Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.1.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Fuzion CD bugs (still present in 1.6.1)

Postby nash67 » Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:55 pm

Fuzion cd 55
The Killing Game Show
freezes up om the title screen

Fuzion cd 77
bombs out on the menu after a couple of seconds

Fuzion Menu 121
Adrenalyn
after the Press a key screen just a black screen
works in Saint 2.14

Fuzion Menu 161
bottom of the menu screen is cut off

Fuzion Menu 196
just let the menu run by itself and after the greetings screen the screen becomes messed up with flickering

Sensible Soccer v1.1
comes up with a black screen then crashes out
works in saint 2.14

all tested and finished
Last edited by nash67 on Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:57 pm, edited 29 times in total.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 07/02/09)

Postby npomarede » Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:26 am

nash67 wrote:these all work on STEEM

Fuzion CD 2
menu is not correct

confirmed here too.

Fuzion cd 12
Super Sprint
music and sfx play to fast

works fine for me ; are you sure you didn't put Hatari in fast mode by mistake (alt+x)

Fuzion cd 28
Exterminator
during the game the colours are wrong

Are you refering to the first line below the score part on the top, that flickers more or less ?
I see the same on steem, and looking at the code it's quite possible the problem is on real ST too.
Do you have screenshots of the difference between Hatari and Steem ?

No time to look at the others for now, but it may be some FDC problems related to the original removed protection.

Nicolas

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 07/02/09)

Postby nash67 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 12:34 pm

npomarede wrote:
nash67 wrote:these all work on STEEM

Fuzion CD 2
menu is not correct

confirmed here too.

Fuzion cd 12
Super Sprint
music and sfx play to fast

works fine for me ; are you sure you didn't put Hatari in fast mode by mistake (alt+x)

nope its not in fast mode (i didn't even know about fast mode till you said something)
on the track selection and the next screen waiting for others to join the music goes so fast (it stops playing on both screen when the counter gets to 3-4)
In STEEM the music plays till the counter gets to 0
and not just the Fuzion cd version it is all versions of Super Sprint

Fuzion cd 28
Exterminator
during the game the colours are wrong

Are you refering to the first line below the score part on the top, that flickers more or less ?
I see the same on steem, and looking at the code it's quite possible the problem is on real ST too.
Do you have screenshots of the difference between Hatari and Steem ?


here are some from Hatari
even just let it run through the demo and it starts to mess up
and not just the Fuzion cd version it is all versions


No time to look at the others for now, but it may be some FDC problems related to the original removed protection.

Nicolas
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 07/02/09)

Postby npomarede » Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:14 pm

nash67 wrote:
npomarede wrote:
nash67 wrote:these all work on STEEM

Fuzion CD 2
menu is not correct

confirmed here too.



Fusion CD 2 was just fixed by Thomas in the devel version.

Regarding exterminator, it looks like the palette is not correctly changed 3 times per VBL as it should.
What is the value of nSpec512Threshold in hatari.cfg ?
Are you sure you're not running with only 256 colors ? Do you see similar problems in demos using "plasma" effects for example ?

Nicolas

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 07/02/09)

Postby thothy » Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:22 pm

npomarede wrote:Regarding exterminator, it looks like the palette is not correctly changed 3 times per VBL as it should.
What is the value of nSpec512Threshold in hatari.cfg ?
Are you sure you're not running with only 256 colors ? Do you see similar problems in demos using "plasma" effects for example ?


I think this problem could be related to the Timer D...
nash, could you please try to disable the "Patch Timer-D" option in the "System" dialog before you insert that disk into the emulator and reset?

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 07/02/09)

Postby nash67 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 3:20 pm

after i disable the "Patch Timer-D" option the colours are correct now
it still has the first line below the score part on the top, that flickers more or less on every screen

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 01/03/09)

Postby thothy » Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:37 am

nash67 wrote:Fuzion cd 12
Super Sprint
music and sfx play to fast


Seems like the game reads the Timer-D counter without initializing the timer first.
Disable the "Patch Timer-D" option in the "System" dialog before you boot the disk, and it should work right again.

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 01/03/09)

Postby thothy » Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:00 am

nash67 wrote:Fuzion cd 34
Edd The Duck
bombs out straight away


Works for me (with current development version). Which TOS version did you use?

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 01/03/09)

Postby nash67 » Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:34 am

TOS 1.02

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 01/03/09)

Postby nash67 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:07 am

okk Edd the Duck works now
?????? one of those mysteries

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update 01/03/09)

Postby thothy » Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:35 pm

nash67 wrote:Fuzion cd 55
The Killing Game Show
freezes up om the title screen


Ok, that game did not work with Hatari 1.1.0, but does work with current development version!

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.3.0)

Postby thothy » Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:37 am

Is "The Killing Game Show" still not working for you? It works fine for me with 1.3.0 !

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.3.0)

Postby nash67 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:11 am

nope still not working
It doesn't detect the fire button so it just goes through the intro bits (like the picture of the island and the skull as the moon) and after that the title screen the says "The Killing Game Show " cames up and it is stuck on it

and i haven't retested the other fuzion cd's yet with problems on 1.3.0

ok just found something out
If i press my right mouse button the game will start and then the game will detect my fire button (mapped to key z)
In Pompey Pirates 78 you can just press the fire button and the game will start

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.3.0)

Postby npomarede » Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:29 pm

nash67 wrote:these all work on STEEM

Fuzion cd 32
Take Two
comes up with the error message " only low resolution" even though it is in low resolution
(it will work if you change to med resolution then back to low resolution)


Well, I spent some time on this one, and it turns out that even on a real ST, it doesn't work.
The menu doesn't correctly restore the TOS resolution as it copies directly the content of $ff8260 without masking it with "and #3", which will confuse the TOS (this a bug in Fuzion menu, not in the game itself)

On a real ST, it will work from time to time and the only solution is to switch med/low res in TOS.

The fact that it works under Steem is because Steem doesn't correctly emulate the fact that unused bits in $ff8260 are not necessarily set to 0.

So, nothing that could be improved here, buggy code on a ST remains buggy code under Hatari :)

Nicolas

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2699
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.3.0)

Postby alexh » Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:13 pm

npomarede wrote:nothing that could be improved here, buggy code on a ST remains buggy code under Hatari :)

You could add a CRC/hash check to disk image loading and a patch mechanism?

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.3.0)

Postby npomarede » Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:28 pm

alexh wrote:
npomarede wrote:nothing that could be improved here, buggy code on a ST remains buggy code under Hatari :)

You could add a CRC/hash check to disk image loading and a patch mechanism?


Yes, but what's the point ? I mean, I don't want to patch games that were not properly packed/cracked on the original ST. In that case, people who want a working version of Take Two should certainly use another compilation than Fusion CD 32, but it's not really related to Hatari itself.

Steem has a patch system, but it's mainly to correct situations that steem doesn't emulate correctly (even if it could be used to correct the game/demo in case it's buggy).
Hatari's goal is really to emulate as close as possible the original hardware, it would be a different project to publish some patches for some old broken compilation/games (this is more a job for group like d-bug, who try to repack old games to make them work on more recent Atari configurations).

Nicolas

TheUMan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:06 pm

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.3.0)

Postby TheUMan » Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:17 pm

Hatari the only emulator that also emulate bugs ... :mrgreen: :lol:

Just a joke, but I agree with you; if it doesn't work on real ST, you can't make it work in Hatari.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5015
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.3.0)

Postby simonsunnyboy » Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:48 pm

alexh wrote:
npomarede wrote:nothing that could be improved here, buggy code on a ST remains buggy code under Hatari :)

You could add a CRC/hash check to disk image loading and a patch mechanism?


Smeels like TOSEC to me - disk images are NOT ROMs and therefor CRCs are absolutely pointless.
Just exchange the bootsector for a nicer one - or save your highscores - and the CRC will be changed.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby nash67 » Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:48 am

ok guys just tested nearly all of them and sorry to say not one of them has been fixed :(

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby npomarede » Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:54 pm

nash67 wrote:ok guys just tested nearly all of them and sorry to say not one of them has been fixed :(


Hello

could you be more specific on what remains ? I know some problems were not resolved, but there should be improvements.
Also note that you could different results depending on whether you run in STF or STE mode (Steem always run in STE mode, so if you want to compare, set Hatari to STE mode).

Nicolas

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby nash67 » Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:29 pm

npomarede wrote:
nash67 wrote:ok guys just tested nearly all of them and sorry to say not one of them has been fixed :(


Hello

could you be more specific on what remains ? I know some problems were not resolved, but there should be improvements.
Also note that you could different results depending on whether you run in STF or STE mode (Steem always run in STE mode, so if you want to compare, set Hatari to STE mode).

Nicolas


tested all the menus in my first post
i tried that already (set Hatari to STE mode) and still no luck to run them
i tried TOS 1.02 and 1.62
all the games on the menus should run in STF mode
maybe it has something to do with the packer Fuzion used ?????

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby npomarede » Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:39 am

nash67 wrote:tested all the menus in my first post
i tried that already (set Hatari to STE mode) and still no luck to run them
i tried TOS 1.02 and 1.62
all the games on the menus should run in STF mode
maybe it has something to do with the packer Fuzion used ?????


Thanks for your tests, they're very helpful as I don't have time to test all possible games.
The problem is often that most cracked game try to test the protection (doing some sectors read and testing the WD status bits) and then the crack ignore the bad result.
But in many case, Hatari doesn't support those floppy tests, so he doesn't go far enough to reach the point where the crack is applied.
I intend to improve FDC support for next release, so hopefully many games will be fixed in one go.

Nicolas

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby npomarede » Thu Oct 13, 2011 10:22 pm

Hello

a lot of the problems you reported were due to some errors in the floppy drive emulation.
I rewrote most of it since Hatari 1.5 was released, so the following titles should be fixed in Hatari 1.6 (not released yet).

Those were mostly due to a proper support for the FDC Read Address or Read Track commands which are the base of almost all the copy protections.
The games you had problems with were cracked, but the protection code was still executed, only the result was ignored by the crack.
So, a correct FDC emulation is needed to pass the protection and reach the point where the crack is applied.

These games are now working :

Fuzion cd 32 : Pang
Fuzion cd 40 : Super Grand Prix
Fuzion cd 46 : Warlock
Fuzion cd 51 : Navy Seals
Fuzion cd 78 : Carmen Sandiego
Fuzion cd 82 : Flight Of The Intruder
Fuzion cd 83 : Rbi Baseball 2
Fuzion cd 102 : Exile
Fuzion cd 108 : The Simpsons

Fuzion cd 9 : Flood : freezes up on the flag selection screen
Works for me, could you try it again ?

Fuzion cd 61 : Gods : freezes up after you insert the 2nd disk
I don't have the 2nd disk to test this, but should work with the new FDC code I guess


These games still have problems :

Fuzion cd 55 : The Killing Game Show : freezes up om the title screen
Happens to me sometimes too, need to look in more detail to this.

Fuzion cd 77 : bombs out on the menu after a couple of seconds
Very strange behaviour in the demo code, the VBL is interrupting itself, which leads to a crash. It works under Steem and certainly on a real ST too, but I don't know where this comes from. Certainly a very subtle timing emulation problem somewhere (it crashes more or less randomly depending on the amount of RAM, the machine STF/STE, ..)

Fuzion cd 84 : ThunderHawk : stuck on title screen (doesn't detect fire button i think)
CPU / interruption problem in a very rare case, I need to look at this further.


Thanks for your tests

Nicolas

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby nash67 » Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:33 am

great work ,keep it up :cheers:

nash67
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 3:29 am

Re: Fuzion CD bugs (update with 1.5.0)

Postby nash67 » Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:34 pm

Fuzion cd 9 : Flood : freezes up on the flag selection screen
Works for me, could you try it again ?

Fuzion cd 61 : Gods : freezes up after you insert the 2nd disk
I don't have the 2nd disk to test this, but should work with the new FDC code I guess

these both work now


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests