Users who don't display their location very much.

No topic. Everything you want to speak about. Please just stay courteous.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2921
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Users who don't display their location very much.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Sat Aug 27, 2005 5:39 pm

Hello again!
I would just like to submit my winge for the day!
It bugs me that some users either don't share their location at all, or do so in a very non-specific manner i.e. Location: Europe.

I just think it is silly that's all, I mean, by revealing that I live in Rochdale, I am not exactly leaving myself open to other users knocking on my door with pick-axe handles in response to my usual posts, Rochdale is a big town and although I stand out as a white person, there are 10,000s of others to hide amongst.

Perhaps those of us who live in small villages with populations of 10 or 20 are justified in not elaborating, but then perhaps they could state: "I live near such a town" or "NE of Nowhere" etc.

Anyway, that's my moan for the day over with - ahhhhhhhhh that's better :)
As always, feel free to reply to this but only if your displayed location complies with my recommendations :wink:

:)

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:20 pm

Here me reply without any change of my profile :wink: .
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

User avatar
Silver Surfer
Forum Administrator
Forum Administrator
Posts: 1793
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Postby Silver Surfer » Sat Aug 27, 2005 7:03 pm

I bow my head in shame..... I have now changed my profile in compliance with the illustrious RetrogamerUKs profile requirements.

User avatar
AnthraX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 8:09 pm
Location: Witney,England
Contact:

Postby AnthraX » Sat Aug 27, 2005 8:27 pm

Ok guilty as charged gov slap on the cuff's :cry: ..... my error has been fixed

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2921
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:00 am

Hey Silver, I thought you already stated living in Gothenburg?? (yes I get the Joke BTW :wink: )
Wow, so you live in the same City as Perihelion then?? I bet you are best drinking buddies eh? :lol:

And thankyou BTW to Mr. Anthrax (great Metal Band BTW) and also in advance to any who repent their sinful omissions here :wink:

You are all forgiven! :)

User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Dark Willow » Mon Aug 29, 2005 2:10 pm

I dont' simply because I move around all the time.
TT030, 10mb/16mb, 3.5" SCSI multi-card reader (2gb CF/512mb SD), Matrix TC1006 gfx card, EtherNEC, Epson GT scanner, VanillaMint | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

PuppySoft:Projects & More

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2921
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Mon Aug 29, 2005 5:12 pm

Sorry Dark Willow but that is not a valid reason for breaching my "Where the Hell are you?" winge regulations, besides, you have just put it in there after all so what am I going on about? :?

Good girl. :wink:

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:06 pm

An example is Muggy's location. He changed it to reflect where he was, where he was moving to and when, when he was in the process of moving and when he moved. If fact we could have stalked him we had so much info (just had to look for the removal van).

I take your point tho Retro. The first rule of internet forums/chat is to not disclose your location/phone number etc but that's an actual address etc. Just a locality or region of a country is harmless to disclose.

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2921
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Mon Aug 29, 2005 9:21 pm

Exactly :)
The times that such omissions actually bothered me was when the user posted such topics as: "Anyone want to buy all this great ST stuff?", and even in the damned post they would not mention the general region of their whereabouts :roll:
And it helps to know how far away users live when trying in vain to recruit attendees for retro-style occasions such as B.I.T. in the desperate hope that there will actually be more people there than just Muguk, the bar and door staff and the musicians :lol:

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:51 pm

Is it ok just to say England?
Or do i need to put Somerset, England
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Wed Aug 31, 2005 9:47 pm

Englands a big (well biggish) place. Probably better to say Somerset, England since it gives a better idea of your location.

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11432
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:07 pm

PaulB wrote:An example is Muggy's location. He changed it to reflect where he was, where he was moving to and when, when he was in the process of moving and when he moved. If fact we could have stalked him we had so much info (just had to look for the removal van).


That was also a reminder to myself to shift my arse and get packing but instead I was spending too much time enjoying myself at home :)

E.g. Friday morning when parents were due over to help with the first batch, I was "busy" finishing off GTA San Andreas on Xbox :)
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby exxos » Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 pm

PaulB wrote:Englands a big (well biggish) place. Probably better to say Somerset, England since it gives a better idea of your location.


the world is a big place, putting england narrows it down somewhat me finks ;-)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:24 pm

Its now Northsomerset england.
That narrows it down even more than just somerset.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
stimpy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:47 pm
Location: Somerset, UK
Contact:

Postby stimpy » Thu Sep 01, 2005 2:49 pm

Done mine now

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2921
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Thu Sep 01, 2005 2:55 pm

exxos wrote:the world is a big place, putting england narrows it down somewhat me finks ;-)


Well that is somewhat besides my point but each to their own.

I suppose since the Universe is such a big place, putting planet earth would be ok ?? :roll:


Social Media

     

Return to “Chat forum [ENG]”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests