Nethack

Game requests go here.

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

Nethack

Postby megabyte » Thu May 05, 2011 6:41 pm

Are there any versions of Nethack which I could run at STfm without hard disk?
megabyte
Retro freak
Retro freak
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:02 pm
Location: Moscow, Russian Federatoin

Re: Nethack

Postby wongck » Fri May 06, 2011 12:04 am

Is this something like Moria?
I remember playing a ASCII graphics game going into dungeon on the ST.
IIRC, Moria was running from floppy.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10755
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Nethack

Postby jruark56 » Fri May 06, 2011 2:20 am

I believe there was a version of Rogue, though it wasn't called that. It lacked a save game feature because the author claimed there was not a reliable way to create hidden files on an Atari ST.

The name escapes me, just now. If I remember, I will post here.

Russ
Russ Ruark Jr.
jruark56
Atari User
Atari User
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:58 am

Re: Nethack

Postby wongck » Fri May 06, 2011 2:32 am

May be it is called LARN.
I also played that, i liked it.

There was one with a dog following the boy, I'm not sure what it is called.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10755
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Nethack

Postby jruark56 » Fri May 06, 2011 3:46 am

wongck,

Right you are! LARN it was. At least it meets the description of the OP, I think.

Me and a friend of mine used to leave one of our ST's up and running with this program in use until we could complete the game. It was very interesting for a simple ASCII graphics game.

Russ
Russ Ruark Jr.
jruark56
Atari User
Atari User
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:58 am

Re: Nethack

Postby DarkLord » Fri May 06, 2011 6:58 am

I actually like Rogue - and it does play from floppy.

Ah, the time it took me to hold the Amulet of Yendor in the light of day!

(and how many times I got the RIP screen first)... :)

Rogue - RIP screen.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3477
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Nethack

Postby Atharri » Fri May 06, 2011 9:30 am

megabyte wrote:Are there any versions of Nethack which I could run at STfm without hard disk?


I have the original Hack 103 somewhere, this works even on 1/2 meg. A had a lot of fun with it in the old days. It lacks the graphics of nethack however. If you're interested I could upload it. There's a screenshot of this version on LGD. So, if you don't know it already, have a look at it to see what it is all about.

have fun Atharri
Atari 1040 STe 4mb Tos 2.06 Atari Mega STE 4mb Tos 2.06 SM 124 SC 1224 Atari/Amiga Trackball Atari Mouse China Joystick Log3 Replay
User avatar
Atharri
Retro freak
Retro freak
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:28 am

Re: Nethack

Postby wongck » Fri May 06, 2011 11:50 am

Ok, so I found this at a ftp site.
You need more than 1 MB ram to play, but there is a version that does not need a HDD or a HD floppy drive.
Code: Select all
There are three different sets of programs which are packaged separately:

- st_bin.zoo contains the program that should run on any ST/STE/TT and Falcon.

- st_packd.tos is the packed ST binary for those of you who have more
  than 1M of memory but no harddisk and no HD disk drive.

- nh_1meg (directory) contains a version of Nethack which can be run on
  a 1MB machine.  The program (nethack.tos) was compiled with a subset
  of the available options to reduce the code size, and then packed with
  JAM pack version 4.0 to reduce the file size.  The directory also
  contains the files `config.h' and `tosconf.h' which were used to
  compile this program, so you can see which options were set.  Also,
  the file `options' replaces the `options' file in nh_data.zoo

- tt_bin.zoo contains a TT-only version which is smaller and slightly
  faster.  It should also run on a Falcon with 68881/68882 (and possibly
  without, I'm not sure whether Nethack uses floating point commands).

- tt_packd.tos does not exist, because we cannot imagine there is anyone
  out there who owns a TT but no harddisk and no HD disk drive :-)

May be you can mix & match to fit your needs.
The FTP site is ftp://ftp.cs.tu-berlin.de/pub/atari/Games/nethack.3.1/
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10755
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Nethack

Postby wongck » Fri May 06, 2011 12:09 pm

I found both LARN and HACK in my own Aladdin's cave (shoe box) :lol:
If you want them I can upload here.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10755
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Nethack

Postby DarkLord » Fri May 06, 2011 7:49 pm

wongck wrote:I found both LARN and HACK in my own Aladdin's cave (shoe box) :lol:
If you want them I can upload here.


Please? :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3477
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Nethack

Postby wongck » Sat May 07, 2011 4:16 am

Here you go.
Just remove the extra ZIP word in the file name of larn as forum don't allow arc extention.

Enjoy. :mrgreen:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10755
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Nethack

Postby Marcer » Sat May 07, 2011 7:03 am

I can just confirm that there is several vesions of nethack which runs on floppy -> hdd

I think Nethack 3.1 could be run from floppys as I have it splitted into 2 disks.

// Marcer
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
- Atari ST/F/FM/E - Mega ST/STe - Portfolio - Falcon 030/060 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- http://marcer.mine.nu - Trackers Heaven + Game DVD Updates + More
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_
User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
 
Posts: 3942
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden

Re: Nethack

Postby DarkLord » Sat May 07, 2011 1:13 pm

Thanks guys! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3477
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Nethack

Postby wongck » Sat May 07, 2011 2:27 pm

Man... that tombstone keeps coming up. I don't get to 2-3 levels... I'm losing it man...
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10755
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Nethack

Postby Official Ninja » Fri May 13, 2011 11:04 am

wongck wrote:Man... that tombstone keeps coming up. I don't get to 2-3 levels... I'm losing it man...


In Rogue I always save before using the stairs to the next level. Then copy your .sav file to .bak so if you die you can at least start again at the save. Been doing this since my teens playing on the Tandy COCO3. :)

I have to try these Hack and Larn games ...
User avatar
Official Ninja
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:37 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: Nethack

Postby wongck » Fri May 13, 2011 11:44 am

Official Ninja wrote:In Rogue I always save before using the stairs to the next level. Then copy your .sav file to .bak so if you die you can at least start again at the save.

yes, this trick is also nice to use.

Official Ninja wrote:Tandy COCO3

That's running a variant of Unix?
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10755
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Nethack

Postby Official Ninja » Fri May 13, 2011 3:05 pm

wongck wrote:
Official Ninja wrote:In Rogue I always save before using the stairs to the next level. Then copy your .sav file to .bak so if you die you can at least start again at the save.

yes, this trick is also nice to use.

Official Ninja wrote:Tandy COCO3

That's running a variant of Unix?


Microware OS-9. It is Unix like. Cool thing about Rogue is you can load graphics if you play in 80 Column mode, so potions look like bottles, scrolls like paper rolls, and your player is a little guy and so on...

The Modern (still supported) version of the OS being NitrOS-9
http://www.nitros9.org/screens.html
User avatar
Official Ninja
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:37 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: Nethack

Postby wongck » Fri May 13, 2011 3:38 pm

Official Ninja wrote:Cool thing about Rogue is you can load graphics if you play in 80 Column mode, so potions look like bottles, scrolls like paper rolls, and your player is a little guy and so on...


Wow...that must be nice. The guy is normally a '@' symbol :lol:
Having bottles and rolls of paper sure makes it simpler to know the objects.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10755
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East


Return to Games - Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest