misdirected steem from memory snapshot

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code. The current version is v3.9.4.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2407
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

misdirected steem from memory snapshot

Postby charles » Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:28 am

hi all..
ive been using steem for quite some time ....

here is my problem :

I have multiple steem programs in multiple folders on my pc's desktop...
one for programming ,
one for midi ,
one for art ...you see ...

so all my song files aren't mixed in with programming files miced in with art etc etc etc


everything is fine , I love it !

however when launching a memory snapshot
(for quik loading)

steem can not decipher or tell which configuration of the multiple occurances of steem it has been saved with
and often just chooses the first one found.

doesn't appear that big of problem but its beginning too irritate me
especially since the art folder steem loads a music memory snapshot ...or the programming steem loads an art memory snapshot ....etc etc etc etc

so is there a way a person can have the desired snapshot loaded with the instance of steem which saved it .???


Charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!

stephen22
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:25 pm

Re: misdirected steem from memory snapshot

Postby stephen22 » Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:34 pm

It's up to Windows, so it may depend on which version you have.

In Windows 7 you can alter the file extension from sts to, say, stx. Try to open it, then "select a program from list..." and browse to the instance you want. Tick "always use..." then that extension will always open in that instance.

You'll have to change the extension each time you save a snapshot. It would probably be simpler to just open your chosen instance of Steem and load in your snapshot from the list provided.

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2407
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: misdirected steem from memory snapshot

Postby charles » Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:58 pm

thanks that's was helpful .....
yes I used to use win xp but on;y one instance of steem , now win 7 and three instance of steem ....
steem comes out my ears sometimes too !

thanks !
Charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests