[Tool] Atari ST Harddisk menu

Paradize and friends

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Moderator Team, Paradize

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4765
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

[Tool] Atari ST Harddisk menu

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed May 18, 2016 6:30 pm

grab0001.png


As already mentioned in the other thread at viewtopic.php?f=3&t=28860, I officially release my Harddisk menu system today.

# Atari ST Harddisk Menu

(c) 2016 by Simon Sunnyboy / Paradize <marndt@asmsoftware.de>
http://paradize.atari.org/

## Abstract
This is an AUTO folder menu like a compact disk for harddisk use.
- programs on the harddisk are listed from a database and run upon selection
- bypass of menu with timeout is possible to keep it in AUTO folder without
clean boot
- easy-to-use keyboard navigation, no mouse required for tight living room
integration

The idea is to have q quick keyboard navigation to harddisk installed games
without having to click around on the desktop.

## System requirements

- Atari ST/STE/TT/Falcon 030 with colour display (ST-HIGH is not supported)
- harddisk or similar recommended
- SingleTOS (MinT or MagiC are not supported)


Downloads (and possibly future updates) from the Paradize website at http://paradize.atari.org/
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 869
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: [Tool] Atari ST Harddisk menu

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Wed May 18, 2016 6:42 pm

Sounds cool!

Is it possible to put a descriptive name in the database so, for example, instead of harrier2.tos, it can display Space Harrier 2?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4765
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Atari ST Harddisk menu

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed May 18, 2016 6:50 pm

Ofcourse, column 1 of the database is displayed as is.

I only wrote a small script for my testing that created a csv with find and used the executable name as the display entry. I then postprocessed the second column and presto :)

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
OUTPUT=/tmp/list.$$

find "$1" -name "*.tos" >$OUTPUT
find "$1" -name "*.TOS" >>$OUTPUT
find "$1" -name "*.prg" >>$OUTPUT
find "$1" -name "*.PRG" >>$OUTPUT

for i in `cat $OUTPUT`
do
PROGNAME=$(basename ${i})
printf "%s;%s\n" ${PROGNAME} ${i}
done

rm $OUTPUT
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4765
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Atari ST Harddisk menu

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Nov 09, 2016 7:25 pm

Small update, now entries can be jumped to by pressing the starting letter. E.q. press A to jump to next entry beginning with A. Grab it at the Paradize website, http://paradize.atari.org/
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org


Social Media

     

Return to “Paradize forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests