Seen on ebay: 520ST (no internal floppy). How rare ?

Do you need some hardware and/or software? Do you want to clear out the attic? Post your classified ads here. Please use the sub forum if you are posting links to items you've found on ebay.

Moderators: Mug UK, Adrenalin, Moderator Team

User avatar
doggyfred
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:59 pm
Location: St John's, Canada

Seen on ebay: 520ST (no internal floppy). How rare ?

Postby doggyfred » Wed May 04, 2005 11:32 pm

I've never seen one of those before. How rare are they ?
http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie ... eName=WDVW

User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Womble » Thu May 05, 2005 12:41 am

Not sure how rare they are (although I am after one). This is an early ST with an external PSU and floppy, this one looks to be an STM version as it looks like there is an RF (tv) port (M is for Modulator).

The original ST didnt even have a modulator. The latter machines had both built in - FM stands for floppy and modulator. It makes sense for them both to be built in tho - its not like you can use the machine without a powersupply, and the floppy is hardly an optional extra.

As the PSU and floppy were external the case was significantly smaller.

Actually the more modern STs will behave like an ST or STM if you remove the builtin floppy drive. They will use any external drive as drive A. Its also why there is a dasiychain port on the Atari brand floppy drives. If the machine had no internal drive the 1st external is A and the second external (plugged into the 1st) is B. If you have an internal drive the daisychain port is useless as the ST is hardware limited to 2 floppies.

There was in theory a 260ST of this design which had 256K on board, during the development of the machine RAM prices continued their march downwards and the machine was upgraded prior to release to 512Kb.

Does anyone know if the plain ST or STMs were ever released outside the US?

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Thu May 05, 2005 5:27 am

Not sure but I saw an old floppyless ST on UK Ebay recently
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Postby Gryzor » Thu May 05, 2005 7:22 am

There was in theory a 260ST of this design which had 256K on board, during the development of the machine RAM prices continued their march downwards and the machine was upgraded prior to release to 512Kb.


Actually I think I had won one such machine on eBay from Holland, but something went awry afterwards and didn't get it... but they do exist.

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5101
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu May 05, 2005 8:19 am

They definitly do. My first ST was a 520STM without PSU and floppy builtin. My brother bought it in 1987 and I think those were sold up onto 1988/89. Probably out of existing stocks but cheap ST beginner packages here in Germany were often labelled 520STM+SF354 at that time which meant "no internal floppy". 1988 price for such a package was 789DM (around 390EUR) without monitor or TV. I remember that from magazine ads ;)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Postby Cyprian » Thu May 05, 2005 8:57 am

Womble wrote:Does anyone know if the plain ST or STMs were ever released outside the US?


I have 520 STm with external PSU and floppy, which was made in 1988. My friend bought it in Poland.
And it look same as:
http://pages.infinit.net/mike1121/atari1s.jpg

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1489
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Thu May 05, 2005 9:40 am

One of the best things about these early ST's is of course the positioning of the Joystick and mouse connectors... :)
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<

User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby ST Graveyard » Thu May 05, 2005 11:08 am

I have one of those. My dad bought our first ST in 1986 ...

I think they aren't that comon!

Maarten
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5101
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu May 05, 2005 11:37 am

aktiv8 wrote:One of the best things about these early ST's is of course the positioning of the Joystick and mouse connectors... :)


Definitly - i even thought once to mod my 1040STFM so that the connectors are in a similar position. Afaik someone here once posted a pic about such a mod.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1489
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Thu May 05, 2005 11:52 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:Definitly - i even thought once to mod my 1040STFM so that the connectors are in a similar position. Afaik someone here once posted a pic about such a mod.


I remember seeing a few modes like this in copies of 'ST Applications' or a similar publication many years back. Tink there were also a few docs floating around how to do it. Not that it's the most taxing of jobs as we know.

Ended up building one of those extenders in the end for my joystick and mouse
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Thu May 05, 2005 1:06 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:
aktiv8 wrote:One of the best things about these early ST's is of course the positioning of the Joystick and mouse connectors... :)


Definitly - i even thought once to mod my 1040STFM so that the connectors are in a similar position. Afaik someone here once posted a pic about such a mod.


You mean this?

Image

Its really easy to do, just make 2 short joystck extension leads, one about 4cm long and one about 6cm long (I used sections of IDE ribbon cable). Then cut holes and glue the socket ends of the extension leads in place and plug the other ends into the original sockets. You just need to cut away some of the plastic to the side of the original sockets but obviously you can't see that bit anyway as its underneath :)
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Womble » Thu May 05, 2005 11:13 pm

I agree - one of the stupidest "improvements" in the integration process was the positioning of the mouse ports - what were they thinking? - especially as they then provide a mouse with a meter long cable. Do people have 2 meter long arms? Desks 3 meters deep?

I am deffinatly gonna try and pick up an old STM or even better a plain ST

Regarding the prices of such things....

I recently picked up a folder of atari advertising material from the 1990, it even came with an Atari ST bag - looks like an expo bag of something. It lists the prices for all the atari hardware for 1989-1990, some scary prices too. Also got an A3 brochure for the platform, lots of folk with 80s hairstyles, loud shirts and braces explaining why they love their ST. If I had a scanner I would gladly scan it. Can transcribe the hardware price list if anyone is interested.

User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Postby karlm » Fri May 06, 2005 1:03 am

hey Womble.

Got some of those I'm doing atmo. Back in the days when a 42mb hdd was like $1500!

lol.

1mb ST only $999!

Will get them finished this weekend. Bleurgh.

karlm.

Lusse
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 8:14 pm

Postby Lusse » Fri May 06, 2005 7:33 am

I bought my first ST 1986 here in Sweden without floppydrive or midi ports.
later on, i think it was 1989 I bought my first "Atari 520 STe" :)

havoc
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:05 am

Postby havoc » Mon May 09, 2005 5:12 am

my first st, built in 1985 according to the label:
Image
i had another 260st which i swapped with paranoid/paradox for a 68882 iirc.. so yes, they most definitely do exist :-)

User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Contact:

Postby tjlazer » Mon May 09, 2005 7:01 am

Whoooo! Don't drop it!!! lol
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!

havoc
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:05 am

Postby havoc » Mon May 09, 2005 8:40 am

that's why you don't see the left side of the 260, i'm still holding it =)

User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Womble » Tue May 10, 2005 11:03 am

Wow - now that is rare - did you have problems with its lack of memory? - was it upgradable easily? - I assume not. I would love to see a shot of the mobo of possible.

User avatar
neo_rg
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 11:36 pm

Postby neo_rg » Tue May 10, 2005 1:18 pm

hey havoc.... i remember that view!

havoc
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:05 am

Postby havoc » Tue May 10, 2005 5:09 pm

snapshot of the 260ST mobo:

http://img44.echo.cx/img44/9400/260stmobo0fn.jpg

it came with 512k standard (ofcourse), upgrading is just as easy (or hard.. :P) as any non-F 520. as you can see, my machine is upgraded to 1mb with the "piggyback" method. the 260 that i traded with paranoid had a "plug-over-the-mmu" 1mb upgrade card which would also fit in 520's (afaik).

careful viewers will notice the "REV. C" on the mobo... this is another reason i'm thinking it's just a regular 520 mobo in a 260 shell.

matt, haunting images eh? ;)

User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Womble » Tue May 10, 2005 10:38 pm

Now I really want one. :(

User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Womble » Tue May 10, 2005 10:50 pm

Note to self - dont hit back after posting :(

havoc
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:05 am

Postby havoc » Tue May 10, 2005 11:21 pm

maddonna posted this link before:

http://www.marktplaats.nl/index.php3?ur ... i/9330.htm

it's free, but untested.. why not send them a mail? if necessary i could translate the most important parts to dutch. shipping costs to new zealand would be ~20-30 euro.

User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Womble » Wed May 11, 2005 4:18 am

Oh wow - I must have missed that link before - have emailed them today. Might need your dutch translation skills.

Thanks for the info!! :)

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Postby ijor » Wed May 11, 2005 5:07 am

Womble wrote:I agree - one of the stupidest "improvements" in the integration process was the positioning of the mouse ports - what were they thinking? - especially as they then provide a mouse with a meter long cable. Do people have 2 meter long arms? Desks 3 meters deep?

I am deffinatly gonna try and pick up an old STM or even better a plain ST


It was obviously a mistake in the design. But after having some experience with both models; it is still a small price for the convenience of an internal drive and PSU. Just use extension(s) for the mouse/joystick ports.


Social Media

     

Return to “For sale / Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests