still works
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.6.0)

Postby nash67 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 1:25 pm

updated the first post
Last edited by nash67 on Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:45 am, edited 6 times in total.
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.6.0)

Postby npomarede » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:08 pm

nash67 wrote:I will continue the list from here as the first post is pretty big

Fuzion menu 111
Micropose Golf
stuck on the first screen (the greets screen)

Hello
it works, but you need to press 1 or 2 on the numeric keypad, the greets screen only tests for these 2 keys there.

Nicolas
User avatar
npomarede
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.6.1)

Postby nash67 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:47 am

updated the first post
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby nash67 » Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:00 pm

can you check these 3 please


Fuzion Menu 161
bottom of the menu screen is cut off

Fuzion Menu 177
on the menu screen is all of the borders correct ???

Fuzion Menu 196
just let the menu run by itself and after the greetings screen the screen becomes messed up with flickering

Sensible Soccer v1.1
comes up with a black screen then crashes out
works in saint 2.14
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby npomarede » Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:22 pm

nash67 wrote:can you check these 3 please
Fuzion Menu 161
bottom of the menu screen is cut off

Yes, top border removal fails after a while and this breaks bottom border removal too. Needs to be fixed.
Fuzion Menu 177
on the menu screen is all of the borders correct ???

Borders are correct, it's just that Hatari displays more pixels than Steem/Saint, and this space was not used by the menu's coder.
Fuzion Menu 196
just let the menu run by itself and after the greetings screen the screen becomes messed up with flickering

I can get this under Steem too, does it work in Saint ? This could be a bug in the menu or a timing issues in the emulator that breaks top border removal and mess everything.
Sensible Soccer v1.1
comes up with a black screen then crashes out
works in saint 2.14

Seems to work in Steem too ; I need to check it later for Hatari.

Thanks for the reports

Nicolas
User avatar
npomarede
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby nash67 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:05 am

Fuzion Menu 196
just let the menu run by itself and after the greetings screen the screen becomes messed up with flickering

yep this works properly in Saint 2.20
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby nash67 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:42 pm

Fuzion Menu 24
Coltris
every time you try to load the game it says low resolution only even though it is in low res
runs in Saint 2.20

Fuzion Menu 32
Take Two
every time you try to load the game it says low resolution only even though it is in low res

sorry just saw further up in the thread the answer with Take Two
Last edited by nash67 on Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby nash67 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:44 am

Fuzion Menu 67
F1 - fix for cd58
if you want to repair Fuzion Menu 58 insert the disk then press space and it just keeps on coming up with disk error
works in Steem 3.2
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby npomarede » Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:55 pm

nash67 wrote:Fuzion Menu 24
Coltris
every time you try to load the game it says low resolution only even though it is in low res
runs in Saint 2.20

Fuzion Menu 32
Take Two
every time you try to load the game it says low resolution only even though it is in low res

sorry just saw further up in the thread the answer with Take Two

The problem in Fuzion 24 / Coltris is the same as with menu 32 : the menu restores $fc for the resolution instead of $00, which confuses the TOS (and as Coltris is a TOS game, not a direct video/hardware game, it doesn't work). To get it to work, change desktop to med res, then go back to low res. I think the problem will be the same on a real STF (but it should work on STE, where res register is different). It's possible it works under Saint because Saint doesn't set unused bit to 1 when reading $ff8260 as a real STF does.

Nicolas
User avatar
npomarede
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby nash67 » Sun Mar 18, 2012 12:36 pm

could you please check out Fuzion Menu 104
bombs out on the menu
works in Steem 3.2
nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby ijor » Mon Mar 19, 2012 3:51 pm

npomarede wrote:It's possible it works under Saint because Saint doesn't set unused bit to 1 when reading $ff8260 as a real STF does.


That's not accurate. It won't always set all unused bits to one.
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
 
Posts: 2394
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby npomarede » Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:28 am

ijor wrote:
npomarede wrote:It's possible it works under Saint because Saint doesn't set unused bit to 1 when reading $ff8260 as a real STF does.


That's not accurate. It won't always set all unused bits to one.


Do you mean it works like the STF color registers where unused bits depend on the bus activity ? I didn't do deep tests on the STF, but I never saw a value of $ff8260 with bits 2-7 set to 0 ; maybe it happens less frequently than the color regs ?
User avatar
npomarede
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Previous

Return to Hatari

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests