Which OS do you use?

No topic. Everything you want to speak about. Please just stay courteous.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Which OS do you use?

Postby Dark Willow » Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:24 pm

What operating systems do you guys use, both Atari and non?

Here I have MagiC 6.2 (installed on a TT030 and Falcon), TOS 1.62 (520STe) and Mandriva Linux and Win2k Pro (same PIII laptop with swappable hard drive using Linux for work, Windows for SimCity, GTA3 and Worms.
TT030, 10mb/16mb, 3.5" SCSI multi-card reader (2gb CF/512mb SD), Matrix TC1006 gfx card, EtherNEC, Epson GT scanner, VanillaMint | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

PuppySoft:Projects & More

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1489
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:30 pm

Well here's my two-pence worth...

TOS 1.02 in my upgraded STFM

Win XP SP2 on my main PC, Win 98 on a development box I have and SuSE and Mandrake (Mandriva - or whatever it's called now!) on two basic Liux boxes. Although one of those is going to have to go... :roll:
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<

User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
Posts: 2921
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby RetroGamerUK » Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:45 pm

I have,
WinXP SP2 on this PC (no other OSs on this, my main computer).
I have no idea what OS is on my 4 meg STE,
My old Dell P3 600 has Win98SE (handy for those MSDOS games :wink: )

With regards to Worms, I love that game, and play it often on another system I have, what a fine example of gaming genius that game is! :wink:
Last edited by RetroGamerUK on Sat Aug 20, 2005 10:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AnthraX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 8:09 pm
Location: Witney,England
Contact:

Postby AnthraX » Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:54 pm

Tos 1.62 in my STe
Windows 98SE in my pc (prolly have xp on there soon as nothin runs on 98 now ... bloody microsoft)

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4187
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Postby Marcer » Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:24 am

Falcon : Tos 4.04
STe : Tos 1.62/2.06
STF: Tos 1.00 or 1.02..
Mega ST: Tos 1.02 (i think)
STe 2 : Tos 1.62 or 1.60

PC 1: Win2k Pro
PC 2: Win2k Pro
PC 3: Win95
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

User avatar
oesii
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Postby oesii » Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:41 am

STf: Switchable TOS 1.0 and 2.06

Desktop: Win2k
Laptops: Mac OS X 10.4 and WinXP

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Sat Aug 20, 2005 2:13 pm

2 Mega STE's, TOS 2.05 & 2.06
Few STE's, TOS 1.62
1 Mega 2, TOS 1.4
STF & STFM's, Who knows! It's been ages since I've switched them on.

PC, Win XP Pro SP2. Just put a nice Abit m/board in it and Athlon 64 3000+ cpu.

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Postby Marakatti » Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:37 pm

520ST: Tos 0.98
1040STfm: Tos 1.4
1040STe: Tos 1.62
Mega STe: Tos 2.06
Falcon030: Tos 4.02
Falcon030 CT2B: Tos 4.04, MiNT 1.16
AMD K6 II: Win98se
Athlon XP2800+: Win XP SP2
Mac G4: Mac OS9.21, OS X 10.3.9
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:10 pm

My old p3 450mhz windows 98.
This pc athlonxp 3200 windows xp sp2 sometimes mandrake linux off a cd.
The mesh p4 1.5ghz xp sp2.
My falcon tos 4.04/4.92.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
NiceGuyUK
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 580
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 1:03 pm
Location: Kent, England
Contact:

Postby NiceGuyUK » Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:33 am

Desktop PC - Ubuntu Linux 5.04 (Hoary Hedgehog) / Windows XP SP2 (rarely)

Laptop - Ubuntu Linux 5.04 (Hoary Hedgehog)

ST 1 - TOS 1.02
ST 2 - TOS 1.04
STe - TOS 1.62
Falcon - Dunno, whatever the default F030 TOS was (still learning way around Falcy!)

Work - XP SP2 and OSX 10.4
Also known as Big Boss Man of Demografica

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11434
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:34 am

Home - both PCs running XP SP2

Work - Laptop running XP SP2

Atari - Mega STE2 .. still not unpacked and set up since the house move, so without booting it, I'm assuming it's the standard TOS version for Mega STE's :)

Xbox - Evolution-X - although probably not the latest version.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Sun Aug 21, 2005 8:30 pm

Atari Mega STe - 2.06
Atari Mega ST -2.06

Laptop (work) - Win 2003 Enterprise Edition
Laptop (home) - Fedora Core 2 / Aranym

Atari Falcon 4.04 TOS / MultiTos

Atari TT 030 3.06 with Magic 6

4 Apple's (3 x G3 and 1 G4) Mac OS X
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1138
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:15 pm

Ok, here goes..

Falcon no 1:- Tos 4.01 in original configuration, patched TOS 4.04 for CT60 mode, also Magic 6.01 patched for CT60, also Cripplemint for SDL stuffs.

Falcon no 2:- Tos 4.04 built in, Also Magic 6.01 best advised for use with it in CT2 mode. Did I mention Jinnee desktop to go with these?

In addition to those, I got Tos 4.92 beta floating around somewhere on a bootable disk.

STe, 'early' tos 1.6 complete with medium res booting bug ;-)

Mini Mac, OSX 10.4.2 (Tiger).

If including work, some shitty thing with Windows 2000, (ah well!)
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Dark Willow » Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:19 pm

Win2k at work? A bit too hi techn for my office, they use Windows NT running a DOS session, weirdly though they recently replaced all their hardware with top of the range P4's, which seems kinda overkill for what we do, but whoever found logic in the workplace?
TT030, 10mb/16mb, 3.5" SCSI multi-card reader (2gb CF/512mb SD), Matrix TC1006 gfx card, EtherNEC, Epson GT scanner, VanillaMint | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

PuppySoft:Projects & More

User avatar
manicx
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby manicx » Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:12 am

Atari 1040STE: TOS 1.62
Amiga 4000 (a): OS 3.5
Amiga 4000 (b): OS 3.9
Amiga 1200 (a): WB 3.0
Amiga 1200 (b): WB 3.1
Wintel PC: winXP SP2
Image

bj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:30 am
Location: London

Postby bj » Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:38 am

Falcon 030 tos 4.04
TT tos 3.06
Mega Ste tos 2.06
A few Ste s tos 1.62 & 1.06
Mega St
Stfm tos 1.04
Stf ?

Gemulator with tos 2.06 on Windows 98 SE
I run Magic on the TT but I never was able to get Magic 5 to run on the Falcon.

Its not strictly an OS more a few invaluable OS enhancements: I run
Hotwire on Gemulator and the TT along with Maxifile and UIS 3.3 this works really well on Gemulator, means I often don't see the Atari desktop during computer sessions.
regards
BJ

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Sun Oct 23, 2005 1:49 pm

MagiC 6.2/ Jinnee on the Falcons and TTs and MagiC on the Mega/STe.
TOS 2.06 or Geneva on the ST-Book.
Some 1.xx and 2.06 on the other STs.
Mac OS 9.1 on the PowerMacs.
Mac OS 8.1 on the PowerBook.
System 7.5.3 on the Macintosh II ci
Win 98se and Win 2k on the PC.
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
prog99
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby prog99 » Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:17 pm

I'm sure youre all excited to know...

ST - cant remember, probaby 1.4, theyve not been unpacked since I moved house 3 years ago.

PC1 - Fedora Core 4 / Xp sp2 (to run my gps mapping software)
PC2 - Fedora Core 4

Laptop(work) - Win2k SP4

XBOX - recent build of XBMC (ok not really an OS)
All my real skills are undervalued

User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Postby atari_mark » Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:15 pm

Falcon : Tos 4.04
STe : Tos 1.62/2.06
STFM: Tos 1.02

PC 1: Win2k Pro
PC 2: XP Pro
PC 3: Win2k Server
PC 4: Win2k Pro
Dec Alpha: OSF 3.2
Laptop: Win2k Pro
Ipaq: PocketPC 2003
Atari Jag: Unknown
Atari Lynx: Unknown
_________
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision

Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.

felicemaggie
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 11:49 am
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Postby felicemaggie » Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:20 am

Falcon: TOS 4.04
Mega STe: TOS 2.05

PC: XP Home

Laptop: Ubuntu Linux (hoary) - about to upgrade to breezy when can get round to it :)

cheers,

Rich.
Atari Falcon x 4 (including a broken one that I need to get fixed), Atari Mega STe (4mb, TOS 2.05), Atari STe (1mb), Atari Mega ST (2mb) with SC1435 color monitor, Atari 4160 STe (4mb, TOS 1.62), Atari STFM (2.5mb), Atari 800xl with Ultimate 1mb upgrade and SIO2SD (a fantastic upgrade, definitely worth it).
Other formats used sometimes as well for necessity's sake :) On PS4 and PS3, username: felicemaggie

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:04 pm

The new Mac OSX on an Intel machine, to be precise in an VMWare session :D
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon

Image


Social Media

     

Return to “Chat forum [ENG]”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests