STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

A forum for anything about the Steem Engine STE emulator, comments, problems, bug reports etc. Steven Seagal regularly provides updated versions of the original STEem code.

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby SkylineDave » Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:47 pm

Hi Mr. Seagal.

STeem 3.9.1 - is there a way to pass both a disk image and a memory snapshot via CLI at the same time? e.g.:

STeem.exe c:\disk.msa c:\memsnapshot.sts

so that STeem starts with disk in drive and runs mem snapshot? I'm sure older versions used to work like this but when I try it now I just get the dialog box saying "when this snapshot was taken disk x was in the drive"...
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby Steven Seagal » Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:38 am

Hello,
Don't think it worked that way in Steem original code. In what version did it work?

I patched up something for you, please try the new beta (Win32.D3D is main build):

http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse/files/DevBuilds/
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby SkylineDave » Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:36 pm

Thanks for your work on this, sadly I'm unable to test it with DemobaseST because the memory screenshots were taken with STeem 3.2 - 3.4 (ish) and I saw the below in the new beta manual:

- CPU: 64bit cycle timers (Win64).
This makes older memory snapshots incompatible.

I think this means that 3.9.1 is the last STeem that can be used with DBST :(

I've been experimenting with how DBST got combined sts and msa to work and it looks like I used this in the .ini file:
AutoLoadSnapShot=1
AutoSnapShotName=mysnapshot

...and then using the CLI to pass in the disk image.

I can't prove this as I lost the source code for DBST ages ago :(
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jun 22, 2017 3:35 pm

SkylineDave wrote:Thanks for your work on this, sadly I'm unable to test it with DemobaseST because the memory screenshots were taken with STeem 3.2 - 3.4 (ish) and I saw the below in the new beta manual:

- CPU: 64bit cycle timers (Win64).
This makes older memory snapshots incompatible.

I think this means that 3.9.1 is the last STeem that can be used with DBST :(


This is true only for the 64bit builds.
But to be fair, maintaining 100% compatibility with older snapshots is too hard.
I thought about creating a converter, but this would take much time too.


I've been experimenting with how DBST got combined sts and msa to work and it looks like I used this in the .ini file:
AutoLoadSnapShot=1
AutoSnapShotName=mysnapshot

...and then using the CLI to pass in the disk image.

I can't prove this as I lost the source code for DBST ages ago :(


The mod I made, you don't mess with ini, you pass the snapshot then the disk in the command line. Both as complete paths of course.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm

User avatar
SkylineDave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby SkylineDave » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:56 pm

I can get the old sts files to work in 3.9.2b but STeem won't autoplay, even when I copy the ini file from 3.9.1 to 3.9.2. When I call STeem from CLI I still have to manually Load the snapshot from the menu, then click Play. A few of the demos that work in 3.9.1 crash out in 3.9.2 so perhaps the limit of compatibility has been reached.
AKA Megadaz / Black Eagle --- STOS, Dungeon Master and Captive fan!

Proud member of the GameBaseST team.
Founder of the one-man DemoBaseST team!

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: STeem 3.9.1 load disk image AND mem snapshot?

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:02 am

Well, DemoBaseST is now legacy if the source is lost. It wouldn't be shocking if it needed an older version of Steem.
I fixed the bug (*) now it runs with v3.9.2 like with v3.9.1 in DemoBaseST while still being able to specify snapshot and disk in the command line.
Steem will also switch to STF if TOS version is lower than 1.06.
Please try again with the new beta.
Could you indicate which demos don't work anymore?

(*) I used Exist(path), forgetting that "." is a valid path.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm


Social Media

     

Return to “Steem”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest