Page 1 of 1

Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:37 am
by PaulB
As the topic title says I'm after a Falcon to VGA converter so I can use a monitor. Anyone in the UK got one spare they're willing to part with. If so, pm me with a price and we'll go from there.

Also after a Falcon to Atari sm124 monitor converter as I've read I may need a mono monitor connected to cure some nvram problems.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:38 am
by simonsunnyboy
For the SM124 any adaptor for 13pin Atari plug is sufficient. It will work with both SM124, SCART leads and SC1224 monitors.
They pop up from time to time at Ebay Germany for a few EURs.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:18 am
by PaulB
Thanks Simon. I did look on Ebay UK as there are usually some on there, but sadly, none today.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:21 am
by CopperCAT

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:29 pm
by nativ
Hi,
I assume the above link is for a VGA , RGB , Hi Res switchbox, if it's not there is a doc opn building one of these somewhere?
Thanks

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:17 pm
by PaulB
I'm a bit rusty on my soldering skills but I think I could build the cable. Only problem is where to obtain a female connector for the Falcon monitor port? Considering how cheap they are on Ebay I would prefer to just buy one but I will build one if I have to.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:37 pm
by nativ
Hi,
It's just a standard 19 pin connector the falcon end? maplin?

Good luck if you try! :o:

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:04 pm
by PaulB
Ok cheers. I was thinking Maplin for it but I didn't know they would still be available. I'll give it a week and if no-one pm's me wanting to sell one or one doesn't turn up on Ebay then I'll go buy the bits and start soldering.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:55 pm
by Chandler
Craplin (whoops i mean Maplin) gave up selling 19 pin D plugs years ago

you'll have to get them from Europe

there's beel loadsa topics about where to get these from......

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:07 pm
by simonsunnyboy
Well, get a DB25 one and use a small metal saw to cut off 6 superfluous pins. Does't look exactly professional but will work ok :D

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:09 pm
by PaulB
Chandler wrote:there's beel loadsa topics about where to get these from......


You are probably right Chandler but I've only owned a falcon for 2 days now so even if i've read the threads before, it's never really sunken in as it didn't apply to me at the time.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:15 pm
by PaulB
simonsunnyboy wrote:Well, get a DB25 one and use a small metal saw to cut off 6 superfluous pins. Does't look exactly professional but will work ok :D


Ah exactly the same as my uncopyrighted method to use a db25, cut the pins out to a db19 and use it for mounting Atari hard drives. Might be a possibility to do this.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:17 pm
by Chandler
yeah i've done that, used a D19 hard drive port from an old STFM

bit if work but it worked good, and you can cut/file down the housing from a D25 :D

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 3:31 am
by sonic7
If anyone is looking for a falcon to VGA adapter, check out www.myatari.com , they sell them new Part No. PRS076
Cost US$ 24.95. Also there stock and price list can be found at www.myatari.com/ataristh.txt

Hope this helps

Sonic7

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:41 am
by simonsunnyboy
Overpriced for Europeans if you add postage (and maybe toll) - you can get genuine Atari ones for 10€ at Ebay here.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:00 am
by PaulB
I just searched on ebay.de for 'falcon vga', 'falcon 030' and 'atari monitor'. Unless it's because of my bad search terms, there seems to be none on there either.

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:21 am
by nativ
Hi PaulB

You might try 16/32 systems? Maybe they have one in stock? I cannot access the site from where I am atm. Thanks

Ashley

Re: Falcon to VGA converter

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:35 am
by PaulB
Thanks. I'd forgotten about 16/32.

Email sent!